We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True Jamaican Experience”
Review of Sky Castles

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sky Castles
A TripAdvisor Member
“True Jamaican Experience”
Reviewed September 7, 2004

We have just returned from two excellent weeks in August at Sky Castles. The accommodation is spacious,clean and in a superb location with panoramic views of Ochos Rios. Everthing was first rate. the cleanliness of the rooms (We have never had our sheets changed so many times). The grounds which are tended daily. Breakfast and the nightly poolside barbeque which gives you a true flavour of Jamaican food at very reasonable prices. All the staff were helpful and friendly and we would have no hesitation in recommending this property especially if you want to experience a true flavour of Jamaica.

  • Stayed August 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    7
    3
    5
    12
See reviews for
9
7
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 22, 2004

We booked a studio (D6) which was quite spacious and clean. The only problem was the television set which needs to be discarded. It had a green tint no matter how much we tried to adjust it. There was no remote and some of the nobs were broken. Sky Castles was a good choice however in that the price was inexpensive, the grounds and swimming pool clean and the staff pleasant.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london, england
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2004

we stayed at the sky castles resort and had a really wicked time, I was pretty nervous as this was my first time to jamaica and had heard alot of scary stories about it, but i must say theat i was pleasantly surprised the people are so warm kind and friendly and take great pride in being jamaica. the staff at the resort where really nice and down to earth and nothing was too much bother for them, we had an apartment right next to the pool which is ideal for those with children as you can keep a very close eye on them without having to leave the apartment, the food at sky castles was nice too and very cheap everything is fresh and is cooked in front of you. I would recommend that if you go to jamaica dunns river is a must along with swimming with the dolphins and you just have to go to margeritaville. To round it off we had a great time and are trying to go back again this year.

Helpful?
3 Thank edine295
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 14, 2004

Visited Sky Castles in December 2002. We found it to be nothing like it was described in the brochure. Rooms were very poorly kept and the general upkeep of the whole place was substandard even for a one star, others who were staying there for a few days before their cruise ship arrived were eagerly awaiting their departure to say the least! The staff their were ok and friendly enough but be careful where you book a taxi from as when we asked reception to make the arrangements they sent one of their mates who wasn’t an official taxi, an experience not to be forgotten as his car looked as though is had just competed in a local stock car race! Wouldn’t stay there again, if you do I hope your experience is significantly better than ours.....

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ocho Rios hotels

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2004

Terrible Hotel. It was a last minute budget choice so I suppose you should not expect too much but the first room we stayed in would not even come up to a 1 star standard. We arrived late one evening and desperate to get a bath/shower we went straight to the room hoping to then get some food at the hotel. We were placed right at the top of the apartment block which must be a few hundred (very steep) steps to the pool/bar area, then another very steep walk to the road below. The bathroom was so dirty I would not shower there, and waited until the next day until we moved rooms. Bed sheets had dubious stains, fuse box cover hanging off the wall......... hmm.No chance of food in the hotel at night, in fact I don't even recall there being a pool bar open, and even in the day it's no more than a shed with a shelf and a few drinks.Moved to a hotel nearer the pool which was probably of a two star standard and was at least clean, but so many niggly problems it made simple things you take for granted a nightmare.1. Plug for bath too small so all water drains out.....not replaced in the 7 days we stayed, ok if there is plenty of hot water but we found there was only enough for one of us each nite, the other had to bath cold.........2.
When we washed up in the kitchen sink no waste connected so like a falwty towers scene, water all over kitchen floor...Complaints just got you funny stares so in the ens we gave up - airtours rep rubbish!Lots of others i won't bore you with but some points to remember....this is set right back in a wooded hillside so lots of bugs, no sun for half of the day........it's shaded alot of the time, so you have to walk to Ocho Rios, or just look down to the beach and watch others enjoy it,also its a VERY steep walk, so I would recomm. for older guests or those with kids.In fact I would not recommend at all, but if you must go, don't pay more than 2 star prices as thats all it is!

Helpful?
7 Thank maiasmummy06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed January 22, 2004

Stayed for 1 week up to Christmas eve 2003. Had a great time. Booked online on 5th dec as many places booked up but this was a great place.
Apartments were very good. As self catering we (my wife & I) were able to eat out and buy what the locals would. Had a great goat curry and jerk chicken box dinners from a cafe virtually opposite baskin bobbins.
For ice cream I would recommend Devon House. This is not a place I could recommend for anyone who has difficulty walking as it is on a steep hillside.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed September 18, 2003

Stayed at Sky Castle August 2003, had a great time. The staff were friendly and very helpful, this was my first stay there. I will return in 2004. The place was so nice. I had a view overlooking the pool also the sea.

It was worth the money spent. The only drawback is the hill but if you can overlook that, then it's a perfect place to be.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocho Rios hotels
0.8 mi away
Marine View Hotel
Marine View Hotel
#32 of 35 in Ocho Rios
15 reviews
3.8 mi away
Executive Mammee Bay Hotel
Executive Mammee Bay Hotel
#27 of 35 in Ocho Rios
11 reviews
0.9 mi away
Silver Seas Resort Hotel
Silver Seas Resort Hotel
#16 of 35 in Ocho Rios
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Fisherman's Point Resort
Fisherman's Point Resort
#31 of 35 in Ocho Rios
208 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Suites Ocho Rios
The Suites Ocho Rios
#5 of 19 in Ocho Rios
23 reviews
1.1 mi away
Columbus Heights
Columbus Heights
#19 of 32 in Ocho Rios
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sky Castles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sky Castles

Property: Sky Castles
Address: Columbus Heights, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Ocho Rios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sky Castles 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury penthouse features spectacular panoramic view of the harbor and town of Ocho Rios. Sip on a cup of Jamaican Blue Mountain Coffee while watching the cruise ships roll into the Ocho Rios port from your own private gazebo. All the rooms have its own private gazebo with an unobstructed view of the Caribbean ocean and the town of Ocho Rios. At Sky Castle, you have the best of both worlds, high security with intimate privacy and yet a short walk to the center of all the shopping, major attractions and nightlife. The property is less than a ten minute drive to Dunn's River Falls, Fern Gully, Shaw Park Gardens, Dolphin Cove, Mystic Mountain and several other major attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sky Castles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sky Castles Hotel Ocho Rios
Sky Castles Jamaica/Ocho Rios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing