We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful relaxing vacation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Couples Sans Souci

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Couples Sans Souci
Ranked #4 of 36 Hotels in Ocho Rios
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Wonderful relaxing vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2006

My husband I stayed at Couples San Souci from February 6-13, 2006. This was our third trip to Jamaica but first one to Couples. We have always stayed at Sandals resorts over the past few years to avoid small children. We booked this trip through Sunquest and expected the spa treatments that were advertised in their printed trip brochures. Upon arrival we learned that the treatments are no longer included in the trip price. Sunquest did not inform us or our travel agent of the change when we booked. We did not let that disappointment ruin our trip. The resort, while a little dated is very clean, comfortable beds and great towels. The service was outstanding and the food better than most Sandals. As well, we also enjoyed the entertainment very much.
We stayed in D Block - had lots of water pressure and hot water. Room service never took more than 20-30 minutes and was always exactly what we ordered. We enjoyed the Italian & French restaurant equally. We were never disappointed with serving size or menu options. I think this resort has the best chefs and particularly pastry chefs in the Caribbean. They are lacking a wine list. It is either white or red. We would have been willing to pay a little extra for a bottle of good wine.
Beaches were nice and private. We were never once bothered by vendors and appreciated that very much. Pools were clean and well maintained. The mineral pool was outstanding.
The spa was a little overpriced in my estimation. We booked a Couples massage that we had in a stone outbuilding right over the sea - heaven, as the music was the waves crashing against the rocks and a soft afternoon rain falling. Our massages were wonderful but ended up costing us $180 USD for 50 minutes - as well as a tip. We pay $60.00 CDN for one hour here.
I would definiely return to this resort but would either fly from Montego Bay or wait until the road is complete - it has a long way to go.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
16 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,711 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,656
    728
    213
    65
    49
See reviews for
40
3,261
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,249)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2006

Architectually, the most pleasing hotel and grounds of Ocho Rios. Well staffed and trained to provide excellent service from the beach groomers to the maid staff and waiters.
We really dislike the 2-1/2 hour journey from the airport and would prefer a Montego Bay resort such as Half Moon.
However, Sans Soucis offers good food, service, ambiance, pleasant beaches and nearby inclusive golf at a price Half Moon cannot match.
Some of the rooms are terrific, some are barely adequate. Choose carefully.
Spa services offered and a good fitness center. Private massage cabanas overlooking the ocean with the sound of the breaking waves. The beaches and grounds are maintained perfectly.
Golf is ten minutes away at the Sandals course. Book a seat on their shuttle that goes every hour in the morning. A pleasing, hilly course, but not to the standard of Half Moon or White Witch.
Enjoyed every meal over six days. Good quality with lots of choice in two different restaurants and the beach bar that serves hamburgers, etc..
Late dinner seatings in the Cassanova restaurant could be a little disorganized, but guests seemed to accept the delay in seating and enjoy their evening.
First stayed here 18 years ago when Sans Soucis was a much smaller resort. It may have lost some of its intimacy, but service in every respect has actually improved to a very high standard.
In an island where 90% of the reorts are to be avoided, there are definitely a handful better than Sans Soucis, but try finding one with inclusive golf at a similar price! Good luck!!

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto, ontario
Level Contributor
66 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2006

we are in our mid 40's and travel a great deal staying in better hotels and resorts. i say this only to give you a better frame of reference.

beautiful grounds with an aging hotel facility, yet fairly well kept. the room in the 'b' building on the second floor was very nice. bathrooms were old and not kept up and the shower pressure was terrible.

the 'textile' beach, although quite small, was nice with lots of lounges and a fair amount of area that was shaded by the trees. no need to rush to save lounges.
the nude beach (changed the name from clothing optional about a month prior), is not great. a mix of sand and rocks on the beach and only rocks in the water, however the setting is great and the bar area, pool, short order 'kitchen', help make this area more enjoyable. i understand from management that they are intending to improve this area. once they do that, it will be fantastic.

restaurants are all very good, certainly much better than most all inclusives.

the service is fairly good but with so many new staff recently hired, it will take time to educate them fully on the level of service that the resort wants.

the spa services were pretty good but we found them a bit over priced for what it was.

i would not return until the road from montego bay is completely finished (2+ hours is just simply too long) and until the nude beach has been renovated.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
19 Thank ab0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, ON
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2006

My boyfriend and I stayed at Sans Souci the first week of February, 2006 and had an amazing trip!

The grounds are perfectly manicured and very lush, with lovely gardens and flowers everywhere. There are little hideaway hammocks all along the property and because this resort is very long, built on the side of the hill/cliff, it never feels busy. You can have whatever kind of time you want, you just choose what area you want to spend time in.

ROOMS: As far as the rooms go, we stayed in a one bedroom in the D block, it's just a step up from a veranda suite and it was great. We didn't need a separate living room area, and our balcony was triple the size of most others and we had an amazing oceanview. We didn't have a Jacuzzi tub or double sinks but other than that, there wasn't much difference. We were also very close to the spa area and a perfect spot for an evening Jacuzzi under the stars. (If you are going to get a beach front room, try to get some thing in the B block as it has the best views.)

BEACH: The beach was just fine. It is small, but it never felt crowded and personally, I would take a private small beach over a larger one where the public can enter (in Jamaica) any day. There was never anyone trying to sell us stuff or hassle us as we had heard in many reviews of other resorts in Jamaica. There was endless water sports available and you could pretty much do anything within a days notice!

FOOD: The food was excellent, the attention to detail and presentation was fabulous. Get ready for 6 course meals! ;-) Room service was nice to have for breakfast on the balcony, though the menu isn't extensive, it's certainly good enough.

STAFF: The staff were very friendly and helpful with anything we needed. We always felt like we were being taken care of and the service was great. The restaurant staff was top notch with 5* service all the way.

SPA: The spa's in a lovely area, and the massages are in little gazebos overlooking the ocean which is just stunning....They have a ways to go though before their spa will be a 5* but it's still nice.

ENTERTAINMENT: The entertainment was great and the house band was excellent (though they could perform a little more variation in the songs they sing) The beach party was fun, as was the gala evening - they put a lot of work in setting up and making sure that everything looks beautiful and the guests are enjoying themselves. The entertainment ends by 11:15pm each night (other than the disco night unless you want to go inside the balloon bar for sing-a-long.) This is good as the entertainment is outside and not everyone wants to listen to it in their rooms.

All in all this is an amazing resort, beautiful property, nice rooms, very clean, well cared for, excellent food, and top notch service!

We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank LauraandChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachussetts
Level Contributor
99 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2006

Having been to Sans Souci under the previous ownership we were anxious to see what changes occurred. Fortunately, there were not many changes. The food was excellent and varied, perhaps even better than last year.The guest rooms were spotlessly clean and kept that way during the stay. The decor is the same which is traditional. The beaches were kept clean by an energetic,young staff. The grounds of the resort are like a tropical paradise. The hills/grounds are studded with beautiful plantings, little oasises of hammocks, stone paths and a large pond with egrets, ducks, turtles and pelicans. This is a very romantic resort. The gym is good sized, overlooks the ocean and has excellent equipment.
There are some new staff because Couples reduced the pay of the old staff and because of this there was attrition. There is unhappiness evident among some of those who stayed as well. Overall, because of the staff changes, the level of room service and some of the restaurant service (especially Casanova) has decreased. Having stayed at other all inclusive resorts in Jamaica,however, we would still stay here again.The pluses still outweigh any negatives. This is not the "Four Seasons", but we wouldn't come to Jamaica looking for that kind of resort. Jamaica has it's own beautiful energy and Sans Souci has enough of it to enjoy!

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
18 Thank wrldtrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2006

We stayed at Couples San Souci from January 22nd to the 29th. It was the bast vacation, wedding and honeymoon ever!!

We stayed in B-block which was a short distance from everything - the pool, the beach, and many of the restaurants. We booked a one bedroom ocean front suite which was upgraded to a jacuzzi suite upon our arrival. The room was tastefully decorated and had the best view!!

Our wedding was amazing! The staff at San Souci had everything taken care of. We had a beautiful day and our pictures turned out fantastic - Thanks Dave! The evening of our wedding we had a private dinner in the wedding gazebo served by Cassanova's restaurant. It was the most romantic setting, fresh flowers, candle light, and the sound of the sea!! When we returned to our room the housekeeping staff had lit up our entire room with candles and spread rose petals across the bed. We were shocked - neither of us asked for this treatment. This just shows the extra mile the staff will go to make your stay at San Souci so special.

San Souci is a special place for us and we will definitely return on our 1st anniversary.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
18 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2006

It astounds me that with all the great (deserved) reviews San Souci gets, that every now and then someone comes along who sounds like they stayed at a different resort. Take the recent review complaining about how horrible the rooms were. I don't know what room these people stayed in, but our room was in D Block, second floor and it was amazing. Huge room, sitting area, bathroom and balcony. Clean with a comfortable bed. Sure the furniture wasn't brand new, but neither is the stuff in my house. Anyway, the resort certainly lived up to the (positive) reviews. Gorgeous grounds, mainly attentive and friendly staff, nice beaches, great food.

Some details:

For those who can't completely leave work there is wireless high speed internet access in the games room area, as well as a couple of internet stations.

Dining, we hit all the restaurants and grills at least once.
Palazzina was definitely the best, appetizer sizes are small but that lets you try a couple, the Calamari, Escargot and Stone Crab Cake were excellent, as was the French Onion Soup, Sushi was OK, a little dried out. Entree sizes were decent, well prepared and very good.
Casanova, good but certainly not better than Plazzina, again portions smaller sized but also well prepared and were quite good. Rack of Lamb was excellent
Bella Vista, specials, the Goat Curry was very good, this is more a casual dining, good food, not great but equivalent to an Earls, Moxies etc.

Beach Grill, probably the first all-inclusive where the frys and burgers are worth ordering, normally this is not something that seems to get done well, better to stick to jerk chicken etc. But here the frys are hot, crisp, the burgers have fresh lettuce and tomato and the options (blue cheese, bacon, jamiacan cheese) were good. Have a Country Style + Jamaican and get jerk sauce on it, mmmmmmm

Bars, good service, friendly bartenders, always willing to mix you up whatever you wanted.

Beaches, small compared to some resorts , but well sheltered from wind, Main beach is very private located in a cove, Au-Natural not quite as secluded, but still nice and has its own pool with swim up bar and grill which is nice.

Activities, Two 'special' events in a week, the Jamaican night, which had decent entertainment (I wish the announcer at these things would talk less and just let the performers, perform), and a Gala, which was cancelled due to rain. We didn't go to the piano bar etal so can't comment on that.

Sports, didn't do much as it rained for 3 out of 7 days, however the Tennis Courts appeared to be in good shape, they seemed to have decent gear on the beach (windsurfers, kayaks, water bikes) and on the sunny days they were quite a few people heading out on the scuba and snorkeling tours.

Golf, I picked this report partially so I could get some golfing in, golf is about a ten minute shuttle away. If you are a serious golfer take the first shuttle at 7:00 to get there before the crowds show up. Course is in good, not great shape, greens on the front nine slow, a little bumpy but OK, greens on the back apparently had a problem as they were threadbare to start, and then covered with sand. However given that this was a mid winter break from the golf hiatus forced on us by living in Canada the golfing was fine. Caddies were good and make sure you believe their reads on the green. If you want some advise on your game, ask for a caddy who plays some of these guys are good golfers.

That's it for this review except to note that we will be going back here, hopefully for two weeks.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
23 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocho Rios
0.7 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#2 of 36 in Ocho Rios
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,200 reviews
1.9 mi away
Couples Tower Isle
Couples Tower Isle
#5 of 36 in Ocho Rios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,025 reviews
46.4 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
83.3 mi away
Couples Negril
Couples Negril
#9 of 84 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,183 reviews
83.7 mi away
Couples Swept Away
Couples Swept Away
#15 of 84 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,049 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sandals Ochi Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Couples Sans Souci? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Couples Sans Souci

Property: Couples Sans Souci
Address: Route A3, St-Mary | PO Box 103, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Ocho Rios
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ocho Rios
#4 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ocho Rios
#6 Family Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Couples Sans Souci 4.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the cliffs of Jamaica’s emerald coast above a dazzling stretch of Caribbean, Couples Sans Souci beckons you to surrender mind, body and soul. The resort's 'no worries' mantra comes to life as every day unfolds. Lose yourself exploring secluded stone pathways. Melt away stress in the healing natural mineral springs. Feel a rush of exhilaration scaling Dunn's River waterfalls. Or simply drift asleep in a hammock by the sea. Located in vibrant Ocho Rios, the resort's design pays tribute to an understated colonial elegance—intricate latticework, white woven furnishings and feathered palms set a refined stage for your island escape. Dining options abound—from authentic Jamaican fare to five-star international cuisine. Private cabanas at cliff's edge provide the ideal setting for our signature spa treatments, while the choice of resort activities knows no limits. Learn the art of living well while living in the moment at Couples Sans Souci. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Couples Sans Souci reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Couples Sans Souci Hotel Ocho Rios
Couples San Souci
Couples Sans Souci Ocho Rios
Couples Sans Souci Jamaica/Ocho Rios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing