We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Vacation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Couples Sans Souci

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Couples Sans Souci
Ranked #4 of 36 Hotels in Ocho Rios
Certificate of Excellence
New Berlin, WI
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful Vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2009

My husband and I booked Couples Rendezvous. We didn't care which resort we went to as we were thrilled just to get away from the cold and snow. I can't believe someone paid $6000 as we paid half that amount. We were concerned about some of the negative comments posted about this resort, but I assure you once you arrive all of your worries are gone. The resort is very beautiful, lush, and romantic. Our room was G18, which is on the top floor of the farthest building from the beach. We had a fantastic view of the ocean and the mineral pool. We had a one bedroom suite that was very nice and clean. There are a lot of steps in the resort but we enjoy walking so it wasn't a problem. The food was excellent. The staff members were very friendly and service was great. We really enjoyed having room service and having liquor and beverages replenished in our room. Someone had posted that they were there the last week in February and it rained three days. I don't know what resort they were referring to because we were there the same week and it rained only on Monday and cleared up. It did not rain the rest of the week. We have been to Jamaica before to Breezes and Sandals resorts and can say that this resort was just as nice if not nicer. The only thing that was not quite as nice was the beach, but it was sufficient. We met some people from our state that we had a great time with and are keeping in touch with. It was a wonderful vacation. This was our first time staying at Couples and certainly won't be our last!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BrewersBestFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,707 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,652
    728
    213
    65
    49
See reviews for
40
3,257
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,248)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, FL
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2009

Where do I begin??? My husband and I decieded to do the Couples Secret Rendezvous for our first aniversary. We had deceided that after having a stressful honeymoon in Italy, we wanted a relaxing Jamacian vacation. We were placed at Couples Sans Souci. We arrived at the airport and after clearing customs found the Couples lounge no problem. We were given our Red Stripes and waited about 15 minutes for the bus that would take us to the resort. The drive there took about an hour and forty-five minutes. Our driver was wonderful and the trip was very pleasant. Once we arrived at the resort check in went smoothly. Our room was not ready yet, but that was okay since we did arrive early. To pass the time we were driven to the Pallazina Resturant to get some food, by the time we were finished eatting our room was ready.

The room was nice. We had a nice sized balcony that overlooked the ocean, as well as, a little side balcony that overlooked the gardens. The bathroom had a huge zero entry shower with a large bench. We never had any problems with the water pressure or having enough hot water. The room was cleaned very well every day, and if we ever need new towels they were placed in our room. The beds are comfortable enough, it was not super soft nor super hard.

The resort is beautiful with lots of lush greenery. There were stairways going everwhere and my husband I enjoyed exploring them. We took advantage of pretty much all the resort offered. The mineral pool area was very nice and quite. When we would walk over to the area, hardly anyone was ever there. The main beach area is small, but it is nice. We never had a problem finding a chair and even though the resort was fully booked ,the beach was never crowded. One of my favorite things was to just float on the mats in the ocean. The watersports were closed the first few days because of the weather. Once the wind died down we were able to go out on the Hobie Cat, Snokeling, and Kayaking. We also took advantage of the excursions that were included. The Dunns River Falls is an adventure. There were points of the trip climbing up the waterfall that it got a little scary, but everyone in our group made it to the top no problem. We also went on the Margaritaville trip. We have a Margaritaville here in Orlando, but the one in Ocho Rios was more like a club than a bar. But it was still fun, just not what we were expecting.

The food and bars at the resort were great. Our favorite bar was the Balloon Bar. Rohan was our bartender and was absolutely wonderful. He made us some many interesting drinks, and at Couples they do not skimp on the alcohol. We ate at ever resturant on the property. Breakfast was nice, they always had the staples of scrambled eggs and french toast as well as omelets, eggs benedict, and traditional Jamaican breakfast food. For dinner we loved the Casanova Resturant. The deserts were so delicious. The late night grill was great too, you have to try the jerk burger.

This is one of the best vacations my husband and I have ever had. Everyone was so nice and very helpful. After reading some of the negative views on here I was a little concerned, but Couples really knows how to treat their guests. Sans Souci is a wonderful resort and this may be the first time we visited but it will not be the last.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rectordn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowie, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2009

We went to Couples Sans Souci for our honeymoon. I love this place. They had great service and food. This was my first time going to an all inclusive resort. I don't think I can vacation any other way now. We are going back again this year and we can't wait. After this trip upcoming trip, we will try the coulpes resorts in Negril. We heard those are even better. I can't even imagine that!!!
I highly recommend this resort. Everyone deserves a vacation in luxury.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jiggas_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manitoba
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2009

We recently stayed at Couples Sans Souci.What a vacation!!! The resort was beautiful,the grounds well kept,we heard some of the rooms were a in need of a little TLC but this was not our case.We had a beachfront jacuzzi suite.The room was neat & tidy ,the view spectacular.My husband & I took advantage of the Salon services which were very reasonable.There was so much to do on the resort and many nearby excursions available .The staff was phenomenal,so friendly,and extremely helpful.The staff definitely believe in the Jamaican motto "no problem mon" If you needed or wanted something it was always "no problem" and they would move heaven & earth to make sure you were satisfied. The food was fantastic,we would recommend making your supper reservations as soon as you can.We preferred the Pallazinna over the Casanova but had delicious food at both.Casanova is more formal of the 2.The one draw back to the resort is the amount of stairs.There is a lot of climbing ,but my husband & I figured this was a good way to wear off the calories from all those delicious tropical drinks.!!!The mineral pool & jacuzzi are excellent as are all the other pools.The beach was beautifully maintained,and there were a lot of water activities offered.Overall we had such a joyful experience we cannot wait to go back.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank onehappycamper75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2009

As a returning customer, really made to feel welcome - upgraded room, massage, gift shop voucher, returners meal, picknick pack on leaving. Many people we met have returned to Jamaica and Couples year after year, and we would definately go back again.

Having been to Sandals Dunn's River (just along the coast) the previous year, I would say the customer service and was better there as the staff seemed more motivated/ genuine and the food choice was greater (with better pizzas!), but Couples represented better value for money with trips included, a more tropical setting and included room and sunlounger service on the beach for less cost. Also liked the juice bar.

Couples were very responsive to requests and were keen to make the holiday experience the best that it could be. My hubby asked if the hotel had any popcorn and within two days a brand new popcorn machine was installed (which was very successful). When one of the nature walks was cancelled we were given a 2 litre bottle of rum to compensate. They actively encourage customer feedback using a weekly cocktail event where managers circulate amongst guests and they have have a monthly competition to win a return short trip.

The only disappointment was the fact we weren't able to water-ski during our holiday due to weather conditions. We recommended the hotel have clear instructions of what to do if there is a "red flag" (rough sea) day as telling us to come back later when others have already booked those time slots did not seem sensible. We also recommended they operate early mornings and late evenings when the sea seemed to be calmer.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CrackerApple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2009

Having spent almost $6,000 for 2 to go to Couples San Souci, this was the most disappointing trip we've ever had (and this was at 40% off!!!)
Here is why we didn't enjoy our stay:
i) We had requested a quiet room. They put us in a room that was virtually 50 yards from the outdoor live band. When I called the front desk in the morning to request to be moved, I was asked "Can't take it?" - referring to the level of noise. The move took almost the whole day and on top of that it was raining. Actually it rained for the first 3 days. Ah the rain.... each room is supposed to have an umbrella. Our new room didn't have one so we called the front desk.... twice. We didn't get one until the next day resulting in us dashing through the rain to go to dinner. On top of that, when we got back from dinner, our bedroom was flooded. They came the next morning to fix the roof. I cleaned up the water.
ii) Food - There are only 3 restaurants and one is on the beach and very casual. This leaves you with 2 choices - the Casa Nova and the Palazzina. The Palazzina was not very good. Limited menu. The Casa Nova was the better of the 2. Well.... for the first night. Then they changed the menu. Very limited. (2 pager). The food however was very good.
iii)Reservations - we learned on the first day that you needed reservations for everything so we booked for the first 3 days. When we went to dinner on the second day, the waiter advised that he didn't have us on the reservation list. They did seat us though. We had also made reservations to go the the Dunn River Falls trip. It was raining the morning of our trip so I stopped by the reservation desk to change it to the next day. They didn't have a record of our reservation.
iv)Breakfast - You can only have breakfast at the Palazzina. Every morning there was a problem - no coffee, no cups, no napkins or all of the above. The staff made us feel like we were interrupting them. In general, most of the staff seemed unhappy to be there. Several times the waiters expected a tip for drinks (this is an all inclusive resort with NO tipping).
v)Beach - although the hotel this week was at half occupancy, it was very difficult to get a beach chair. Also, the beach is very small and the swimming area somewhat disappointing. Although it was a nice hard sand bottom, there were weeds everywhere. It also only goes out to about 5 feet deep before you hit the roped off area limit. Very few people went swimming.
vi) Scuba diving - although we didn't go scuba diving we met a couple who came all the way from Russia to go scuba diving and only got out one day. We overheard the master diver tell them that you never come here in January to go diving. As I mentioned, we had 3 days of rain. The waves were 3-4 feet high and no boats were going out. Also a red flag on the beach - no swimming.
vii) Food poisoning - the day before we were to leave, I became violently ill and basically missed the last day at the resort and had to endure the 2 hour drive back to the airport and 4 hour flight home while being ill. It took me almost 2 weeks to recover.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Wanderlust4sure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2009

We travelled to Sans Souci for a 9 night stay along with two other couples. One couple had never travelled before and now they are hooked - they loved it. The other couple was extremely pleased as well. We had been to Sans Souci 8 years ago when it was a Grand Lido, and we also were not disappointed.

The people who work at Sans Souci are definately what sets this resort apart from others. Of course not all staff are extremely friendly, but we came across some that were exceptional - Clarence at Palazinna, Duane at the pool bar, Dorval at the beach bar and SakieAnn at the mineral pool bar. Great people no doubt.

We stayed in the G block, which is quite the trip from the beach, but we needed the exercise after eating all the great food. The room was a bit on the stuffy side, but it wasnt a big deal. We had a great view and the room was a good size.

Eating was never a disappointment! We ate very well, TOO well. There was always a good selection of food and fantastic desserts. The drinks were great - although it depended on which bartender you had. We never stayed up for the entertainment, we were too tired after being on the beach from 8am on.

In general, if you are thinking about travelling to Sans Souci, book it, you wont be disappointed. We are already thinking about travelling back to Jamaica next spring, hopefully to Couples Swept Away.

Ya mon.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JamaicanDaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocho Rios
0.7 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#2 of 36 in Ocho Rios
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,198 reviews
1.9 mi away
Couples Tower Isle
Couples Tower Isle
#5 of 36 in Ocho Rios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,016 reviews
46.4 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
83.3 mi away
Couples Negril
Couples Negril
#9 of 84 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,180 reviews
83.7 mi away
Couples Swept Away
Couples Swept Away
#15 of 84 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,038 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sandals Ochi Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Couples Sans Souci? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Couples Sans Souci

Property: Couples Sans Souci
Address: Route A3, St-Mary | PO Box 103, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Ocho Rios
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ocho Rios
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ocho Rios
#4 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
#6 Family Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Couples Sans Souci 4.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the cliffs of Jamaica’s emerald coast above a dazzling stretch of Caribbean, Couples Sans Souci beckons you to surrender mind, body and soul. The resort's 'no worries' mantra comes to life as every day unfolds. Lose yourself exploring secluded stone pathways. Melt away stress in the healing natural mineral springs. Feel a rush of exhilaration scaling Dunn's River waterfalls. Or simply drift asleep in a hammock by the sea. Located in vibrant Ocho Rios, the resort's design pays tribute to an understated colonial elegance—intricate latticework, white woven furnishings and feathered palms set a refined stage for your island escape. Dining options abound—from authentic Jamaican fare to five-star international cuisine. Private cabanas at cliff's edge provide the ideal setting for our signature spa treatments, while the choice of resort activities knows no limits. Learn the art of living well while living in the moment at Couples Sans Souci. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Couples Sans Souci reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Couples Sans Souci Hotel Ocho Rios
Couples San Souci
Couples Sans Souci Ocho Rios
Couples Sans Souci Jamaica/Ocho Rios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing