We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a 5, 4 or even 4.5 star hotel”
Review of Couples Sans Souci

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Couples Sans Souci
Ranked #3 of 35 Hotels in Ocho Rios
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 21, 2014

My fiance and I returned from Sans Souci yesterday and were relieved to be back in Toronto. We travel to Jamaice three times yearly, and this was our first and last time to stay at this hotel, and use this hotel brand.

Upon arrival, our check-in clerk gave us a double-bedroom room which we did not book. After returning to the check-in area, we were told that our presidential suite would not be ready for 2.5 hrs! We were unable to change, and were forced to eat lunch without freshining up.

After lunch, we waited another 1/2 hr to enter our room. As we walked in, the room was as old as my grandmother. Cracks on the tiles on the flooring, holes in the towels used for showering, rust in the bathtub (huge areas of rust), broken kleenex holder, cracks on the toilet seat and old shampoo and bath wash bottles with crack.

Don't get me mistaken, the customer service was par and food was good - not 5 star though.

I would not leave my comfortable home, without cracks everwhere, to stay, which felt like a prison, in an un-kept bedroom. I honestly feel that I can cook better food at home.

The grouds were beautiful and the views are spectacular; however, the views and grouds at many other resorts (secrets st. james, secets wild orchid and iberostar) are just the same.

My fiance and I are extremely disappointed and cannot believe that we had to ensure staying in jail for 4 days.

If you are seeking a luxury resort, do not choose couples sans souc as there are far better options, which are cheaper, available.

For the nature lovers who want rest and relaxation surrounded by coutless trees, this is for you.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank shivana s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abraham I, Owner at Couples Sans Souci, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2014

Dear Shivana s,

Congratulations on your engagement. Sorry that you and your fiancé did not enjoy your stay at Couples Sans Souci. We apologize for the delay regarding your suite.

Although we don’t use a star-rating system, Couples Resorts is one of the most unique all-inclusive experiences in the Caribbean. We pride ourselves in providing our guests with exceptional service.

Sorry again for the unfortunate circumstances. Our other resorts are very different in character. I urge you to look at our Negril properties on our website, Couples.com.

Regards,
Abraham Issa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,053)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,751 - 1,757 of 4,053 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2014

My wife and I just returned from a week at Couples Sans Souci. We had an amazing time. My wife got one on one tennis lessons each morning from the traveling tennis pro Chi and local tennis pro Radcliffe. I special thank you to Chi for the time and effort he spent helping my wife with her game. No surprise that most people sleep in while in paradise, but it worked out well for her. She also had a wonderful massage and facial in the spa.

The meals were all very nice. We ate at all three main dining venues. Each was excellent. Our favorite items were the home made soup choice each night. Three nights we enjoyed meals under the beautiful night sky at the Beach Party, Repeater Party, and Gala. Each was fun, but the women in our group did suffer some bug bites. We are assuming noseeums or sand fleas. The interesting thing is that it was only an issue at night. During the day in the same Venues posed no problems at all. Bug spray will be on our packing list for next year.

Breakfast has pretty much everything you might want. Edgar does a great job at the omelet station. Lunches offered many choices, but we pretty kept it simple with jerk chicken or burgers.

They have a great selection of tops shelf liquor. Special thank you to Tanisha for keeping our drinks fresh and full.

The entertainment staff works hard to keep everyone involved, but not annoying if you want to chill.

We are very happy with the rooms. They are clean and well maintained. The air conditioner worked great as well.

We will return again next year.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Michael V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2014

Our first time to a "Couples" resort, and now we are hooked. Service was out of this world. Bar tenders, waiters, even house keeping went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed.
Rooms were large and clean. Beach was beautiful, food was amazing. Cant say enough good things about the resort. We took advantage of messages, scuba trip, glass bottom boat ride, the resort had a lot to offer.
We stayed in B block, which had a large Jacuzzi tub, and was close to the beach. There were rooms up top of the hill, but the walk can be a little much if you are going up and down them all day.
We swam in the 3 pools the resort had. The mineral pool was beautiful, but almost empty. No alcohol served at this bar, but lovely fresh fruit smoothies.
You may pay a little more for this resort, but well worth the money. We will be back !
One beach tip -- one of our friends we were travelling with stepped on a sea urchin on our first day. 31 "quills" in his foot. It put a damper on his week, but Doctor was on hand to remove what he could, and checked on him often during the week. Beach shoes though unsightly , would be useful so your trip doesn't get spoiled.

Room Tip: Block B is close to beach and main pool. The "special" dinner nights (gala and beach part...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank straycat03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2014

Last year we went to Couples Swept Away for 10 days on our honeymoon... We absolutely loved it! We decided to go back to Jamaica for our 1st yr anniversary, but try another Couples location to see something different. We ended up at Couples San Souci for 8 days. It was fun, relaxing, and beautiful... But the beach was quite small compared to what we had gotten used to at CSA (Negril's 7 mi beach). CSS beach is private.. you're in a cove. There were little to no locals except for the ones that worked on the resort. It was more relaxing and less of a party scene. More of an older crowd. We liked it and would recommend it, but we liked the younger crowd and the party scene at CSA more. But, if you're looking for relaxation, you've got it. CSS has private/personal Cliffside massage huts. I went to the spa four times... 3 massages and a facial... Simone was amazing. The property was nice. I loved that they had two large caged parrots on-site. Everything was pretty spread out.. There are a lot of stairs, but we didn't mind. The service at the resort is pretty good. We went to a returning guests dinner and won a $100 off an excursion. We used it for Dolphine Cove. Also, we did the Dunn's River falls for free thru the resort, but everyone told us The Blue Hole is where we should have went. People were really excited about that place. Overall, we had a great time. We love Jamaica and will probably return. Our travel agent, Fayette, was awesome! We went to her for both of our trips. She took care of everything! And she's quick! She made sure we got all of our returning guests extras.

Room Tip: The sofa & chair in our beachfront suite was stained and dated. We didn't use it. But it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank JessicaAaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2014

Once you clear customs at the airport you walk over to the Couples lounge and they greet you with Red Stripe. From there it is a scenic 2 hr drive along the coast to the resort. The staff greet you with a cold drink and check you in. We stayed in B block very convenient to the beaches, water sports and two of the restaurants on site. I have traveled the Caribbean for 30 years and this was my 2nd time to Jamaica and my favorite. The place is lush and well maintained. The staff is very friendly and service oriented. We ordered ice every night and coffee every morning and never had to wait longer then a couple of minutes. Food at all 3 restaurants is very good. Watersports were great, many different things to do durring the day if you wanted. You could choose from the main beach or find one of the secluded spots to relax. The mineral grotto was a cozy and refreshing place. We can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Rooms in A or B block are close to the beach and don't require the use of the stairs as often.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jpbeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2014

We stayed in G9 and had an awesome balcony, every morning I was excited to have our coffee and watch the waves roll in.Every terrace on this resort has an awesome view and it gets better as the sun goes down,we loved hanging out at the private beach and then wandering to find a hidden hammock somewhere.Service was awesome,food was great rooms were clean and nice bathrooms need an update but so what they were fine for us.We had stayed at swept away for our honeymoon and this was our 10th anniversary and this resort is so much more then a beach it is very romantic and relaxing and just what we needed.thanks couples!you did it again we'll be back some day

Room Tip: D block or G block for a more romantic experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank italred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2014

This was my boyfriend and I's first trip to Jamaica and so like most, we didn't know what to expect. Couples San Souci was well worth the two hour shuttle ride from the Montego Bay airport! The staff and resort exceeded our expectations! I travel extensively so I can truly appreciate good customer service! The staff was beyond friendly and personable and someone was always willing to greet you with a warm smile! The food was absolutely delicious….we both gained a pound or two but it was hard not too with all the options available! Couples San Souci is a must do for anyone looking for a romantic getaway with great food and excellent customer service. We will certainly be back :-)

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Telisha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocho Rios
0.7 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#1 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,375 reviews
1.9 mi away
Couples Tower Isle
Couples Tower Isle
#4 of 35 in Ocho Rios
3,234 reviews
53.7 mi away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Sandals Ochi Beach Resort
83.7 mi away
Couples Swept Away
Couples Swept Away
#13 of 81 in Negril
5,510 reviews
1 mi away
Sandals Royal Plantation
Sandals Royal Plantation
#2 of 35 in Ocho Rios
2,692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Couples Sans Souci? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Couples Sans Souci

Address: Route A3, St-Mary | PO Box 103, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Ocho Rios
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ocho Rios
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ocho Rios
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
#3 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range: $314 - $611 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Couples Sans Souci 4.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the cliffs of Jamaica’s emerald coast above a dazzling stretch of Caribbean, Couples Sans Souci beckons you to surrender mind, body and soul. The resort's 'no worries' mantra comes to life as every day unfolds. Lose yourself exploring secluded stone pathways. Melt away stress in the healing natural mineral springs. Feel a rush of exhilaration scaling Dunn's River waterfalls. Or simply drift asleep in a hammock by the sea. Located in vibrant Ocho Rios, the resort's design pays tribute to an understated colonial elegance—intricate latticework, white woven furnishings and feathered palms set a refined stage for your island escape. Dining options abound—from authentic Jamaican fare to five-star international cuisine. Private cabanas at cliff's edge provide the ideal setting for our signature spa treatments, while the choice of resort activities knows no limits. Learn the art of living well while living in the moment at Couples Sans Souci. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Couples Sans Souci reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Couples Sans Souci Hotel Ocho Rios
Couples San Souci
Couples Sans Souci Ocho Rios
Couples Sans Souci Jamaica/Ocho Rios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing