We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Amazing!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Couples Sans Souci

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Couples Sans Souci
Ranked #4 of 39 Hotels in Ocho Rios
Certificate of Excellence
Ham Lake, Minnesota
1 review
“Amazing!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

This was the most amazing vacation we have ever taken. The employees, the food, the atmosphere, everything was perfect. The beach was beautiful, tons of activities to do or not do:) Marlon, the chef at the pasta bar, is by far the best chef I have ever encountered!!

Room Tip: We paid extra for an ocean view, but I believe all the rooms have an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,469
    669
    197
    64
    46
See reviews for
38
3,013
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,143)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

We are not quick to visit a resort a second time. We generally believe that it is best to try new resorts each vacation. We made an exception for this resort and I am so glad we did. We first visited for New Years in 2011/2012 and had an absolutely amazing time. I, in particular, fell in love with the resort on the basis of ambiance, romance, and overall atmosphere.

This visit was over thanksgiving 2013. The trip was even better than the first. We believe that while we had an amazing time at New Years, the high occupancy and high level of work that goes into holiday events may have kept us from seeing the resort at an even higher level - sounds crazy considering what a great time we had on that trip.

This trip we once again stayed in F block, this time in F9 - awesome! We did the couples massage, the private dinner and spent most of our time out on the beach. The staff was wonderful. We enjoyed getting to reconnect with some we met the first visit - kenesha - what an asset she is to the resort! We also had a lot of fun with others we got to know this trip - Noxroy, Darren, and many others.

The grounds are gorgeous. The food was good. Everything was smooth, relaxing and romantic. We got engaged on this trip and I can't imagine a better way to celebrate it! My fiancé said he knew this was the best place for me to receive a proposal - he was right! Thanks San Souci! We will return!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank eab1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
114 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

My husband and I came here for our honeymoon in June/July of 2013. We stayed in the Honeymoon suite overlooking the bay, which was amazing. The room was spacious, although somewhat dated in terms of the bathrooms. Everything was clean and neat. The staff were wonderful from check in to check out.

The food here is good for what it is -- the menus are a bit limited, and it isn't exactly health food, but you certainly will not go hungry. The gala buffet for July 4th was lovely -- the food was actually best there and at the Beach Grill.

We enjoyed all the small pools and bars (including the smoothie bar and mineral pool), and found every service person attentive. There are plenty of included water sports and charter private trips available. The main beach is somewhat small, but never felt too crowded. Sunset beach (the nude beach) is actually the nicest beach and pool area for those who enjoy (or who can learn to enjoy) being sans swimsuits.

The tours that they offer when booking on line are limited compared to what you can book on arrival. I recommend leaving the resort every other day for something. Dunns River Falls are amazing -- a must do, and included at no cost when you arrive.

Room Tip: Splurge for the water view rooms -- well worth the minor increase in cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mom2tristanella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

My husband and I spent a week in November 2013. From the minute that we stepped into the lobby, we knew that that we were going to have a wonderful vacation. We stayed in an ocean front beach room.. Our room was clean, cheery and pretty. Whatever room service that we asked for, it was done in a timely fashion. Our maid has been working for Couples for 40 years - she was such a nice lady. The food and the presentation at all restaurants was excellent. We loved the beach party and gala buffet. There was always a car to take you up to the Balloon bar, lobby, gift shop and the other restaurant if you did not want to walk. There was also an elevator by the spa which we took quite a few times. The view was breathtaking. We cannot say enough about the staff. There are just too many to mention. They were always smiling and very accommodating. They are the best that we've seen at other all-inclusive resorts and cruiselines. One other thing, we go to church and they took us to church in Ocho Rios and waited for us. What a nice gesture. We have already rebooked for next November as many of our friends have done so. Cannot wait to return.

Room Tip: If you want to stay on the beach and do not want to go up and down the steps to your room, book the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank snowman2164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CouplesSocialMgr, Public Relations Manager at Couples Sans Souci, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Snowman 2164,

Thank you for having chosen to vacation with us and for your review of your stay. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your experience with us right from the beginning.

Our Staff are indeed exceptional and dedicated and always happy to assist in any way they can. Thank you for your commendations of staff and services offered and we cant wait to welcome you back 'home' in November.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Del Rio, TX
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

So, after visiting CSS three times in 1 1/2 years, I feel that maybe it has had better days. For some reason, the first time we visited it was amazing (maybe the wool was pulled over our eyes), 2nd time was more relaxed since we knew all about it and third time I noticed things that I had overlooked the first 2 times. We took my parents so it was the 4 of us. My parents loved it and just fell in love with it. I feel that this time was a little disappointing. Yes, the resort has always needed some remodeling, but this time was worse. The food didn't seem as good. The NYE buffet was crowded and made me only get 1 plate of food and 1 plate of dessert. The dessert for the NYE buffet was great, food was okay. I feel that the staff 'makes' the resort for us. They are the reason we have been 3 times. Nickoy at Charlie's Bar is great, Deon was a funny and great waitress, Sasha and Lingini (Leightonette) are great entertainment coordinators. Nicola is a nice waitress at Casanova. Ruth and Marsha are AWESOME at the Spa. :) We love the staff and they are the reason we return. We really enjoy Maliachi and Derron at the Watersports. They go above and beyond to help us enjoy the water sports and have a great time on our Private Snorkel. (I highly recommend the Private Snorkel!) I feel that they are like family. I would like the food to get better/change. I felt that the menus were the same as when we went in June and last June. I felt that the food at the Beach Grill (nights) was MUCH better than the reservation restaurants (Pallazina, Cassanova). I do like the beach and the ability to always have a lounge chair/float. We love the foliage and views. Maybe some updated menus and new nightly entertainment. Let's shake some stuff up CSS! Then we will return, in the meantime, we will try another Couples resort next time.

Room Tip: We've stayed in E block, G block and now D block. We like D block and it's closeness to eve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mandjtopp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
provence
Level Contributor
97 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Like other recient reviews we wondered whether or not to write a review but decided we needed to add out comments to support those already made and a few points of our own.

This was our third visit to this hotel. We were suprised at just how badly the rooms had deteriorated. Our shower room had tiles that were comming away from the floor and the actual shower head was broken so that it just sent out a single trickle of water. We eventually had it fixed but only after repeated requests and a final visit to the front desk to insist on getting it repaired.

On the subject of the front desk - do they ever smile? In comparison to the rest of the staff who really do make up for the decaying hotel I always felt that they were doing us a favor just being there! Given that they are the first contact with the hotel they really need to get their act together.

We are not fans of the buffet beach party and Gala nights. Our choice but we really would like to see one other dining option available on those nights as we know we are not the only people who prefer to be served. The New Year's Eve Gala night as others have said was a prime example of why we dislike buffets - badly organised with people milling around in a small space, food picked over by those ahead of you or run out if a more popular option.

We did not stay for the entertainment but like many people retreated to a bar and then our room.

We were pleased to see that on this visit there were no early towels out blocking off beds (with exceptions) and free beds were available throughout the day. I speak only of Sun Set Beach (SSB) as we did not use the main beach. On a previous visit by 8am all the beds on SSB had been taken. We did notice though towards the end of our visit that larger groups of repeaters were arriving and started to block out large sections of beds.

At the end of the holiday we both agreed we would like to be able to return but some serious remedial work has to be done on the rooms. If we were giving the rooms a rating by European standards I suspect they would struggle to make 2* - looking at the state of our tiles and the mould growing out from them that would only be if the Public Health Inspectors had not shut the hotel down first.

Come on Couples you cannot trade of the goodwill of repeat visitors who are perhaps more forgiving that first time guests.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank boucheboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Css is an idealic resort. The grounds are beautiful and lush. Staff are the strong point of this resort as they go above and beyond to be helpful and accomadating. The food at the gala and beach party was amazing in both variety and quality for a resort. The only week point of the resort is the housekeeping department which seems to have issues with getting rooms cleaned in a timely fashion, a comment we heard from all guests that we talked to. The onsite entertainment was ok, however the newyears gala enterrainment was a major let down and far below the standards of other resorts we have stayed at. By 10:30 the interpertive very amateur dance troop had scared many guests away and ruined the festive vibe you would expect of a newyears party. With some room renovations which I understand are in the future this will be truely a 5 star resort. We will definitely be returning to css as we met many wonderful new friends and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Nicola, dominique, milton, sanita, taneasha, mike and so many other staff you folks are amazing!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tiberius8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocho Rios
0.7 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#2 of 39 in Ocho Rios
5.0 of 5 stars 1,108 reviews
83.3 mi away
Couples Negril
Couples Negril
#8 of 87 in Negril
4.5 of 5 stars 3,977 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sandals Ochi Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
46.4 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
1.9 mi away
Couples Tower Isle
Couples Tower Isle
#5 of 39 in Ocho Rios
4.5 of 5 stars 2,844 reviews
6.4 mi away
Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Couples Sans Souci? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Couples Sans Souci

Property: Couples Sans Souci
Address: Route A3, St-Mary | PO Box 103, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Ocho Rios
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ocho Rios
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ocho Rios
#4 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
#7 Family Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Couples Sans Souci 4.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the cliffs of Jamaica’s emerald coast above a dazzling stretch of Caribbean, Couples Sans Souci beckons you to surrender mind, body and soul. The resort's 'no worries' mantra comes to life as every day unfolds. Lose yourself exploring secluded stone pathways. Melt away stress in the healing natural mineral springs. Feel a rush of exhilaration scaling Dunn's River waterfalls. Or simply drift asleep in a hammock by the sea. Located in vibrant Ocho Rios, the resort's design pays tribute to an understated colonial elegance—intricate latticework, white woven furnishings and feathered palms set a refined stage for your island escape. Dining options abound—from authentic Jamaican fare to five-star international cuisine. Private cabanas at cliff's edge provide the ideal setting for our signature spa treatments, while the choice of resort activities knows no limits. Learn the art of living well while living in the moment at Couples Sans Souci. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Couples Sans Souci reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Couples Sans Souci Hotel Ocho Rios
Couples San Souci
Couples Sans Souci Ocho Rios
Couples Sans Souci Jamaica/Ocho Rios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing