We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“12th time's a charm” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Couples Sans Souci

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Couples Sans Souci
Ranked #4 of 36 Hotels in Ocho Rios
Certificate of Excellence
Des Plaines, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“12th time's a charm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

!2 times at one resort?? This has to tell you how special Couples San Souci is. It feels like our home away from home. The guest rooms are very comfortable and the food is wonderful. I really LOVE the breakfast and lunch buffets. There is always a wide variety of choices from super-healty to downright indulgent. We love eating outside, so breakfast and lunch and sometimes dinner at Palazzina is truly delightful. Sometimes we'll even eat dinner under the stars at Casanova.The entire staff is very friendly and welcoming, whether you are a first-timer or one of the many repeat guests. The layout of CSS is very unique. The many terraced levels convey an old world, European feel. It is absolutely charming! It is the perfect place to go and relax by the pool or on the beach. It is a 15 minute drive to the Upton golf course. We have found our favorite caddie there and look forward to playing golf 4-5 times while we are at CSS. The tennis pro, Radcliffe, is great with the guests and sometimes there is a visiting pro who will give great lessons in the morning. My game has improved immensely with those lessons. New to the game? Come on down, they are more than willing to work with you. For those of you who don't like sitting around in a wet swimming suit, the re-designed au natural pool and beach is very nice. Both that and the main pool have swim-up bars, in case you need a Red Stripe or something. It does not have a really long beach, but it is located away from other resorts so you feel like you are on your own little tropical island. It is quiet, rather reserved, but never stuffy. Want to sit in the sun (or shade), totally relax and read a book? Or do you want to take some little side trips to Dunns River Falls or the like? It is all offered for whatever your taste. This is our favorite resort of all the places we have tried in our 54 stays in Jamaica. We'll be back again in six months.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank avalongirl185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CouplesSocialMgr, Public Relations Manager at Couples Sans Souci, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear avalongirl185,

Thank you for your continued support of Couples Resorts. 12 times is indeed a lot and we are delighted that you have made it your home away from home. We are happy to know that you were not only able to enjoy our facilities at the resort but also outside and we hope to welcome you again soon for the 13th visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,711 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,656
    728
    213
    65
    49
See reviews for
40
3,261
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,249)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sw missouri
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

My husband and I recently returned from an anniversary trip to Couples San Souci, celebrating 37 years. We decided to try San Souci after going to Couples Swept Away twice, just because we wanted to try something different. I worked with Amy of Dreammakersvaca and she was wonderful. I warned her she would get very tired of my questions before she was done with me, but she was a consummate professional all the way and planned a great vacation for us. CSS was very different from CSA as far as the beach area was concerned, but you can't beat the great Couples experience and staff. I can't imagine a more pleasant place to have a massage than on the cliffs of the Caribbean and our couples massage was a special memory. Our meals were wonderful and we never had any trouble getting reservations at a time we requested. I especially enjoyed our breakfasts at Palazzina. This was mainly a "relaxing" vacation but we did venture off property one day to go to "The Blue Hole" with Orville, our taxi driver. It was an amazing, beautiful place showing us what the "real" Jamaica is like. Dillon was a wonderful host. We had a great time and wouldn't hesitate to return, hopefully soon. Also had a great time visiting with Cracker every time we went in and out of our room

Room Tip: I had requested an upper floor and they were able to accommodate us. We had a great room, A28 in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sunmama09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CouplesSocialMgr, Public Relations Manager at Couples Sans Souci, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear sunmama09,

We are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us.. Thank you for all the great Staff commendations and great to know you enjoyed our cliffside spa facilities. We look forward to hosting you again soon and I'm sure Crackers will be happy to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level Contributor
64 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

This was our third time to San Souci. We annually go to Jamaica and have been regulars at Grand Lido Negril. It had been 8 years since our last visit and first since Couples took ownership.
Let's say we fell back in love with an old friend.

We are especially pleased with the quality that Couples runs the resort. It maintains the beauty and ambiance of the old San Souci and Couples has invested in the property. The staff is wonderful and there are a lot of day time activities, yet you still have a relaxed atmosphere. I scuba and found a happy, helpful and safety minded crew. Everyone has an enjoyable experience. My wife likes the water aerobics and the mineral pool.

The food was good although an additional place to eat would help to provide more variety.

A good resort can be measured by repeat business. Here there are a large number of repeat guests and we are once again part of the San Souci family.

A word of advice, if you are a couple looking for a Jamaica resort - GO to Couples San Souci.

Room Tip: Part of the resort is very hilly. If you have problems with stairs stay beachfront.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hobogeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CouplesSocialMgr, Social Media Coordinator at Couples Sans Souci, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you for your review of Couples Sans Souci as well as your continued support. We do appreciate your feedback and appreciation of staff and are delighted to know that you had a great time. Our guests are very valuable to us and we are happy to know that you are able to recommend the resort to fellow vacationers.

As we continue to improve our offerings to you, we look forward to welcoming you home again soon for the fourth time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

I was in awe when I got to my room at couples san souci. The size of the room was amazing and the view from the patio was best described as breath taking. I had never been to an all inclusive resort before so wasn't sure what to expect and this place was beyond anything I could have even dreamt of. The food was amazing, the staff was phenomenal. And every guest you met was like an old friend you were getting reacquainted with. Between the beaches, the food, the games at the pool, and the excursions you are in heaven, always with a choice to keep busy or just relax on the beach and soak in the sunshine. If I had to describe the feeling you get at this resort I would have to say it felt like you were coming home not going to someplace new. You are treated like kings and queens all day long everyday it never sways. They bend over backwards to make sure your every need is met and taken care of from filling your refrigerator to turning down your bed each night. Your glass is never empty and there is so much food that if you go hungry its because you chose to go hungry. This was the first time we have been there but it defiantly won't be our last time, we are already in the planning stages of our next trip and bringing others with us.

Room Tip: If you don't like stairs I suggest you ask for one of the blocks closer to the pool like A, B, o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rhonda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CouplesSocialMgr, Public Relations Manager at Couples Sans Souci, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Rhonda N,

Great to know that on your first visit to the resort you felt at home and you are considering returning. We are always happy to host you and cant wait to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

We visited here in 2007, and we couldn't wait to return! We were celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary this time, and it was the first place we wanted to return to!! It is so comfortable, and everyone greets you with a smile and seems to enjoy their jobs! It's fun to connect to the employees who always seem to have time to talk or joke with us. Even Crackers, the parrot, talked with us daily!! We love the comfort and relaxation of Sunset Beach--it is so nice to be there among others who are like-minded and just want to relax. The entertainment staff kept things fun but they weren't too pushy! We were glad we brought Halloween costumes because we enjoyed that party as well. Having the open mini-bar in the room is fabulous, and it is so nice just to sit on the balcony overlooking the ocean with a drink that we were able to mix right there. We miss it already! We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BBH314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CouplesSocialMgr, Public Relations Manager at Couples Sans Souci, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear BBH314,

Congratulations on your Anniversary and thank you for choosing to spend it with us at Couples Resorts. We are pleased to know you enjoyed the staff and the celebrations at the resort and look forward to having you with us again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wahoo, Nebraska
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

We returned for our second trip to San Souci 10/18-10/28 and found that the second trip was just as amazing as the first trip and we were thrilled to hear "Welcome Home!"

The grounds are beautiful and the staff is so friendly and they make you feel so very welcome. We were pleased to see many of the same staff from last year and meet many of the new trainees this year. Evol, thank you for the warm welcome! Derron thanks for the cat ride, mon! We loved it! Vanya, we were so happy to see you in a regular uniform and we are very proud of you!

Sunset beach is our beach/pool of choice. When I heard that the grotto had to come down, I was worried, however, the change is very pleasing and makes the pool look and feel so much bigger. Thank you to the entertainment staff for the fun games....floatie races are an absolute riot! Veronique was our excellent bartender during our stay. When I was not sure what to order, I simply ordered a surprise. They were all very yummy! Samantha was our grill cook and did a fanstatic job! She introduced me to patties....YUM! Thank you for all of the 3pm french fries!

Courtney from Cassanova remembered our names everytime we saw him and he is an excellent server!

New trainees this year are all very friendly. CSS, PLEASE keep Davion and Raydean, they are both so very kind and respectful and really went out of their way to greet us and make sure all was Irie.

This year we met Juleen. OMG! What a wonderful voice! Juleen cleans the rest rooms on the resort and you can hear her singing away as she works. With encouragement, she will even sing to the group at the pool. With even more encouragement Lovell will join in. Wonderful and funny. Juleen, I believe in you!!

The food and service in all restaurants or grills is wonderful! The daily soups are amazing. I think my favorite this year was Cream of Callaloo...just can't wait to have it again!

On this visit, we enjoyed two couples massages in the hut over the ocean. One was in the morning and you could hear the birds and the waves below you. The second was late in the afternoon with an amazing sunset. Thank you to Mitzy and Marsha both times!

If you need anything in your room, or a ride somewhere, it is "no worries mon!" During our stay we received a couple of special surprises to our room... fruit and cheese plates and champagne, thank you so much! This resort really makes you feel like royalty!

Once again we stayed in a beachfront suite. Last year on the 3rd floor (views were amazing) this year on the ground floor. I think we enjoyed the ground floor as it was nice to walk out on our patio and be just a few steps from the beach...very nice!

We have already booked our return next year and the countdown is on! I admit that this resort is not about glitz and glamour, however, the grounds are breathtaking, the staff is amazing and the resort charming! Once you go, you will know! I have never been so relaxed!
October 2014 soon come!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CouplesSocialMgr, Public Relations Manager at Couples Sans Souci, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Jeanne W, It is great to hear how much you love our staff! We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your massage treatments and our food as well! We can't wait to have you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsville, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

From the minute we stepped on the property we were treated like celebrities. This resort and all of its staff were so friendly and helpful!! From the beautiful water to the delicious meals we had the time of our lives! It was every bit as beautiful as in the pictures. The advertisements accurately represent what services and environment that this provided. We will go back!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in a one bedroom beachfront suite and the location was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CouplesSocial, Public Relations Manager at Couples Sans Souci, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Angela F,

We are so glad to hear that you really enjoyed our services! We hope to see you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocho Rios
0.7 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#2 of 36 in Ocho Rios
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,200 reviews
1.9 mi away
Couples Tower Isle
Couples Tower Isle
#5 of 36 in Ocho Rios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,025 reviews
46.4 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
83.3 mi away
Couples Negril
Couples Negril
#9 of 84 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,183 reviews
83.7 mi away
Couples Swept Away
Couples Swept Away
#15 of 84 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,049 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sandals Ochi Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Couples Sans Souci? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Couples Sans Souci

Property: Couples Sans Souci
Address: Route A3, St-Mary | PO Box 103, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Ocho Rios
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ocho Rios
#4 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ocho Rios
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
#6 Family Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Couples Sans Souci 4.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the cliffs of Jamaica’s emerald coast above a dazzling stretch of Caribbean, Couples Sans Souci beckons you to surrender mind, body and soul. The resort's 'no worries' mantra comes to life as every day unfolds. Lose yourself exploring secluded stone pathways. Melt away stress in the healing natural mineral springs. Feel a rush of exhilaration scaling Dunn's River waterfalls. Or simply drift asleep in a hammock by the sea. Located in vibrant Ocho Rios, the resort's design pays tribute to an understated colonial elegance—intricate latticework, white woven furnishings and feathered palms set a refined stage for your island escape. Dining options abound—from authentic Jamaican fare to five-star international cuisine. Private cabanas at cliff's edge provide the ideal setting for our signature spa treatments, while the choice of resort activities knows no limits. Learn the art of living well while living in the moment at Couples Sans Souci. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Jetsetter, HotelsClick and Reservation Counter so you can book your Couples Sans Souci reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Couples Sans Souci Hotel Ocho Rios
Couples San Souci
Couples Sans Souci Ocho Rios
Couples Sans Souci Jamaica/Ocho Rios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing