We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not worth the trip”
Review of Couples Sans Souci

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Couples Sans Souci
Ranked #4 of 36 Hotels in Ocho Rios
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not worth the trip”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

I would give the resort maybe a 3 out of 5.
I will first say the staff is FABULOUS, the staff I would give a 5+! They work VERY hard, and are very engaging, trying to make you feel welcome. Not just a simple hello, but will stop to converse with you. I cannot say enough about the staff.
The resort itself is average. Food is average, nothing to write home about.
The rooms are clean, simple, average.
The beach however, is TERRIBLE. So if someone is looking for a vacation to relax on the beach, this is definitely NOT the place. It is the smallest beach I have ever seen. The bottom is mucky like a dirty lake, yuck (you really need to wear water shoes). That issue, I realize is something that cannot be controlled by the resort. But with no exaggeration, the area to swim is so small it is incredibly disappointing. There is no such thing as going for a walk on the beach, it is THAT short. We spent 95% of our time in the pools. Like I said, I cannot praise the staff enough, but I feel like it was a waste of time, travel and money, as I could have swam in any pool for a week, no need for a plane ride and a 90 minute bus ride to the resort :(
Lesson learned.

Next trip, I will be back to Aruba again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank leelaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSS_Operations_Mgr, Manager at Couples Sans Souci, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review Couples Sans Souci - and we certainly appreciate your compliments about our staff.

Of course, we were somewhat disappointed that you characterized our resort as average and the beach as terrible. We do recognize that tastes vary widely and our offerings are not ideally suited for everyone. Fortunately, many of our guests place a high value on the privacy that we can offer because our 600 feet of beachfront are enclosed in coves.

We hope that you will eventually reconsider your decision not to return to what we believe is the most diversely beautiful island in the Caribbean - even if you choose a different resort.

One love,

Nicholas Lynch
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,780 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,704
    744
    218
    65
    49
See reviews for
43
3,323
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,273)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

The Hisbiscus Suite, an upgrade from an ocean front suite was luxurious and wonderful. The privacy, filled mini-bar, Jacuzzi within the property, and veranda were just part of a real memorable anniversary. We also used the excellent spa services, exercise facilities, and enjoyed nightly entertainment. Food was adequate but not wonderful although the all-inclusive pricing was welcomed after leaving the Jamaica Inn where food and drink are priced at premium rates.
Staff here is also wonderful and appear to like their work.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alvinde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hammond, LA
Level Contributor
94 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I was on the fence about where and what place to book our honeymoon at, but after i had 2 separate couples we knew book here and loved it i decided to roll with it...

Landing in the airport was pretty standard, customs and what not. It was very nice being able to hang out in the couples area and have free draft beer (red stripe) and some finger foods until the bus arrived to take us to the resort. The only downside is the time it takes to get to and from the airport to the resort, was about 90 min from what i remember. But once you get there, its absolute paradise in every sense of the word!!!

Check in was a breeze, they helped us with our luggage to our penthouse suite (which actually was WAY too big, had 2 rooms and 2 baths, but whatever), and they offered a tour to get to know the grounds. From what we were told, there is something like only 75 rooms and seeing how it is only a resort for couples, there wont be more than 150 people there at any given time. Also, the resort wants 2 workers for every 1 guest, so they probably had about 300 people working there, and it really shows.

Pools were absolutely perfect, mineral pool was really cool and interesting, hot tubs all over the place and even one up above the mineral pool which was VERY private and awesome. The way the place is situated with the private beach, it is 100% private. Big mountains on both sides, so when they say private, it doesn't get any more private than this. And to make it even better, a little ways out on the beach was a reef which kept the waves coming in to perfect levels. Sand was raked all day every day, crystal clear water and perfect sand.

Food was top notch every time. Whether you ordered room service or visited one of the many restaurants, just amazing every time. At other all-inclusive resorts I have been to (and this one is all-inclusive if you didn't know) when you order drinks it may be lower end liquor. Not here!!! High end spirits all the time, whether you want Crown Royal, Bombay sapphire, McCallan scotch, they have it all!!!

The excursions they include in your package really take this place over the top. Snorkel, sailing, boat rides, and the best... SCUBA!!! Just make sure you sign up early for scuba as it fills up and they have a limited number of spots. They will take you in the main pool to teach you everything and make sure you will be safe, then off to scuba. One of the best times we had on our trip was doing that!!

They actually also have a nude beach, we ventured over there ready to give it a shot (when in Rome...) but decided not to once we got there. I won't comment further on that, if its your cup of tea, knock yourself out. My wife and I are both young and in shape and not ashamed in the least bit, but.... well you will see when you get there.

If there is a doubt in your mind, please feel confident booking this place. You will not be let down, just an absolutely amazing honey moon and we surely will be back again!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David5131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Just returned from 10 wonderful days in Jamaica at Couples San Souci. It was our 2nd year in a row. It was just as awesome as the first time. The service was impeccable, the staff great as always, and the accomodations and scenery wonderful. I can't say enough about this place, other than we will return again. It is a great place to relax, be romantic and take in the breathtaking views. Try it--you'll like it!!!!

Room Tip: Beach Front. Block A or B
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimi11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pooler, Georgia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

My husband and I always choose all-inclusive resorts, and this particular Couples did not disappoint. This was our first visit, and we got a lot more for our money than we have from some of the other places we have visited. Just some of the included activities are the glass bottom boat ride, several different non-motorized water sports, and one incredible trip to Dunn's River Falls.
First, we were bused to the front of the resort where the men identified our luggage while we ladies were taken inside to enjoy a glass of champagne as we filled out our check-in paperwork. Next we were shuttled to our suite, where our patio doors just happened to face the main beach and the pool with the swim-up bar.
Later we walked to the beach restaurant and bar. The menu there was limited, but the food was delicious! For breakfast the next morning (and every morning after), we went to the Pallazina. They offered everything from omelets (cooked by Edgar the Genius!), scrambled eggs and sides to a fantastic selection of fruits and breads to their special dish of Ackee and codfish. The daily fare also included various juices and champagne for mimosas. Like breakfast, lunch was served buffet-style, and was absolutely wonderful! We did not pack slacks and shoes for my husband, so we will have to wait until next time to try Casanova. Our patio was mostly hidden behind lush vegetation, and provided a nice quiet place to enjoy romantic dinners provided by room service.
The Balloon Bar offers entertainment five nights a week, including a Sing-A-Long on Saturday nights, the resident band performs and other events are held out by the pool. It is a long walk uphill to enjoy them, but is well worth the effort.
The trip to Dunn's River Falls was exhilarating! Guests get to walk up from the beach to the top of the falls with a guide and one very entertaining cameraman who takes video of everyone in the group. At one point our guide sends us down a slide, while at another our cameraman shoots us kissing as we fall backwards into a just deep enough pool. Near the top end, there is a waterfall under which you get to stand and enjoy. Whatever you do, don't miss this excursion!
For an extra fee, the ladies at the spa are very good at what they do. We were relaxed all day after receiving a hot stone couples massage in a private gazebo. After soaking in the hot tub, the mineral pool was wonderfully refreshing. They also have a Fitness Pavillion where they offer aerobics and yoga classes, as well as various exercise equipment.
Back at the swim-up bar, several of the guests participated in Scrabble and trivia tournaments, while others played volleyball in the pool. There are many activities at the au naturel beach and pool, but since it is not clothing optional, we opted to stay closer to our suite. We did take a morning stroll to the nude beach before anyone got there, and it is even more beautiful than the main beach at the hotel.
Guests can go to Margaritaville on Monday nights for some in-town nightlife, and take shopping trips on Tuesdays and Wednesdays. My husband was happy in the Harley Davidson store and I loved the jewelry stores. We had lots of fun finding things to bring home with us for our family and friends!
True, the furnishings are a little dated, but who cares? They are clean and comfortable with plenty of towels and pillows. There are slats next to the front door which are just slightly open and no screen on the bathroom window. The restroom was comfortably large with a separate tub and shower, as well as his and her sinks.
It wasn't till the end of our trip that we learned that we could have had a shuttle take us to the lobby, which was at the top of the hill. It's probably better that we had to walk off some of that fabulous food! However, it is much more convenient for anyone who has trouble walking uphill. This not a complaint, just something good to know.
Each day after our breakfast, we fed the turtles in the pond that was just outside our front door. We threw bread, and when the turtles missed, small fish would grab it. If they were lucky, they weren't swallowed by the always hungry pelicans! Usually we were joined by half a dozen ducks and one feisty blackbird that came close to eating the bread from my hand.
Tuesday evening was the Beach Buffet--beautiful! The food was delectable and the trees were beautifully lit for our enjoyment. Friday is usually the Starlight Gala Presentation, but they held it on Thursday evening (July 4), in honor of our Independence Day. They provided everything from roast pig to sushi to salad to dessert. All of the food was expertly and beautifully presented, and the service was (like always) top-notch. The entertainment staff danced the "Cotton-Eyed Joe", followed by the resident band, and then a special guest. It was the one time that the music was all American.
We met people from many different countries and ages ran from eighteen to eighty. We made some wonderful new friends with whom we exchanged information, and we look forward to seeing them again when we return to San Souci. The staff is the best I have ever encountered--everyone from the front desk to the housekeepers.
Sorry this is so long. There is just so much to tell--without telling everything! :)

Room Tip: Be careful not to leave any food sitting around. Tiny sugar ants will invade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Robert N Rebecc... W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bossier City, Louisiana
Level Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Stayed June 22-27. Our third trip to CSS and it gets better each time. Booked the beachfront suite but they upgraded us to a penthouse, the Angela Bassett. Beautiful views but our phone didn't work for two days even after we reported it on arrival. No big deal, but couldn't order room service for snacks upon returning from Beach before dinner. Water pressure was very low. In our opinion beachfront suites are much better. This resort is still our favorite and we will definitely keep returning each year.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CoachSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

The staff at Sans Souci is awesome, the most friendly staff of any resort we have ever been to by far. The beach is just okay, doesn't compare to SA. We had a couple of good meals and the rest were just average, not enough dining options……..but we still had a great time and would go back. Sunset Beach is beautiful

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brad N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocho Rios
0.7 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#2 of 36 in Ocho Rios
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,240 reviews
1.9 mi away
Couples Tower Isle
Couples Tower Isle
#5 of 36 in Ocho Rios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,076 reviews
46.5 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
83.3 mi away
Couples Negril
Couples Negril
#8 of 85 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,253 reviews
83.7 mi away
Couples Swept Away
Couples Swept Away
#14 of 85 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,125 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sandals Ochi Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Couples Sans Souci? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Couples Sans Souci

Property: Couples Sans Souci
Address: Route A3, St-Mary | PO Box 103, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Ocho Rios
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ocho Rios
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ocho Rios
#4 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
#6 Family Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Couples Sans Souci 4.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the cliffs of Jamaica’s emerald coast above a dazzling stretch of Caribbean, Couples Sans Souci beckons you to surrender mind, body and soul. The resort's 'no worries' mantra comes to life as every day unfolds. Lose yourself exploring secluded stone pathways. Melt away stress in the healing natural mineral springs. Feel a rush of exhilaration scaling Dunn's River waterfalls. Or simply drift asleep in a hammock by the sea. Located in vibrant Ocho Rios, the resort's design pays tribute to an understated colonial elegance—intricate latticework, white woven furnishings and feathered palms set a refined stage for your island escape. Dining options abound—from authentic Jamaican fare to five-star international cuisine. Private cabanas at cliff's edge provide the ideal setting for our signature spa treatments, while the choice of resort activities knows no limits. Learn the art of living well while living in the moment at Couples Sans Souci. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, TravelUp, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Couples Sans Souci reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Couples Sans Souci Hotel Ocho Rios
Couples San Souci
Couples Sans Souci Ocho Rios
Couples Sans Souci Jamaica/Ocho Rios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing