We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great vacation!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Couples Sans Souci

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Couples Sans Souci
Ranked #4 of 39 Hotels in Ocho Rios
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great vacation!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We just spent 9 nights at San Souci and had a great time. Our room was in the D building on the 2nd floor, with views of the ocean as well as the resort. Great room! I didn't mind the steps at all, but considered them daily exercise:) We enjoyed the water activities and took advantage of them almost daily. The beach is relaxing with plenty of shade and drink service. The food was good, but I would have liked to have seen a little more variety on the daily buffets. Still didn't keep me from gaining a pound or two! The staff is sincerely kind, helpful, courteous and pleasant. Although we met and enjoyed so many staff members, we'd like to give a shout out to: Monique, Alicia, Antoy, Massel, Connie. Leon, Patrick, Barrington, Derron, Lorenzo, Brian, Crystal, Maureen, Marva. The ones I didn't mention was just because I don't remember their names. All staff members did a great job! I found this resort to be very clean and safe, and has a happy and relaxing attitude. Rooms were very clean as well. Between the wonderful staff and great resort, our chances of returning to San Souci are very high.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maureen75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,469
    669
    197
    64
    46
See reviews for
38
3,013
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,143)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

This review is long overdue. My boyfriend and I stayed at Couples Sans Souci in September 2012 for 8 nights. We are in our early thirties and not big on the party scene and we got exactly what we were hoping for- relaxation, nature, good food, and spectacular service. This is the place to go if you are looking for these things. There is a mixed crowd ranging from mid-twenties and up. Be prepared for a lot of stairs and a good amount of walking when exploring the resort. There are many hidden jacuzzis and romantic spots, so exploring is a must. The best part of this trip was the service. The employees go above and beyond to ensure every guest is well taken care of and happy. We never had a bad meal and there are many dining options, keep in mind dinner reservations are required for some restaurants. We stayed in B block with a great ocean view. The rooms are dated but extremely clean and spacious - this was not an issue for us as everything else far surpassed our expectations. There are many watersports included, and we were never bored. We went on a couple of excursions and always felt safe. The spa was incredible and we highly recommend a massage in one of the secluded bungalows. The mineral pool was relaxing and a good place to enjoy a fresh juice from the juice bar. The beach is private and there are a couple of vendors that are set-up daily, but they never harassed anyone as far as we could tell. We did a private dinner in the wedding gazebo which was a great expletive but this area is in the heart of lush plants and trees so the bugs do come out at night. We would choose a dinner on the beach next time. Tipping truly isn't allowed and they do not want guests to feel obligated or that service will be compromised if you don't tip, but on our last day we discreetly slipped some tips to those who went above and beyond. There is a pond where you can find turtles, birds, and other wildlife. Be sure to take some bread to feed them. There is a blind bird who lives at the pond. If you feed him please extend it to his mouth or he won't be able to find it. There is not one thing we can complain about with this resort, not even the out dated rooms which was something I thought would be. I'm glad I didnt let that prevent us from choosing Couples Sans Souci. We will return to this resort without a doubt.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cariboo619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

This was our fourth stay and the best to date. All the staff are amazing, they make us feel like family. We had the pleasure of watching the staff soccer tournament which was amazing. The Dive team are special, I did my advanced open water with Patrick and Leon and they made it so much fun. Every time I dive with these guy's I feel more confident and they help me become a better diver.
The resort grounds are a lush tropical paradise with amazing views and wildlife everywhere.
Rooms are old but very clean and well kept, adds to the charm of the place.
The resort was at full capacity but you would not even know it.
Food and drink was excellent as always.
We did get worried when we saw negative reviews just after Hurricane Sandy but these were unfounded - we think the staff and resort management try to improve all the time.
Thanks for welcoming us home!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dbhavh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed from May 6 to May 13 and EVERYDAY was PERFECT! The people, the beach, the food, the drinks, the rooms, the service, the activities, the scenery, the weather....I could go on forever.
This was our first trip and we went back and forth for months trying to decide where to go and our friends mentioned Sans Souci. They promise we would not be disappointed and guaranteed we would be hooked going forward. They were 110% right! We already can't wait to return.
This is a very special place almost magical. There were so many times my husband and I just stood/sat/laid there not even saying a word because we were so mesmerized by our surroundings.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeandMelissa4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st leonards on sea
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Perfect holiday for couples. The resort is set in a lovely quiet bay together with lovely gardens. Its perfect for a relaxing time with your partner. Rooms are spacious and kept spotless by the staff. All the restaurants serve excellent food and again the staff are really helpful nothing is too much trouble. One evening we had a top notch a' al carte meal in Casanova restaurant, watched a professional show and drank champagne all evening it was heaven on earth. The Gala night and the Beach Barbecue were both fun filled and entertaining. If you do want to do an activity instead of lying on a beautiful sandy beach there is always the water sports and the daily fun quiz.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theresa s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linville, North Carolina, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

My husband and I could not have had a better honeymoon than the one we had at Couples San Souci. We really enjoyed our 7 days and 8 nights there!
The main beach is beautiful and was relatively quiet while we were there. It was so nice to have access to so many different water activities if we wanted to do them. The bar service on the beach was also incredible and so pampering.
We went to the nude beach twice in the evening for sunset. Folks in clothes can go there every night at 6 to view the sunset. I would recommend that every one do this at least once. That beach is BEAUTIFUL. It's actually a bit nicer than the main beach when it comes to the surrounding scenery and the deepness of the water.
We LOVED the grounds. We loved the lushness of the place and the landscape. All of the trees made it feel so hidden and it was neat to discover hidden hammocks, hot tubs, and quiet areas.
We stayed in the D Block which was great. It's perched up above the main beach and behind some trees. I've seen some of the comments about the rooms needing to be updated. My husband and I don't really agree with this at all. The rooms are not extremely fancy but there was NOTHING wrong with them. The shower in our bathroom was incredible and both it and our balcony had a great view looking through some palm trees at the beach. The rooms are CLEAN. The cleaning staff was great and really cleaned the room each day. Even the person that came in the evening to do turn-down took the time to tidy up our bathroom towels.
I can't say enough about this place. We had 99% great interactions with staff. We especially loved our afternoon chats with Joel who worked at the smoothie bar at the mineral pool. He was such a kind and gentle person.
We did take part in the Starlight Gala and Beach Party. The food at these events were great. There was enough seating that you could sit with others and make friends if you wanted to or you could sit on your own and just enjoy each other's company. This was definitely a plus for the entire resort, it seemed like some couples were there to meet other people but that wasn't forced upon you. We had a great time just being with each other and never really felt forced into any situations.
We did do the trip to Dunn's River Falls. The shuttle driver that took us from the resort was great and talked to the group before we got off the bus at the Falls about who and what we would encounter and who would ask for a tip and who it was really customary to give a tip. This was a lifesaver. We were definitely prepared for the guides asking for tips at the end and for the little craft village that you have to walk through to leave. With the knowledge that the driver gave us we were able to navigate it all well. Without that it would have been a bit overwhelming.
The resort knew that we were there on our honeymoon and sent champagne and a cheese tray to our room on the second night. We also got a couples massage after we showed them proof of our marriage. This was all wonderful!
The food at the resort was incredible. We ate at all the restaurants and would encourage everyone to make a reservation and eat at the fanciest restaurant at least once. The food was heavenly!
Really! I can't say anything bad about this place. It was a great honeymoon spot and it was so hard to leave at the end of our week!

Room Tip: The D block was great. It was up above the main beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LandisTaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We recently spent five nights at Couples Sans Souci for our honeymoon and were completely blown away. I had done a ton of research before going and literally checked TripAdvisor and the Couples Message Boards daily in anticipation. We went down with incredibly high standards that were far exceeded.

The flight down was just over two hours from CLT. We took the first flight of the day and only had about a 3 minute wait in immigration, baggage claim was also incredibly quick. We were over in the Couples Lounge about 15 minutes after we arrived. If you do not have an international calling plan, be sure to leave your phone on airplane mode and turn your data off. Verizon was kind enough to send a text message with the calling rates and data rates... holy moly they were high! The Couples Lounge has free wifi so you can email family when you arrive (or check into work if you have to!) We got a Red Stripe to cool down and waited about 20 minutes until the shuttle was ready. The ride to Ochos Rios was just under two hours but we did hit a rest stop on the way. The road is only two lanes so with morning traffic in Jamaica, the trip took longer than most reviews I had seen. We finally arrived in paradise around noon local time.

The view from the lobby is absolutely beautiful that you don't mind waiting for a room. We were told that check in is at 4pm but they will do everything to get us in a room quickly and escorted us to the beach bar for lunch while we waited. Being painfully fair skinned, I could not sit outside for very long and we ended up back in the lobby around 1:00. We waited until 3:30 for our room, which initially was a complete disappointment. The room was small compared the pictures I had seen and our "ocean view" was actually just foliage and other buildings (in the D block). I called the front desk and asked for a room change and by 4:30 we were over in G block in G16. Even though we were a little agitated with the long wait, once we saw the room, we had no more worries! There was a huge balcony with a double chaise lounge and a table for two. Inside, we had a full couch, arm chair, dining table for four, mini bar and dresser with a huge bathroom (and double vanity) separating the bedroom, which had a huge king bed, another dresser, and another arm chair. Our bedroom view was of the cliffside jungle which was perfectly quiet even with all of the loud entertainment by the lobby.

The resort is indescribably beautiful. You literally can take a path around the resort and not see a single other couple. Up by G block, it is very quiet during the day with the spa huts so close. The beaches were raked every morning so there was never seaweed washed ashore. There are a ton of people that reserve chairs with towels at 6am, but on the AN side, it was always easy to find chairs under a palapa or shade tree. At night, we could here the entertainment from our balcony while enjoying room service dinner. The food was delicious, we did not have a bad meal the entire trip. We never made it to Plazzina for dinner or lunch (even though we had a reservation) but the breakfast there was delicious. Even the beach grill for dinner had amazing food with superb presentation. The alcohol is also very plentiful. I've heard of AI resorts watering down the liquor to cut costs....definitely not here. They pour heavy so be aware when you get there! At our first lunch, my husband ordered a rum and coke which was all rum, dash of coke. We had to switch over to fruity island drinks to handle it! There is premium liquor available but don't expect the entire liquor store from back home. The AN bar had the least premium and the balloon bar had the most.

If you're on the fence about going, stop thinking about it and book this resort. As soon as we returned home, we started looking into booking a vow renewal for next year. The staff is truly wonderful and care about your experience, and the wonderful friends you will make in the guests will make it difficult to leave, but easy to go back!

Room Tip: G Block has amazing views of the bay and is great for sunset dinners!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank gabeandanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocho Rios
0.7 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#2 of 39 in Ocho Rios
5.0 of 5 stars 1,108 reviews
83.3 mi away
Couples Negril
Couples Negril
#8 of 87 in Negril
4.5 of 5 stars 3,977 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sandals Ochi Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
46.4 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
1.9 mi away
Couples Tower Isle
Couples Tower Isle
#5 of 39 in Ocho Rios
4.5 of 5 stars 2,844 reviews
6.4 mi away
Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Couples Sans Souci? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Couples Sans Souci

Property: Couples Sans Souci
Address: Route A3, St-Mary | PO Box 103, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Ocho Rios
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ocho Rios
#4 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ocho Rios
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
#7 Family Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Couples Sans Souci 4.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the cliffs of Jamaica’s emerald coast above a dazzling stretch of Caribbean, Couples Sans Souci beckons you to surrender mind, body and soul. The resort's 'no worries' mantra comes to life as every day unfolds. Lose yourself exploring secluded stone pathways. Melt away stress in the healing natural mineral springs. Feel a rush of exhilaration scaling Dunn's River waterfalls. Or simply drift asleep in a hammock by the sea. Located in vibrant Ocho Rios, the resort's design pays tribute to an understated colonial elegance—intricate latticework, white woven furnishings and feathered palms set a refined stage for your island escape. Dining options abound—from authentic Jamaican fare to five-star international cuisine. Private cabanas at cliff's edge provide the ideal setting for our signature spa treatments, while the choice of resort activities knows no limits. Learn the art of living well while living in the moment at Couples Sans Souci. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Odigeo, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Couples Sans Souci reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Couples Sans Souci Hotel Ocho Rios
Couples San Souci
Couples Sans Souci Ocho Rios
Couples Sans Souci Jamaica/Ocho Rios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing