We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Time in a Wonderful Place”
Review of Couples Sans Souci

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Couples Sans Souci
Ranked #3 of 35 Hotels in Ocho Rios
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We spent all our beach/pool time at the nude (not clothing optional) side. Beautiful setting with swim up bar, entertainment and games, extremely friendly staff. We have gone there at the same time for the last three years and made friends who also come back. Makes for a lot of laughs and familiarity. Food was very good, and served at the nude pool for us. Weather was ideal every day. Plenty to do if you are not too tired to do it. There are three all-guest dinners each week, plus a dinner for repeat guests, all of which were delicious. The bar tenders were very accommodating in making frosted fruity drinks for those that wanted them, and they also poured Black Label Scotch and Grand Marnier brandy. We had a huge room with an equally large balcony. and a large living room.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Buzz R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,984)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,137 - 2,143 of 3,984 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2013

I tend only to write reviews of places which I think merit 5 stars. I feel that unless a place is really terrible then I should just keep silent.
This is the third Couples Resort we have been to and I felt it was the best. At Tower Isle the selection of food in the restaurant at breakfast and lunch was better but the buffet restaurant for some reason amplifies sounds, giving the noisy atmosphere of a school canteen. This contrasted with the relaxing atmosphere of Sans Souci.
The beach at Negril was really unbeatable but it was public. The beaches at Sans Souci were small but more private..
People have been critical of the stairs at Sans Souci. If you have a physical handicap this might be a problem but there is transport available for those who can't make the journey. If you consider yourself to be able bodied and the stairs are a factor then you should give serious consideration to your physical fitness. My wife and I are 64 and I certainly would not consider the stairs as a hazard or a problem - indeed they help with fitness and the hilly location provides great views from many vantage points. We stayed in Carnation which was a few steps below the Balloon Bar. The first night we were a bit worried that there would be noise from the bar but this proved not to be the case, although it might be for those very early bedders. Being from Europe we are always amazed how few North Americans are still partying after 11pm.
Now things that make Sans Souci special:
The very relaxing atmosphere in the whole resort.
The amazing staff. Nothing is too much bother and always a smile. Even the gardeners have a nice word to say.
The lake and wild life with exotic birds, turtles and pelicans diving into the water. Cracker and Anita the parrots who got to know us well.
The wonderful people we met from England, Canada and USA.
The Balloon Bar where the staff were simply outstanding. Always laughing and I never waited more than 10 seconds to be served. They also do the best Bob Marleys ever.
The Casanova where the food was excellent and the piano was a great touch.
The fact that you can book any restaurant any time without limit.
The mineral pool where you can have a relaxing soak or do water exercise at 11am.
The little nooks and crannies all over with occasional hammocks, views and even a jacuzzi in amongst jungle.
The watersports team who were always so helpful and remembered everyone's name.
Other observations:
Our suite had two distinct rooms. One had Settee and armchairs, table and chairs, sideboard with fridge and bar etc. and a flat screen TV. The other had large bed, en suite bathroom with double basin. The shower was very good but in the bath with a shower curtain. There was a small balcony which was not big enough to sit out on.
I see a lot of complaints that the rooms are outdated but the whole place has a relaxed colonial feel and we felt that the only thing that could have improved our accommodation would have been a walk in shower and perhaps a larger balcony but when you consider that we had a full suite with our own bar for the basic price then the value and comfort were exceptional.
We loved the parrots but we would like to have seen information on their cages about names, age, sex and types of parrots and whether they bite. These creatures crave attention and I think more people would pay them a visit if there was more information.
We met the general manager Pierre and found him to be charming. We later heard from another guest that his wife has been very ill. He must have been very stressed but no one would have known. We wish them all the very best and hope for a good outcome.
A small note for Brits only and nothing to do with Sans Souci:
We have been to the Caribbean 11 times, each time for 2 weeks. This is the first time we have flown with Virgin mainly because we normally fly from Manchester. We have never had anything to complain about in the past but Virgin flights were that bit special.
The bottom line is: would we go back? YEAH MON TOMORROW!

Room Tip: A and B Beach level. C, D and E reception level. F and G great views. We will ask for F or G next ti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DougieandLorna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Absolutely amazing. Our standard room was huge. Amazing food, beautiful location, amazing staff. Arranged safe transport for wherever we wanted to go. The value was outstanding. We paid the same amount for a cruise 2 years ago and stayed half the length of the time & in a tiny cabin.
Our wedding on the beach was perfect, I wouldn't have changed a thing!
The staff went out of the way to accommodate us, watersports is amazing here.
I would recommend anyone here. We talked to several other couples on the shuttles who were staying at a Sandals resort (there were several close) and they weren't as happy with their resort as we were.
I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank leostoddlerdawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Not a care in the world. This all-inclusive resort is true to its name. We spent three glorious days at this Ocho Rios hotel de-stressing. The hotel’s Jamaican Georgian-inspired architecture encourages one to dream of an elegance of times past while enjoying modern amenities in a beach setting second to none. Hotel colors and décor reflect the seaside – sand, sea, sky. The beach, which stretches along the entire width of the hotel, is dotted with coconut palms at the shoreline; tiki huts offer welcoming shade for the guest who wants to lie back and perhaps read or drowse. Green lawns snake back past a pool to the 3-storey hotel blocks, and forest trees offer a superb backdrop to this idyllic setting.
Idle away the hours in a hammock for two, sip a rum punch at the beach bar, loaf in the sea on a li-lo, cool out in the air-conditioned comfort of your capacious suite while the ceiling fan whirrs away on indolent, whatever you like. Even the two ever-present cats stretching languidly in the flowerbed outside the Palazzina restaurant couldn’t be bothered to sit up and beg for a morsel. Take an afternoon break on your verandah overlooking the blue Caribbean and enjoy the psshh, psshh of the waves breaking softly on the beach below.
For those who want a more athletic experience, climb the winding stone steps from the beach restaurants up to the Casanova restaurant and the Balloon Bar on the upper deck of the hotel. That’ll get you ready for a cool drink. Or take a bike from the bike rack behind the A block of rooms and ride around the pond back there. Have an adventure on the nude beach if that’s your interest. Or go play volleyball in the pool down near the beach.
The best deal is the food at this hotel. Menu selection one night at the Casanova restaurant included beef tenderloin, rack of lamb, roasted tomatoes and crab bisque, the Palazzina restaurant provides expansive buffet breakfasts and lunches, and we liked the cool vibes of the Bella Vista Restaurant down on the beach where their specialty pizzas were great. I consider Sans Souci’s mouth-watering desserts to be the best in the Caribbean. But don’t spoil your figures by overdoing it.

Room Tip: If you want to be down at the beach ask for a room in the A or B blocks. G block's attraction i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Margueriite L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We absolutely loved this resort and all of the people associated with it! From the time we arrived on the property we felt welcomed and were treated like we were a part of the family. There were several people that we met that were returning guests that had also checked out the other couples resorts and they said Sans Souci is the best! There are plenty of activities the resort provides like scuba and snorkeling as well as Dunn's River Falls. We were there for 10 days and never got bored. The spa is great as well as the nightly entertainment! Can't say enough about this resort we will definitely go back!

Room Tip: Our room was on the 2nd floor and it faced the main beach, we loved it and we had a beautiful view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Joy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We have been to this resort 8 times. We have never been disappointed. The staff are great, the food is fantastic. There is always a great salad bar which would suffice on its own. We like to dive and although these aren't great dive sites, the dive teams have always been good. Couples could invest in a new dive boat. We have stayed in both the beachfront suites and the older veranda suites. We actually prefer the older veranda suites. They are more spacious and often have 2 bathrooms and a walk-in shower. Lots of room to spread out. The balconys are large and great when its raining. The grounds are beautiful. Entertainment has always been good. We never hesitate to return to this resort.

Room Tip: Prefer the veranda suites or a penthouse. If you don't like your room, management have always a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sherry626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We stayed at Sans Souci from April 15-18. Our trip was cut short due to having to go to a different resort for a wedding. From the minute we left, we missed everything about Couples. The staff go out of their way to make you feel welcomed and taken care of from the minute you find the Couples lounge at the airport. The resort was full on these dates but never crowded- very romantic but yet if you were looking for people to chat with, they were there too. The couples we did run into were friendly and of all ages. The food was great, even the buffet-- good luck picking one dessert, they were delectable! We stayed in G9 which was beautiful with a huge balcony. The only thing at this resort that could possibly be a downfall were all the stairs. We loved the layout (we are in our late 20's)- while exploring the resort you never knew if you were going to run into a secluded hot tub or hammock, it was just whimsical. The drinks at the beach bar were always tasty and the bartenders did a great job helping you pick what to try next. Top shelf alcohol and not watered down like other places we have stayed. I would never stay at any resort besides a Couples in Jamaica- it's a totally different vacation at Couples. We are already planning our next trip and want to try out Swept Away but it's going to be hard not to return to San Souci.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Jena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocho Rios
0.7 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#1 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,334 reviews
1.9 mi away
Couples Tower Isle
Couples Tower Isle
#4 of 35 in Ocho Rios
3,182 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sandals Ochi Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
53.7 mi away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
83.4 mi away
Couples Negril
Couples Negril
#8 of 80 in Negril
4,397 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sandals Royal Plantation
Sandals Royal Plantation
#2 of 35 in Ocho Rios
2,627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Couples Sans Souci? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Couples Sans Souci

Address: Route A3, St-Mary | PO Box 103, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Ocho Rios
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ocho Rios
#3 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ocho Rios
#5 Family Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range: $365 - $765 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Couples Sans Souci 4.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the cliffs of Jamaica’s emerald coast above a dazzling stretch of Caribbean, Couples Sans Souci beckons you to surrender mind, body and soul. The resort's 'no worries' mantra comes to life as every day unfolds. Lose yourself exploring secluded stone pathways. Melt away stress in the healing natural mineral springs. Feel a rush of exhilaration scaling Dunn's River waterfalls. Or simply drift asleep in a hammock by the sea. Located in vibrant Ocho Rios, the resort's design pays tribute to an understated colonial elegance—intricate latticework, white woven furnishings and feathered palms set a refined stage for your island escape. Dining options abound—from authentic Jamaican fare to five-star international cuisine. Private cabanas at cliff's edge provide the ideal setting for our signature spa treatments, while the choice of resort activities knows no limits. Learn the art of living well while living in the moment at Couples Sans Souci. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Couples Sans Souci reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Couples Sans Souci Hotel Ocho Rios
Couples San Souci
Couples Sans Souci Ocho Rios
Couples Sans Souci Jamaica/Ocho Rios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing