We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Amazing Couples Vacation!”
Review of Couples Sans Souci

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Couples Sans Souci
Ranked #4 of 35 Hotels in Ocho Rios
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed at San Souci April 6-13. It was a wonderful and relaxing vacation! We only had to wait for a bus for about 5 minutes after we checked in at the Couples Lounge in the airport. The bus ride was uneventful and the bus seemed brand new. Our driver pointed out where we were and various points of interest along the way. Once we got to San Souci about an hour and 45 minutes later we were warmly greeted by Kevin and Evol who of course were wonderful! The champagne and cold cloth were very welcome!

The front desk staff was also very pleasant and helpful. Our room was not ready yet (it was early) so we went off to Palazina for lunch. After that we came back and had only a few minutes wait to be sent to our new home for a week: Penthouse E-11. It was amazingly beautiful. We found beautiful towel art with flowers when we entered which is always a nice touch. It had a big bedroom with a huge closet. A small bathroom with a tub/shower combo that was totally functional for our needs. The living room was also large with a couch, chairs and a table and chairs you could dine at. There was a flat screen TV in both the living and bedrooms. There was a small “bar room” we called it where the mini bar was and there was a sink and cabinets. The balcony was beautiful with a table and four chairs as well as two loungers and an amazing view of the sea. We were basically over the fitness pavilion and two rooms over from the balloon bar terrace. At night we could definitely hear the entertainment, but it didn’t bother us at all.

Housekeeping was wonderful as on our previous trips (one to San Souci and two to Tower Isle). Did the furniture seem dated? Yes – but was it beat up or somehow tattered or unsightly? Not in the slightest.

The food was excellent. The first night we dined at Bella Vista. This was a wonderful meal with equally excellent service. It’s really nice eating right on the beach and the menu was great. I don’t eat red meat or pork so when I have multiple choices I’m in heaven! That seemed to be the case all week! We dined at Casanova another night and Palazina as well. I’m not sure which I enjoyed most. All were excellent and the service is just never anything but wonderful. Milton at Palazina and Nicola at Casanova were particularly excellent. We also ate at the repeaters dinner which was a great experience. I’ve heard some concern about it being a “buffet” but it definitely is not Golden Corral. You do have to get up to get your entrée and sides, but everything else (appetizer, soup, salad and dessert) is served to you in such a way that you’d have to be crazy to call it a “just a buffet”!

We did a private dinner on the beach which was well worth the cost. It’s nice to have an occasion (our 10th anniversary) and be able to celebrate in such a special way. We are not much on the big buffets so we made our own private dinners in our room two nights on the balcony with room service –also very romantic! Again – service and food quality all excellent. We ate like royalty all week! For breakfast we did Palazina every day except our last day where we did room service. It was always good and I never ran short of things to try! For lunch we either ate at Palazina or the Sunset Beach grill which had an awesome selection – much better than the last time we were here.

We didn’t do much in the way of activities because either we’d already done them or we were simply too lazy. Our goal for this vacation was to relax! The beaches were beautiful. The main beach beats sunset beach for lack of rocks, but both were beautiful to lie on and I thought the swimming areas on both were a good size. The pools were wonderful as well; I loved the one at sunset beach and the mineral pool. While some people did get up very early to reserve chairs at both the beaches and the pool (then not bother to use them till noon or later) they were in the minority and we were always able to find a nice place in the shade wherever we wanted to sit, floatie included.

The bars were all great. Love the blue flag service on the main beach – that needs to be extended everywhere – it’s wonderful!! The bartenders are really great, never a shortage of top shelf or a skimpy drink to be had.

The spa was also a highlight of our trip. We had a 25 minute couples massage that came with a Romance package which was wonderful, we also had a reflexology foot massage and a 50 minute aromatherapy couples massage that was amazing on our last day. The spa staff was great, we had the same therapists for everything.

Tipping always seems to come up so let me address that. We left small gifts for housekeeping (bath & body works items and chocolates) but never tipped. That didn’t change the level of service, the type of liquor we got or the amazing time that we had. We were treated like royalty and didn’t see others receive more or less service.

Overall it was an amazing, relaxing trip and I can’t wait to do it again. I’d absolutely return to San Souci. The only reason I wouldn’t would be if I wanted to explore another Couples property!

Room Tip: The farther towards G Block the better the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,927)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,109 - 2,115 of 3,928 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this resort for 10 days. We have stayed at a number of all inclusive and we have to say that this was our best vacation ever. The food was terrific! The staff was great! The grounds were absolutely beautiful! Our room was a beach front and although it was a bit dated, it was large and clean. We loved the location as it was very close to our favorite spot on beach. The activities and excursions include that we chose to do with this resort were great! The a la carte restaurants which we normally don't care for were delicious! All the chairs on the beach had a great beach mattress so they were so comfortable! You could even take them in the water and float around if you wanted too. The grounds are just beautiful, so many beautiful spots to walk around and enjoy! We were asked when we arrived if we were celebrating anything while we were there, which we were. They send a bottle of champagne and a fruit platter to our room. Entertainment was great! The work that went into setting up for the Friday evening gala was incredible and beautiful! We will most certainly return to this resort again!

Room Tip: Beach front rooms were close to everything so if you don't like walking and stairs this is a goo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sunshine123155023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We stayed at the resort march 28- April 4th. Being the first time to a couples resort I was expecting more along the line of a sandals resort which I have been at 4 of their resorts.
The food was good a large variety so even a picky eater would not have a problem finding something to eat. The homemade bread and buns were the best! The reserved dinners were exceptional. Food overall was good.
We had a ocean view suite G13 it was ok nothing special but clean so that is all that matters. They decided to start painting our hallway and stairwell 2 days before we left which was annoying for the paint smell started to come into the room.
We never once got any flowers or towel animals on our bed or in our room, which is something sandals resorts make a point of doing. This did not bother me it is just a point I wanted to add.
The grounds are well kept and yes stairs and more stairs which I loved! The stairs did not bother me for it was nice to walk up and down them on way to beach.
Au Natural beach was nice but you could not go into ocean to swim like the main beach for it was very rocky. The pool and swim up bar was nice,
Mineral pool was my favorite and spent the rainy days there being right down from our room.
The spa was good we enjoyed a massage and Thelma and Martha were great, managed to get the knots out.
Drinks were good. Like many comments it was hard to get any other kind of vodka only local was presented.
Met some great people from Ontario and Ohio.
Tuesday beach night was the best with the entertainment and food.
Would not return to this resort not because of anything in particular just have been there done that and now got the tshirt.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
5  Thank Oilsandsgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Dave and I (Wendie) have been to Jamaica 14 times and have stayed at numerous resorts in Montego Bay, Negril and Ochio Rios. We have found our home at Couples San Souci. From the Couples lounge at the airport, to a bus just stopping at Couples Resorts to the final destination, we have always been treated with VIP service. The eco environment at Couples San Souci is fabulous, wherever you go on the resort. We have been to Couples San Souci for the third time, and walked the opposite way around the resort, and got pictures that we’ve never gotten before. The views are breath-taking. The early morning walks around the pond are peaceful and a nature lovers dream. The meals and pastries are amazing at all 3 restaurants. If you can’t find something wonderful to eat, just look again! Couples tries to use fresh fruits and vegetable from Jamaica. All old and new employees go out of their way to help you in everyway. Some shout-outs this time March 30 to April 6, 2013 are Oshain (new) at Plazanine Restaurant who gave outstanding, polite, attentive service without making you feel that you are being watched, Stephanie at Plazanine Restaurant at the lunch outside food station happy to see her again (congrats on new baby girl), Donette at Plazanine Restaurant for great waitress service again and Brian(Tall) at Belle Vista Bar for the best Mojito’s ever. The saxophone player is fantastic and we wish he would play around the resort every afternoon and for longer. Entertainment staff are all good. If I could just say, that I and my husband wish they would play more reggae, as we our big Bob Marley fans, but realize that you must try to please everyone. The returns dinner was fabulous and we really liked that each table sits with a prominent San Souci staff member, which allows you to ask questions that you might not otherwise get the chance to ask. We are always surprised at the amount years some have been coming to San Souci. We wish we’d known about Couples San Souci sooner. It’s become our home away from home! Our beachfront room is great! We prefer B Block to A, but no complaints with either. If I have any suggestion, get off the resort and see Jamaica and mingle with the people. Suggestions: Bob Marley Museum in Kingston and Nine-Mile where he’s layed to rest, Fire Fly Museum, former home of British Playwright Noel Coward(view is spectacular), Green Grato Caves, climb Dunn’s River Falls in Ochio Rios. If you’re in Negril Rick’s Café, Y&S falls, Black River Safari and Appleton Rum Factory. Montego Bay: Martha Brae Bamboo Rafting, John Hall Plantation….. Make sure you try the beef or chicken patties! Counting the days till we can return….

Room Tip: Beachfront A Block close to everything
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Iam007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

This was our 2nd. trip to Sans Souci. We were there 2/2 for 9 days. The food and drinks are great and plentiful. The grounds are beautiful. The rooms are clean and comfortable. We did see a little decline in service this time. That being said, if it was our first time, we would have thought it was pretty perfect. We have already booked for September - so excited. There is something so special about this property that is hard to pin point it. If you want a relaxing vacation, with great food/drinks/staff, this is it. If you want a party atmosphere, this is not your place. Marble and tile rooms/lobby/restaurants? Not it either. Sans Souci has a very non-generic - caribbean feel - foliage/wood/deco.

Room Tip: Love the beach front rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank katie3876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

This is the place to be. Friendly staff, lovely food, nice rooms and an overall wonderful experience. This was our very first trip to CSS and we loved it immensely and we will definitely be back. However going through these review I must disagree with most of these comments. Vacations are for enjoyment not mere criticism and accusations.

Looking at the review "To Tip or not to tip" was very disturbing and if I didn't come to CSS and experience the love of the people and the resort I would probably divert to another property. My spouse and I had a great time and to me that's all that matters.

Room Tip: Anywhere on the G block is good but, top floor gives u a good veiw.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rain F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

being our first Couples vacation, and having done our research, we were pleased beyond our expectations, at this exclusive resort. We requested a room change to a higher floor, and the next morning they contacted us with good news. I was expecting an all day drag out to move rooms, in Jamaican time, but our room move was all accomplished within 30 minutes. We were places in the Azalea block room A34 and the view and location to the beach and the lovely green space and pond was just what suited us. An early morning bike ride around the tranquil pond, stopping for a morning Hello! With the parrot, and hugging the 100 year old + cotton tree all the while marveling at the magnificent wildlife around.

The grounds were well kept. The mineral pool and smoothie bar was our favorite. Pristine with awe inspiring views and the best Mediterranean snack plate and home made sweet potatoe chips! (Not to mention the awesome cookie plate). The pool by the beach bar was not regularly skimmed and late in the week there was a gathering of unsightly suntan oil floating. Lots of daytime activities to keep you entertained. music level was just the right beat and volume and staff were open to ideas.

Don't let the stairs scare you off. The view is always better from the top. The staff will make arrangements to transport you if need be, as service is not only their pleasure, but they are generally interested and committed to your personal well being. ONE LOVE is what this couples resort is all about, demonstrated by staff and guests alike.

yes, we even tried the Au Natural beach! Let your inhibitions go free and check it out, the all over tan is worth it, but the other beaches are just as nice if not nicer!

casanovas for dinner twice and beach bar at night was the best seat in the house. They make the best Jerk Hamburger we have ever tasted. Our mornings would not have been complete without the most excellent cappacinno, served by excellent and friendly staff. They do the Jamaican people proud.

the excursions were fun, Dunns is well worth it ( go early), snorkeling and trip to Ochie were all fun. Take your own water shoes. we also did the peppermint seaweed wrap at the spa, and the detoxification benefits were felt immediately. highly recommend this early in your week though.

The Beach party night was a lot of fun and the Gala had the most magnificent dessert table (save room for this) and sushi.

We were very comfortable in our room, complete with wi fi. the shower head was not up to our satisfaction and a plumber was up to replace it within the hour. I guess we lucked out, cause our timing was right on all week.

Would we return? You bet, next week if we could, but until we meet again, Walk Good my friends. Love u Jamaica and our new found family at Couples San Souci.

Room Tip: The higher the floor the better the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CanadianMade1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocho Rios
0.7 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#1 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,311 reviews
1.9 mi away
Couples Tower Isle
Couples Tower Isle
#5 of 35 in Ocho Rios
3,157 reviews
53.7 mi away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
83.4 mi away
Couples Negril
Couples Negril
#8 of 80 in Negril
4,363 reviews
57.9 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 64 in Montego Bay
6,480 reviews
83.7 mi away
Couples Swept Away
Couples Swept Away
#14 of 80 in Negril
5,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Couples Sans Souci? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Couples Sans Souci

Address: Route A3, St-Mary | PO Box 103, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Ocho Rios
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ocho Rios
#4 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ocho Rios
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
#6 Family Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range: $360 - $619 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Couples Sans Souci 4.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the cliffs of Jamaica’s emerald coast above a dazzling stretch of Caribbean, Couples Sans Souci beckons you to surrender mind, body and soul. The resort's 'no worries' mantra comes to life as every day unfolds. Lose yourself exploring secluded stone pathways. Melt away stress in the healing natural mineral springs. Feel a rush of exhilaration scaling Dunn's River waterfalls. Or simply drift asleep in a hammock by the sea. Located in vibrant Ocho Rios, the resort's design pays tribute to an understated colonial elegance—intricate latticework, white woven furnishings and feathered palms set a refined stage for your island escape. Dining options abound—from authentic Jamaican fare to five-star international cuisine. Private cabanas at cliff's edge provide the ideal setting for our signature spa treatments, while the choice of resort activities knows no limits. Learn the art of living well while living in the moment at Couples Sans Souci. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, TravelUp, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Couples Sans Souci reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Couples Sans Souci Hotel Ocho Rios
Couples San Souci
Couples Sans Souci Ocho Rios
Couples Sans Souci Jamaica/Ocho Rios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing