We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Third Visit and Sans Souci Just Gets Better and Better”
Review of Couples Sans Souci

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Couples Sans Souci
Ranked #4 of 36 Hotels in Ocho Rios
Certificate of Excellence
dundas, canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Third Visit and Sans Souci Just Gets Better and Better”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We returned from Sans Souci February 8th. This was our second visit to the resort and we found it even better than the first (2010). We found the staff /service in the restaurants and bars to be exceptional and the quality and variety of food in all restaurants excellent. Someone in human relations has done a terrific job acquiring the most friendly employees imaginable. The staff truly made us feel that they wanted us to come back. Our accomodation was spotless and everything from the jacuzzi to the flat screen TV was in excellent condition, including the Wi Fi reception in our room. Our spacious suite was A31 overlooking the main pool and our balcony was a perfect spot to enjoy an early morning coffee, smoked salmon and bagel before heading off to the tennis courts. The visiting tennis pro from Saddlebrook, Florida, Larry, was one of the highlights of our trip. An excellent, personable instructor, he improved every player's game regardless of their level of experience. We spent most of our day on the au natural beach. With its own pool, beach and food and drink service the nude beach area was perfect and bartender Taneisha was just the best bartender ever. We did leave for lunch just to try something different and were impressed with the lunch at the Pallaza restaurant as well as the water sports program. Evenings revolved around relaxing dinners in either of the French (bring something warm to wear) or the Italian restaurants. Three of the evenings the resort featured a Beach, Gala and Repeat Guest dinners - all of which were excellent. The resort is somewhat subdued in the evening with dancing to live music featured outside the ballon bar and a sing a long later in the evening inside the balloon bar. However, the staff put on a terrific Super Bowl Party/ BBQ in a sports bar themed conference room. Cheerleaders cheered and beer was quaffed while the game aired on large screen TV's. Once again, thank you to the afformentioned Larry and Taneisha for making this a most memorable vacation.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank moocDundas_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSS_Operations_Mgr, Manager at Couples Sans Souci, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you so much for your incredible review, I hope that your next trip to Couples Sans Souci is as enjoyable as this one was!

Nicholas Lynch
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,778 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,704
    743
    217
    65
    49
See reviews for
43
3,322
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,273)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England, Arkansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

After reading the reviews of this 5 star resort, we were so excited to get there for our 5 night stay. We are very well traveled and have been to several different resorts. We travel to Mexico every year, but decided we would try jamaica this year.
We were very dissapointed by the service in the restaurants. Especially during the breakfast hour. Service was very slow and the staff seemed put out by an request we had. We finally just stopped asking for refills on our drinks. Lunch service at the grill was hit or miss. We did enjoy the food. Food in the restaurants at dinner was good.
We ended up leaving the resort for three meals. Evitas was our local favorite. Very good service and food! Great atmosphere. They provide free transportation from the resort to the restaurant. You only need to tip the driver.
We stayed in a penthouse suite which was very large and spacious. Rooms are very dated and need many upgrades. Our personal favorite was the light bulb in the closet with a pull chain. Every night when it got dark, little ant like bugs came in the window and crawled all around the bathroom. Disgusting to see those bugs crawl all over my personal belongings.
Our phone didn't work for the first two days. If we needed room service or towels, we had to walk to the front desk to request them. After our third complaint about our phone, it was fixed.
We had terrible water pressure. I know this was an issue for others at the resort during our stay. The water would barely trickle out of the shower head. We did complain about this, but never saw any change. Our friends that traveled with us were offered a spa package for their inconvenience, but my husband and I were not.
Anthoy at the main pool bar was great. He always seemed happy to help out. Very fun and personable.
Went to the spa for a message and it was wonderul. Loved the massage huts over the water.
Loved the trip to Dunns River falls. This is a free excursion offered through the resort.
The beach is very small so if you are looking for a good beach, this is not your resort.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank jwhite538
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSS_Operations_Mgr, Manager at Couples Sans Souci, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Couples Sans Souci, we very much appreciate your comments on our resort.

Please do accept our apologies for the inconsistent water pressure during your stay with us. This was certainly an unusual occurence and was limited to a few rooms, but it was nonetheless inconvenient and not our customary standard. We have since replaced all of the pipe on the upper section of the resort and I can report that the water pressure has been restored to a normal level.

Nicholas Lynch
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin Dells, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We were at San Souci for more than a week.

Overall, couples resorts are very nice, San Souci - the resort itself has becautiful natural settings - becautiful lashes, stone stairs, we always can find a quite spot for ourselves, that is why each year we go back to this resort. The people at the restaurants, beaches, diving shop, tennis court are very friendly and fun, but the front desk need to be trained more for customer service, they seems lack of smiles, we don't feel that we are welcome (we just ignore that whenever we go back, we are there for diving, tennis, relaxation). When we found out our room is at the location which is noise at night, their attitude didn't show that they have made every effort to find another room for us, after tried couple times, we gave up, we just moved the mattress to the living room to get better sleep. Also, the food is not cuisine, it is just something to eat (two sit down restaurants), and the menu hardly change from two years ago, if you stay for just 5 days or less, it is ok, otherwise it is really boring and no taste after a while.

Swepted away has wonderful food (3 sit down restraurants), nice beach, nice people, nice full sport center, the only thing we don't like is the room, if you cannot get beach front room, most rooms are traditional Jamaica style living without real window, so we hardly can sleep because of the noises generated by tree frogs, people, etc. Otherwise, I would love to go back there.

Isle Tower is like a hotel, most people we talk to don't like it comparing with other locations, we will try Couple Negrill next time, seems good.

Room Tip: the beach front is best, D and E is very good too, some of the G block in nice also.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cindy Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSS_Operations_Mgr, Manager at Couples Sans Souci, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you very much for your review of Couples Sans Souci, we very much appreciate the time you took to share your thoughts on your recent vacation.

It is unfortunate that your room location was not to your liking, our Front Office team will normally do their best to accommodate room change requests whenever possible so I can only suggest that we may not have any suitable rooms available at the time. I do apologize if the staff appeared unhelpful and I have forwarded your comment to the Front Office Manager.

I would like to point out, however, that Couples Sans Souci has 3 restaurants that offer a la carte dining during the evenings. While the Bella Vista restaurant is more casual and does not require reservations, we still offer an elegant style of service and many of the tables are right on the beach!

Once again, thank you very much for your review, we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Nicholas Lynch
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham Alabama
Level Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

From the moment we arrived we knew this was a special place. Set in a lush tropical environment, Sans Souci entices you to relax "without care" before you even know it. Guest services sent a welcome fruit tray along with champagne to start things off, room service was there within minutes of our calling with requested Appleton Estates Rum (the best in the world!), ice and other selections for our mini bar.

The property is absolutely beautiful with the view from our room in G block giving you the sense of being at a secluded private home on a cliff. We spent a lot of time on our large balcony in the evening enjoying the evening's symphony of peepers and admiring the Chinese lanters set off from the beach at dusk. Not to be missed!

Room service was phenominal. You call and are greeted by a friendly voice followed by a smiling face with your request within minutes, literally. We enjoy reading local newspapers especially at breakfast and when we learned one could not be purchased on the property and mentioned it to "Frankie" , a Gleaner appeared shortly afterwards. Housekeeping was perfect and never intrusive.

Dining at CSS was excellent from breakfast to dinner. Blue Mountain Coffee is the absolute best and your cup is filled as long as you want it to be. Love the Jamaican brown suger served with it. Lunch at the beach grill hit the spot every day, especially the house made jerk sauce that I put on everything! Dinners were elegant and beautifully presented. Cassanova's Shrimp Three Ways, the Crab Cakes, and especially the soups were our favorite. The tomato basil soup on Valentine's Day was one of the best ever soups, EVER! Oh yes, the lobster on Valentine's Day was outstanding!

Stairs on the property are everywhere, not a problem, but an opportunity to discover hidden areas of pleasant surprise. Love the hidden jacuzzi near the mineral pool! Do take a small flashlight as it will come in handy at night. The main beach area was perfect and access to water sports conveniently located. The pond area is a must in the morning when the waterfowl are active and singing! Some especially interesting bird sounds.

I could go on and on about CSS and will again following our next visit which I hope won't be too long from now.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank WilsonBhamAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSS_Operations_Mgr, Manager at Couples Sans Souci, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you so much for your incredible review! I'll be sure to give Frankie a word of encouragement for making such an impact on your holiday. We think that Couples Sans Souci is a special resort so it's extremely gratifying for us when our guests respond so positively to the efforts of our team.

Thanks once again and we look forward to hosting you again in the near furture.

Nicholas Lynch
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hood River, Oregon
Level Contributor
65 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

So we returned to Couples San Souci for our seventh trip this February, thinking we'd be the big old timers there. As it turns out, we lost that distinction on the van ride in -- with a couple who was doing their TWENTIETH trip!

Why San Souci? Why so often? Check out the reviews and you'll find MANY return visitors.

San Souci is tranquil, every need is attended to, the staff is friendly and attentive, there are things to do if you want, but no one complains if you do nothing.

The room service menu has been revamped, although it could still use some additions and additional for pay services are now being offered -- for instance, we have Valentine's Day dinner in a spa gazebo for a very reasonable upgrade.

It'd be nice to see some improvements to the pathways and upgrades to the rooms (our shower had little pressure on good days and no water on two evenings), and I'd love to see (and hear) the waterfall on the back path to the beach actually flowing water.

But, we've been here seven times and have already booked our eighth -- it's Jamaica mon, respect.

Room Tip: Quieter rooms room are in C-G block, A and B blocks (beach view) are newer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeckertny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSS_Operations_Mgr, Manager at Couples Sans Souci, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you very much for your fantastic review of Couples Sans Souci - we truly appreciate it. We consider ourselves extremely lucky to have so many returning guests like yourselves that have given us so much support over the years and we will continue to do our best to make this the best resort in the Caribbean.

We've been getting some good reviews on the improvements to the room service menu but will continue to refine it periodically. Coincidentally, we also plan to start some improvement efforts for our rooms this year. I do have to apologize for the water pressure challenge that you experienced, we have since replaced the pipes on the entire upper section of the property and can now boast excellent water pressure in every one of our suites.

We look forward to your 8th visit - i'm sure it will be your best one yet!

Nicholas Lynch
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This was our 2nd trip to a couples resort and we were not let down. Last year we spent a week at couples Negril and loved it . Just got back from 2 weeks @ Couples SS and we are already booking for next year. The beach at Negril was sensational but it is a public beach. Not so @ SS.
Very quiet and very private. It was our first time to experience an au naturel beach and we loved it.
The staff,the food, the service was all a cut above. I would recommend researching your room location to insure balcony placement and view
Carman&Donna

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CarmanandDonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSS_Operations_Mgr, Manager at Couples Sans Souci, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review of Couples Sans Souci. As you noticed, our beach is smaller than the one in Negril but is very private. I'll pass on your compliments to our service team, it is always extremely gratifying for them to recieve such warm praise for their efforts.

Nicholas Lynch
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

This was my 3rd time to Sans Souci in 11 years. If you are looking for an inclusive that is a cut above the rest then this is the place for you.

I holiday once a year in the Caribbean and have been to many islands but Jamaica is my number one choice. Why? The people are the friendliest and they try hard to make your stay perfect. They are always happy and smiling and they make you feel at home. Honestly - forget Mexico. Jamaica is what you need.

Now to Couples Sans Souci. I have stayed at various Sandals resorts which are absolutely fantastic but Couples is a slight notch above them based on my needs which I will explain below.

My wife and I are 45 with a kid and we need to get away to a place that is tranquil, beautiful and upscale. We love to be pampered as we both work in IT and have pretty demanding jobs.
This is where Couples excels and especially the Sans Souci resort. The average age is 35+ which suites me as there are not too many 18-30 around who obviously like to party. Don't get me wrong, we love to dance but its a bit more relaxed and not so much go-go-go like Sandals.

The Spa is phenomenal and we really splurged with 3 visits in 7 days. It's not cheap but it is the best you are ever going to have. The Spa has private gazebos built on the hillside on the oceans edge so you can hear the waves crashing while you get massaged. They have couples massages where you are privately massaged in the same gazebo.

The staff are very attentive and give you many options to have fun but do not over-pressure you like Sandals. There is diving, snorkelling, pool volleyball, croquet, tennis, cycling and much more.

The grounds are immaculate and very beautiful. Sans Souci is a very special place and we will be returning soon.

Room Tip: The rooms are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSS_Operations_Mgr, Manager at Couples Sans Souci, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you for your amazing review! We hope to have an opportunity to host you for a 4th vacation sometime soon, in the meantime we'll do our best to ensure that everyone else enjoys their stay as much as you did.

Nicholas Lynch
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocho Rios
0.7 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#2 of 36 in Ocho Rios
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,239 reviews
1.9 mi away
Couples Tower Isle
Couples Tower Isle
#5 of 36 in Ocho Rios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,074 reviews
46.5 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
83.3 mi away
Couples Negril
Couples Negril
#8 of 85 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,251 reviews
83.7 mi away
Couples Swept Away
Couples Swept Away
#15 of 85 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,125 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sandals Ochi Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Couples Sans Souci? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Couples Sans Souci

Property: Couples Sans Souci
Address: Route A3, St-Mary | PO Box 103, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Ocho Rios
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ocho Rios
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ocho Rios
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
#4 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
#6 Family Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Couples Sans Souci 4.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the cliffs of Jamaica’s emerald coast above a dazzling stretch of Caribbean, Couples Sans Souci beckons you to surrender mind, body and soul. The resort's 'no worries' mantra comes to life as every day unfolds. Lose yourself exploring secluded stone pathways. Melt away stress in the healing natural mineral springs. Feel a rush of exhilaration scaling Dunn's River waterfalls. Or simply drift asleep in a hammock by the sea. Located in vibrant Ocho Rios, the resort's design pays tribute to an understated colonial elegance—intricate latticework, white woven furnishings and feathered palms set a refined stage for your island escape. Dining options abound—from authentic Jamaican fare to five-star international cuisine. Private cabanas at cliff's edge provide the ideal setting for our signature spa treatments, while the choice of resort activities knows no limits. Learn the art of living well while living in the moment at Couples Sans Souci. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Couples Sans Souci reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Couples Sans Souci Hotel Ocho Rios
Couples San Souci
Couples Sans Souci Ocho Rios
Couples Sans Souci Jamaica/Ocho Rios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing