We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, relaxing getaway”
Review of Couples Sans Souci

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Couples Sans Souci
Ranked #3 of 35 Hotels in Ocho Rios
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

This was our 2nd time to San Souci and 7th to Jamaica. Very pleased coming back. Love the quiet, beautiful property. Most time we felt like we're the only couple there. So romantic.
The food was awesome at the restaurants but did not care much for the two buffet nights. Just the same salads and desserts. Liked the entertainment. Drinks seemed not as strong as usual so would ask for a double.
The service was great and very accommodating through out the resort. We asked to move our room because we preferred G block from last time and we moved the next day. Had a few things not working in room but was taken care of.
We each had 2 massages and they were awesome. Asked for Ruth and Jackie and they were still there! Great to see them. Best massages and so relaxing in the hideaway.
The team at the watersports were great. We went snorkeling and had a fun time. Got to snorkel around the shipwreck, very cool.
This was our 3rd couples resort and enjoyed them all. Would like to try Couples Negril and would come back to San Souci.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Missyjf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,053)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,426 - 2,432 of 4,053 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2012

This is our second trip to San Souci. We love the atmosphere and the relaxation. The staff is very friendly and attentive. If you are looking for a quiet getaway with enough activity but not the big "party club" then this is your place. Many guests are repeaters so that should say much about the place. The food is very good and plenty of it. The au naturel beach is great and since it is not clothing optional, you do not have the uncomfortable feeling of being stared at by "gawkers". Also there is the au naturel pool, hot tub, and grill. The problem is there are no night time activities on that side! The rooms are clean and comfortable but dated. They seem to have a water issue as the last time we were without water for a little while for a water leak and this time some of the guests were talking about the same problem, however our room never lost water. We did have a roof leak and water came down the walls into our room two times and I heard other guests say their room leaked during the rain storm. So there are a few problems...well in Jamaica there are no problems just situations as they say!!!! The good outweighs the "situations" and absolutely we will go back!!!! By the way, the many water activities and some trips are included.

Room Tip: A and B block a little noisier as close to activities. Other blocks a little more secluded and quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jpmcal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

This was our third stay at Sans Souci and fifth time in Jamaica in less than 2 years. Needless to say we love Jamaica but we love Sans Souci even more. The staff is the best we have ever seen and the grounds are paradise. We always stay in the beachfront rooms which we find more central and not too many stairs to climb. This time I had my PADI open water and made the most of it by diving 9 times with the fantastic dive team of Leon, Nicholas and Patrick. Plenty of variety in the dive sites and saw something different every day. These guys are very professional and put safety first. Looking forward to going back and doing my advanced open water with these guys next year.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dbhavh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

My husband and I went to Couples San Souci to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary. We loved the intimate feel of this resort. There are only 150 rooms and the place has an old world charm. The people are very friendly and attentive and the food and drinks are very good. We stayed in the A building and were literally steps from the pool/beach/ocean. The staff is always working to keep the place clean and in working order. This resort also had the most comfortable pillows and bed of any resort/hotel that I have ever stayed at. This was the last resort in the Couples chain that we hadn't stayed at and we will definately go back.

Room Tip: A & B buildings are very close to pool and beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tammy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Couples Sans Souci happens to be one of my favourite hotels in Jamaica. I have loved it even before Couples took it over and still find it to have the old world charm and ambiance that no other hotels has.

We have stayed over the years and I must say I am never disappointed.

We dined at Casanova recently and had a very fabulous dinner...the food was excellent, the service exquisite and unobtrusive (so important when dining out in a gourmet restaurant) - and the ambiance of course just spot on.

We spoke to a few guests that evening who all raved about the hotel, one couple having been there THREE times this year alone! Does this say something? Of course it does.....

Everyone we spoke to in the dining room that evening had nothing but kudos to the staff and management for their eagle eye.

Do not hesitate to book Couples Sans Souci!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JMP1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

My Husband and I went here for our Honeymoon in September and it was absolutely amazing! It was a smaller resort so it was very intimate and the resort was very lush and had gorgeous views. The staff was so attentive and genuinely nice to us. We stayed in the G building which is the farthest away, however you could not beat the view that you woke up to every morning. We requested the view as apposed to the covienence and we were so happy that we did! The walk sure did help with not gaining any weight ha! The food was delicious and they had many choices each night. We ate at all three restaurants and also enjoyed the beach party along with the Gala. The staff strives to make your stay the best of the best. This was our first time to Jamaica and it will not be our last and we are going to stay within the couples resorts!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Michele B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Let me first say that yes the resort is not new, not granite, not marble, and maybe a little dated, so people, get over it. This is what makes this place more relaxed, laid back, and friendly. And as everyone says it's clean.
Anyways, we just returned from our second trip here and hoped that the magic we felt the first time was still there. We were not disappointed. Right from the friendly greeting, and throughout our stay, the staff here are the shining jewel of this resort.
The food was also a step up from last year, if you can believe that. It was great so see many of the same staff again. Casanova restaurant was so good, we dined there twice. The beach party was amazing and the Friday night gala was spectacular.
We were fortunate enough to get upgraded for our room from an ocean view veranda to a 1 bedroom suite in G block. The room was spacious and the view was breathtaking. We were so high up, it felt like we were in a tree house with a balcony. The grounds are still lush and well kept with lots of places to explore. The beach, while not miles long, is cleaned everyday and more than sufficient for anyone to find a place on their own.
We did spend most of our time at sunset beach, and there was never a problem finding a spot, even by the pool. The ocean there is more rocky in the water, but if you go closer to the river side, the bottom is pretty much sand only.
Of all the things we love about this place, the one thing that no other resort can match is the ambiance of the place. You can truly relax here. It is paradise on earth.

Room Tip: If you like being central to the beaches, Block A or B. If you like a great view and a little more p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Vacateyourlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocho Rios
0.7 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#1 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,375 reviews
1.9 mi away
Couples Tower Isle
Couples Tower Isle
#5 of 35 in Ocho Rios
3,232 reviews
53.7 mi away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Sandals Ochi Beach Resort
83.7 mi away
Couples Swept Away
Couples Swept Away
#13 of 81 in Negril
5,508 reviews
1 mi away
Sandals Royal Plantation
Sandals Royal Plantation
#2 of 35 in Ocho Rios
2,691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Couples Sans Souci? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Couples Sans Souci

Address: Route A3, St-Mary | PO Box 103, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Ocho Rios
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ocho Rios
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ocho Rios
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
#3 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range: $313 - $613 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Couples Sans Souci 4.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the cliffs of Jamaica’s emerald coast above a dazzling stretch of Caribbean, Couples Sans Souci beckons you to surrender mind, body and soul. The resort's 'no worries' mantra comes to life as every day unfolds. Lose yourself exploring secluded stone pathways. Melt away stress in the healing natural mineral springs. Feel a rush of exhilaration scaling Dunn's River waterfalls. Or simply drift asleep in a hammock by the sea. Located in vibrant Ocho Rios, the resort's design pays tribute to an understated colonial elegance—intricate latticework, white woven furnishings and feathered palms set a refined stage for your island escape. Dining options abound—from authentic Jamaican fare to five-star international cuisine. Private cabanas at cliff's edge provide the ideal setting for our signature spa treatments, while the choice of resort activities knows no limits. Learn the art of living well while living in the moment at Couples Sans Souci. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Couples Sans Souci reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Couples Sans Souci Hotel Ocho Rios
Couples San Souci
Couples Sans Souci Ocho Rios
Couples Sans Souci Jamaica/Ocho Rios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing