We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Honeymoon Ever :o)”
Review of Couples Sans Souci

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Couples Sans Souci
Ranked #4 of 35 Hotels in Ocho Rios
Certificate of Excellence
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best Honeymoon Ever :o)”
Reviewed February 13, 2012

Can't stop thinking of your wonderful resort!! Talk about including everything, you did! We loved all the activities that were planned each day, and the restaurants were delicious. All of the staff were super helpful and just all around pleasant! We had a great massage in one of their bungalows that overlook the ocean, just serene and perfect! The glass bottom boat ride, was great, also the catamaran ride!! The grounds are just great. Lots of stairs though!! So at least you get to walk off all your great meals! Different food all week long, so be sure to try a little bit of everything. The party on the beach was great and the Silver Birds (I think...??) who played the steel drums were FABULOUS!!! I could have listened to them all day long. Loved watching the sunset on the beach, the sax player was awesome too :o) Loved that we got to tour Dunns River Falls and the shopping excursions were cool. I can't wait to try all the other Couples resorts on Jamaica!! I hope we can come back soon. I so miss floating on the ocean, enjoying the warm weather and cool breeze!!! Daydreaming of you Couples!!! :o)

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,832 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,740
    757
    220
    66
    49
See reviews for
44
3,371
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,288)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indiana
Level Contributor
150 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2012

We stayed at this property for one week. Then went to Breezes Negril for another week.
We really enjoyed it. Our room was very large. We were in building B on the third floor which was very convienent. The bathroom was large but needed updating. The grounds are just beautiful!
I would recommend calling for the shuttle to take you from the main area down to your room. Our first night there our friend fell walking down the road and broke her leg. The staff did everything they could to help make her comfortable. They moved them from the third floor to the first. The nurse went above & beyond to take care of our friend. They had to fly home early so she could have surgery.
The weather was not that great. We had rain almost every morning. A few days it continued off and on all day.
Despite what happened to our friend and the rain it was still a good time.

Room Tip: If you don't want to walk the stairs stay in buildings A or B
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LynnesPicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apopka, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2012

We arrived to Sans Souci on Thursday January 19th and stayed for one week. It is the most beautiful and romantic place I have ever been to. The staff goes out of their way to make you feel special. The food was amazing no matter where you ate. The views here are incredible. The grounds are spectacular. We had very nice massages and you could hear the water crashing against the rocks below you while in the huts. Mr. Battaglia and his staff are the reason we will be back. We loved our time at Couples Sans Souci.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sunny2368
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2012

Got back a couple of weeks ago and once again had a great time but sad it had to end. They do a wonderful job keeping the grounds clean. The staff are always helpful and try to make you have the best time possible. Our rooms are always cleaned and get turn down service at night. The repeat dinner was wonderful as well as Tuesday beach party and the Friday night gala is amazing. Have been here 2 times and will be booking again for 2013. This is our home away from home.

Room Tip: we stayed in both penthouse suites and beach front suites. Will be booking beach front suite again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank karl080176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2012

I'm always a firm believer that a vacation is everything you make it. However, this vacation needed little help from us to be absolutely fantastic!!!!!! The staff bends overbackwards for you there is pretty much nothing you can ask for that they won't give you. The food was wonderful unlike any vacation we've ever been on. We enjoyed on two occations couples massages; Simone and Jaquie were out of this world and listening to the waves splash below you made for the ultimate relaxing experience. Every night there was something new to do. All watersports activities come at no additional charges and someone is always willing to take you for a sail. The glass bottom trip leaves twice a day and should be booked in advance to aviod dissappointment, it travels to the sunken boat and gives you a new view on the resort. Breakfast was great with freshly made eggs of your choice, lunch was buffet style with an added dish created for you, the burgers are fantastic. Dinner was served to you with the exception of beach party (tuesday) and galla (friday) There are daily activities at no cost and vary from aerobics, seashell painting, dunns river trip, shopping trips and much more (available schedule on website) In room dinning was quick, simple and delicous. Our flight left early in the morning 5:45AM (the bus left) Maguil made us some fantastic fried egg sandwich's ready for us to take and eat on the way to the airport. Special thanks to Maguil, Dave, Andrew and Delroy for going over and beyond to help our stay even better.

You must be mobile and able to do stairs for this resort as they are everywhere.

Room Tip: AB block closer to restaurants beach good if you want to try to avoid some of the stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank k80_80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muse, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2012

What a great place to vacation. We are repeat guests and the staff remembered us! Talk about feeling like you are going "home". From the time you check-in until the time you check-out, you are made to feel like you are the most important person in the world. Beautiful grounds, great food and your choice of things to do. You can water-ski, snorkle, do a glass-bottom boat ride, climb Dunn's River Falls, go shopping (all included), or just hang out on the beach or by the pool. We highly recommend Couples San Sousi!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Beth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2012

Overall, the hotel was great. Only a few mistakes were made during our stay. This is a belated review. We stayed here from May 12-19, 2011. I believe I expected better service because of my previous stays at Mexican all-inclusives. Be prepared to wait in Jamaica.

Room: Very clean. (FYI: They only wash the sheets if you request it.) A bit on the small side for a one bedroom oceanfront room. Enjoyed the balcony overlooking the pool.

Restaurants: Food was average. I would compare it to Luby's Cafeteria. The beach grill served good burgers, but be prepared for your order to be incorrect at least a couple of times during your stay. (This goes for all the restaurants.) As for Casanova, the food was fine. I expected more from their "best" restaurant. Pallazina was great for breakfast and lunch. As for dinner, Pallazina was average at best. Service at all the restaurants were slow (30 min to 1 hour before the food arrived). In-suite dining was fine (they just need to add a little more to the menu and make room service 24 hours). If you go out on the town, make sure to order room service before you leave and put it in the refrigerator (just in case you get the munchies).

Bars: The Ballon bar was the best. Service was excellent!! The bar at the beach grill and the swim-up bar were always crowded. But you could get a drink within 5 minutes. All the drinks were good (4 out of 5). The drinks did not taste watered down (like a lot of the all-inclusives).

Beach: If you love scenery, this is the place to go. If your going to swim in the ocean, you will be disappointed. It is very shallow and there is a lot of seaweed. If your there to sunbath, it is great.

Pond: Make sure you bring some bread with you from where ever you eat, to feed the fish and turtles at the pond. Be sure to talk to the parots. They were great fun.

I took over 600 pictures and none of them were bad. This is a beautiful resort. Be prepared to do a lot of walking up and down hills. You will not gain any weight due to all the cardio you'll get!!

Room Tip: If you stay in one of the one bedroom oceanfront suites, ask for a room on the end of the building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank sailfish85houston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocho Rios
0.7 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#2 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,260 reviews
1.9 mi away
Couples Tower Isle
Couples Tower Isle
#5 of 35 in Ocho Rios
3,098 reviews
46.5 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
83.3 mi away
Couples Negril
Couples Negril
#8 of 80 in Negril
4,277 reviews
57.9 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 63 in Montego Bay
6,275 reviews
83.7 mi away
Couples Swept Away
Couples Swept Away
#14 of 80 in Negril
5,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Couples Sans Souci? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Couples Sans Souci

Property: Couples Sans Souci
Address: Route A3, St-Mary | PO Box 103, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Ocho Rios
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ocho Rios
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ocho Rios
#4 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
#6 Family Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Couples Sans Souci 4.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the cliffs of Jamaica’s emerald coast above a dazzling stretch of Caribbean, Couples Sans Souci beckons you to surrender mind, body and soul. The resort's 'no worries' mantra comes to life as every day unfolds. Lose yourself exploring secluded stone pathways. Melt away stress in the healing natural mineral springs. Feel a rush of exhilaration scaling Dunn's River waterfalls. Or simply drift asleep in a hammock by the sea. Located in vibrant Ocho Rios, the resort's design pays tribute to an understated colonial elegance—intricate latticework, white woven furnishings and feathered palms set a refined stage for your island escape. Dining options abound—from authentic Jamaican fare to five-star international cuisine. Private cabanas at cliff's edge provide the ideal setting for our signature spa treatments, while the choice of resort activities knows no limits. Learn the art of living well while living in the moment at Couples Sans Souci. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Couples Sans Souci reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Couples Sans Souci Hotel Ocho Rios
Couples San Souci
Couples Sans Souci Ocho Rios
Couples Sans Souci Jamaica/Ocho Rios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing