We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Second time even better” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Couples Sans Souci

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Couples Sans Souci
Ranked #4 of 36 Hotels in Ocho Rios
Certificate of Excellence
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Second time even better”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2012

I can not understand any negative review of Couples Sans Souci! Some people you can never please!
This was our second stay at Sans Souci and third to Couples.
Our first was to Tower Isle which we enjoyed very much but this time at Sans Souci we did the trading places and went back to Tower Isle for the day. We only stayed for an hour and could not wait to get back to Sans Souci. Why? - the grounds at Sans Souci are paradise and the staff are the best. Many of them remembered us from our previous visit and made us feel so special. Yes - the resort is a bit older but this adds to the atmosphere and ambiance.
The only negative was that in January the pools are too cold to stay in all day. Heat the pools in winter and it would be even better. Next time we will avoid the cooler months.

Room Tip: Beachfront are the best if you don,t like the stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dbhavh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,707 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,652
    728
    213
    65
    49
See reviews for
40
3,257
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,248)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cary, NC, USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2012

Summary: the Best vacation we’ve ever had. Can’t wait to go back.

Now for the details. As you see by the long list of 5 star reviews, this resort has impressed and dazzled many. Staying there is like living a week in a tropical botanical gardens. It’s pretty in it’s natural beauty, and classic architecture. It’s on the water and the sea is visible from just about everywhere. If you don’t like your stay here, it’s not because the resort is deficient in any way. But as you know, not all people like the same things.

So, having said that, here’s what we observed and really liked on our recent stay Jan.21-30th.
Most couples were likely in the age range of 45 to 65, with only a few younger, or older. I’d guess that 40% were from USA, 40% Canada, and the balance largely from the UK. Since we are near 60 but look and feel closer to 50, for us, this was a very comfortable group of people to share the week with.

We found the service great. In every area, whether it be the beach, the bars, water sports, food services, spa, even the gardener, there were always notable staff who made you feel special, thru their courtesy, friendliness, and hard work to take care of you.

The beaches are cleaned and groomed every morning. Because of the reef that runs much of length of the island, the beaches are protected from the crashing waves typical of the eastern USA. If you prefer to swim in calm warm water, this is for you. BTW, even at this coolest part of the year, the sea temperature was still likely in the 80F range, and a touch warmer than the pools. Because this resort is in a cove and only THIS resort is there, its beach is defined by the edge peninsulas, therefore it is not conducive to miles long walks, like you might get in some other places. So if you need to walk miles, this is not it. If you like the privacy and feeling that ‘this is all yours’, THIS is the place.

We are absolutely amazed at the effort that the resort goes to, to put on the Tues. night beach party (dinner and entertainment on the beach), and the Friday night Gala on the large grass area. A staff of dozens works much of the day to set this up. The result is a lot of fun and socializing for all.

Food and drinks were excellent. Some of the food presentations looked so pretty, it was a shame to eat them! Drinks as plentiful as you wanted, and as strong or weak as you requested. Their mantra was ‘no problem man’, no matter what you asked for in the food and drink area.

What activity level do you want? The ability to choose to simply sit and relax, OR, if you were so inclined, to keep busy with something, is what also contributed to Sans Souci being ideal for us. My wife likes the more relaxing mode, while I love to be on or in the water. We could have both. The access to the watersports was incredible, and free of course. While I am not a scuba diver, we saw lots of people getting lessons, then going out for multiple excursions during the week. I did lots of sailing (never a wait, never a time limit), and some snorkeling too. You can read the list of activities on the website…they Really are all there, and run by a very enthusiastic staff who works long hours to please the guests.

Offsite Trips: they are offered, some are free, some are not. Mixed reviews from those that did, and again, depends on what you want. Before our trip we did consider some of these, but once there, we were so happy to hang around the resort, that all of a sudden our 9 days was done, and we hadn’t left the resort! Maybe next time?

Evening entertainment I’d call basic, but very adequate for the audience. Each night (except the Tues & Fri events which are more elaborate) they had a singer, with the house band, and usually a second singer. In keeping with the ‘couples’ theme and age group mentioned, music/song choices were very enjoyable with lots of encouragement for dancing. We were told that it’s a different singer every night, and you’d have to stay a month before hearing one a second time. A tremendous effort goes into planning and running such a program.

Treat yourself to a massage, or two, like we did. Set in a nice cabana, on the hill, listening to the ocean waves….ahhh. So relaxing. Where else can you get that?

Beaches and pools always had lounges available, even with the resort being sold out. The main beach had more places with shade possible, if that is your desire to not get totally cooked by the sun. With 2 nice beaches, and a large main pool, plus the mineral pool, and only 150 rooms, you can always be IN or near the water if you want to.

Sans Souci, turns out, is well known for having perhaps the best ‘au naturel’ beach. And before you say ‘not for us’, consider this. This experience was a first for us too, and we discovered, that because it is a mandatory No Clothing area (keeps the gawkers out), and provided in a large area with its own pool and beach, in a secluded part of the resort, it is actually a nice experience. No rudeness, no crudeness, just enjoy the sun. Nobody will bother you. Everybody is polite and respectful. You might surprise yourself. Try it.

Final thoughts. The manager has been there forever, and can be seen on the grounds any and all times of day. He takes personal interest speaking to the guests to make sure they have the best stay possible. We spoke with many employees who have been there 5, 7, even 11 years. We think that speaks favorably of the resort. Last, we met many couples who have been to Sans Souci several times before, and we certainly plan to return too. While I’m sure there are other resorts that are also very good, THIS one met all our needs and desires 100%. If this style of vacation sounds ideal to you, then you can’t go wrong with Sans Souci.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
19 Thank KozfromNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2012

After researching what felt like millions of resorts and reading trillions of reviews, my boyfriend and I settled on Sans Souci, for our first vacation together. We stayed Dec.26-Jan.2, and had the most wonderful time.
The food was amaaaaazing; the staff, even better! The jerk burger, was so good - one day we had two lunches! The buffet breakfast was also delicious everyday. I do not understand anyone who complains about the food. We work in the restaurant industry in Canada, so maybe we are more forgiving of small things, but the flavours were delicious, and I thought there was enough variety.
We stayed in a small room in D-block for 6 of the nights. On the sixth night, we had a small problem with the room, and when we brought it to the managers attention, we were moved to D-20, one of the penthouses. Wow, gorgeous! What a way to end a wonderful vacation. He also gave us a free couples massage, which was absolutely fabulous! That is how you create repeat customers!
The grounds are lush and well-maintained. The beach is small but private and beautiful. Hammocks around every corner, a hidden jacuzzi, ping pong, smoothie bar...I could go on and on!
We did a few excursions: Dunn's River - which was a lot of fun, but very crowded the day we went. Dolphin's Cove - so much fun! A great day off the resort. We also did the White River tubing excursion - this was my favourite day of the trip, driving up into the mountains and floating through the jungle, just beautiful.
Our last night, we paid for the private dinner in the small gazebo. This was beautiful and well worth the extra $.
All in all, we had an amazing time. We were so impressed with the Couples experience that we have already booked a trip to Couples Negril for July. I'm sure it will be just as great of a vacation, but we will be back to Sans Souci!

Room Tip: If you have a little extra $, splurge for a penthouse!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Tracey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2012

This was a mid-winter break that we both needed to re-charge our batteries and it turned out to be a holiday that we will remember for a very long time. Without a doubt this is a top quality resort holiday with exceptional levels of service provided by helpful and caring staff. Our suite was very comfortable and the very wide choice of food in all the restaurants was of good quality and would suit all appetites and tastes. Our only slight disappointment was the barbeque evening when we were a bit late arriving and there wasn't a large selection of food left. (Forgot that the Americans are early eaters and they had cleared up!). All in all a totally chilled holiday and we will definitely return.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Graham E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelem, Mexico
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2012

This was our first stay at a Couples resort and our expectations were very high yet held in check by a lot of research going in. While there was some things I didn't like and will elaborate on later this resort delivered in every aspect and blew us away with its near perfection and attention to detail. We stayed two weeks in a one bedroom beachfront suite, block B with just a lawn and the beach separating us from the ocean. There were many hours spent sitting on that balcony listening to the waves gently lapping on the shore at night with the tree frogs singing their symphony, coffee in the morning watching the resort come to life. There might be better rooms or views but I would not have traded this one for anything.

We arrived late, (10 PM) in between restaurant times and ordered room service, our first of many times. It arrived hot and was much appreciated after a long travel day. We used the room service quite often throughout our stay and it was the absolute best of any resort that we have stayed, breakfast, dinner, snacks on a whim, coffee, ice, wine you name it, room service rocked. Always prompt and friendly.

Our beachfront room also lived up. Our advance check in bar was ready and the room looked very much like the one on the resort website. I had heard the rooms were old and need of a refurbish and I always like to hear that. We have stayed at brand new five star resorts with paper thin walls. "Old resort" to me means thick walls, quiet rooms, privacy, not hearing noise from other rooms and the hallway. We loved our rooms, the bedroom easily closed off by folding glass partitions and two access points to the balcony. Some of the furnishing did need a polish just like ours at home so we felt comfortable right away.

The food was a big part of our experience.The breakfast and lunch buffets at Palazzina were awesome and the lunch theme changed daily. The beach grill offered another lunch option which we loved on casual days with too much libation at the beach. We ate three evening meals at Casanova and Palazzina and two at Bella Vista, every meal was delicious with no complaints. Service was slow when we ate outside at Casanova but the setting was great, a late meal listening to to live entertainment from the Balloon Bar. Great service at all restaurants, a few lapses here and there usually due to bad timing but nothing really to harp on, I wish I could have the worst of their service right now, lol.

The setting of this place is different to what we are used to. We are beach people who usually book a resort based on great beach. We love to walk for miles on the beaches of Punta Cana, and have enjoyed the soft white sand of Negril and the Riviera Maya however this resort carved out of the side of a mountain with all the stairs and lush tropical views captured our imaginations. The small private beach was perfect for us after a busy year working in sales and customer service, no vendors, no jet skiis, an almost surreal quiet at times with most of the surf stopping at the reaf. The drink service on the beach starts at 10 AM and was quite good. I've named names on the comment cards but suffice it to say that all the tenders made us feel good about ordering excessive amounts of drinks at all times of day, a special thumbs up to them.

We walked throughout this amazing place and continually discovered sanctuaries that made us happy. The pond is amazing, all the pools and hammocks, a couple of late nights at the mineral jacuzzi, serenity everywhere, wow.

Every tues. and fri. night they close down all restaurants and have a huge buffet. Tuesday is the beach party and Friday is the Gala. These were the things that I did not like. We are on vacation to relax and get away from our work existence however these nights forced us to sit at a table for six with strangers to have a meal. We always connect with folks in our own way on vacation but this forced situation with everybody herded out to eventually line up like piggies at the trough did not appeal to me twice a week on a two week vacay. You have the room service option which is great, but the resort is called Couples, I didn't see any tables for two. A lot of effort is put into these nights and the food and service is exceptional, it's just not our thing I guess. It's advertised and done well, just not for us.

On our last day my wife looked at me and said, " An almost perfect vacation", that about sums it up. I think of this resort as paradise in a bubble, if a boat pulled up with Roger Moore in a white tuxedo I wouldn't have been surprised, it is classy, comfortable, and a great place to decompress, retro chic at it's finest. I would highly recommend this resort. If anybody has questions please ask. We were made to feel special every day we were at Couples.

Room Tip: B block was great, not a lot of stairs and seconds to most restaurants with a great view and close a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
16 Thank gary1213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2012

We have been to many resorts and cruises and must say by far this resort is simply amazing. Our rooms were spectacular overlooking the ocean, the food, the service, was out of this world and the staff went above and beyond to do everything possible. It is especially great for honeymooners as there are no children, it is a couples resort only. Not only do they offer catamaran sailing, glass bottom boat with snorkling but we also got the Dunns River Falls excursion as well (at no extra cost). They had two special nights of being pampered with service, food and entertainment (one being there beach party) over and above the regular nights of dinner and entertainment. I can not imagine anyone rating this resort less than 5. Only one downfall to this resort is the stairs, and up hill climbs. I found out the 4th day into the vacation that you could call for a van to pick you up and take you directly to your room. I guess it is not advertised out of concern for the people whom are really in need of it. As one of those people I was a little sore by the 4th day however with the credits received upon arrival I was able to have the full body massages with hot stones (ask for Ruth) , not once but twice which was simply amazing! wonderful resort.... trust me you can not go wrong with this resort.

Room Tip: try to get block a or b it is down on the main area where everything is, less hills to have to climb
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank noarc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2012

My husband, I and 2 other couples went to Couples San Souci, Jamicia on Nov 3rd 2011 (had also been in May of 2010). As we pulled up, Evol greeted us with hugs and kisses. How more welcoming could a place be. Secondly, we find out that we had our same rooms as we had requested from Kareta (could not thank her enough). We are feeling like we are at our second home right off the bat! As we walk around, the staff we had met the previos year, greeted us with hugs also. Everyone remembered us. How could this be! It was amazing. Veronique with her quick smile and giggles was soooo refreshing. Evol was so inviting to us and asked if there was anything that we needed dailey (so helpful). Then there was Katyanne! Boy is she GREAT at entertaining. She spent much quality time with us and we enjoyed her emensley! This resort is the most beautiful place I have ever seen (even in magazines). Everyone is so happy; smiling and singing all day. Just being there with them made us all feel as happy as they were. We are planning our trip back for this year in September and cannot wait to see everyone and eat the most wonderful food I have ever to taste (thanks to Andrea and the other chefs). June and Neil Heath Richmond VA

Room Tip: We had our same room both trips but imagine that all of the rooms are wonderful. Beds are more comf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank June H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocho Rios
0.7 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#2 of 36 in Ocho Rios
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,198 reviews
1.9 mi away
Couples Tower Isle
Couples Tower Isle
#5 of 36 in Ocho Rios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,016 reviews
46.4 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
83.3 mi away
Couples Negril
Couples Negril
#9 of 84 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,180 reviews
83.7 mi away
Couples Swept Away
Couples Swept Away
#15 of 84 in Negril
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,038 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sandals Ochi Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Couples Sans Souci? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Couples Sans Souci

Property: Couples Sans Souci
Address: Route A3, St-Mary | PO Box 103, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Ocho Rios
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ocho Rios
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
#4 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ocho Rios
#6 Family Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Couples Sans Souci 4.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the cliffs of Jamaica’s emerald coast above a dazzling stretch of Caribbean, Couples Sans Souci beckons you to surrender mind, body and soul. The resort's 'no worries' mantra comes to life as every day unfolds. Lose yourself exploring secluded stone pathways. Melt away stress in the healing natural mineral springs. Feel a rush of exhilaration scaling Dunn's River waterfalls. Or simply drift asleep in a hammock by the sea. Located in vibrant Ocho Rios, the resort's design pays tribute to an understated colonial elegance—intricate latticework, white woven furnishings and feathered palms set a refined stage for your island escape. Dining options abound—from authentic Jamaican fare to five-star international cuisine. Private cabanas at cliff's edge provide the ideal setting for our signature spa treatments, while the choice of resort activities knows no limits. Learn the art of living well while living in the moment at Couples Sans Souci. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Couples Sans Souci reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Couples Sans Souci Hotel Ocho Rios
Couples San Souci
Couples Sans Souci Ocho Rios
Couples Sans Souci Jamaica/Ocho Rios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing