We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best experience ever in Jamaica Ocho Rios”
Review of Bamboo Blu

Bamboo Blu
Ranked #5 of 112 Restaurants in Ocho Rios
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $40
Cuisines: Caribbean, Jamaican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: FREE Wi-Fi Available. Also, please note Bamboo Blu is not a public beach, reservations are required at our restaurant to access beach facilities. Be Brave - drink a BIG BAMBOO in your very own to keep Bamboo Chalice. Be a Star - Howl at the Moon around our nightly bonfire. Be Liz Taylor. Be Martin Luther King. Be Frank Sinatra - they created this historic jetsetters hideaway! Be Mellow - pre Reggae tunes of Mento & Ska air when local Rastafarian guitarist Jah Happystone takes a snooze. Be Hungry - eat new original for 2015 -Jerky's Popcorn Pork Festival Bites. Be Happy.
Brampton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best experience ever in Jamaica Ocho Rios”
Reviewed August 9, 2014

Coming to Jamaica for the first time I was introduced to this restaurant, the chef Milton was magnificent, the bartender Clayton would make a drink just perfect for your taste. And whoever came up with the idea of the "bamboo theme" was very unique. I enjoyed it so much that I had to make another trip just to eat their food again and look forward to seeing the sign light up on the beach sand and the bonfire, that gave it a romantic touch. This restaurant is a flawless setup, and I would highly recommend this to anyone visiting Ocho Rios. Everything was PERFECT !

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ranju_m26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bamboo B, General Manager at Bamboo Blu, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
All kudos to Mr. Joseph Issa for creating this little paradise!

We are glad to hear you enjoyed your visit thoroughly... we look forward to serving you again perhaps on your 2nd visit :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    929
    168
    55
    17
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mesquite, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“"Great Bartender"”
Reviewed August 8, 2014

If you want a delicious cold yet strong drink to relax on the beach, try this restaurant. Located next door to the Club Hotel Riu where we were staying. Nice to just walk on the beach to have lunch. Group of 4 ordered appetizers and drinks. Chicken wings, peppered shrimp, and french fries were delicious. Most Jamaican restaurants are a little pricey, but so are most restaurants in a tourist area. Service was a little slow by American standards, but that's why we were in Jamaica to chill out.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Where2Nex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bamboo B, General Manager at Bamboo Blu, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Thank you for the recommendation!

We love to hear when our guests enjoy their time with us, we look forward to serving you again =)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Mary Parish, Jamaica
2 reviews
“Greatest”
Reviewed August 7, 2014

Overall greatest.... Excellent food and great staff.... Had the grilled lobster which was out of this world.... just great....

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Smiley852014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bamboo B, General Manager at Bamboo Blu, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Thank you for your review!

We look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas Gulf Coast, Texas
1 review
“WHAT A GREAT FIND”
Reviewed August 7, 2014

We had a excellent time .. The Food was amazing and then some and the people were great... you all are already on our to go to on the next trip down

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TexasGurl101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bamboo B, General Manager at Bamboo Blu, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Thank you for stopping by!

We look forward to serving you on your next trip :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Jamaica
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent ambiance, food and friendly people!!”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Bamboo Blu is my forever chill spot whenever i am in Ocho Rios. I've been there a couple times over the past 4 months and i have never been dissapointed with the food or service. ( You must try the fish sandwich with tartar sauce! epic!!) very chill atmosphere with staff members who are always pleasant and warm. The water jetpack is also fun to watch so do not visit ochi without going to Bamboo Blu!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rashidi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bamboo B, General Manager at Bamboo Blu, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
WOW, forever chill spot! Love it.

We are grateful for your continued patronage... next time you drop by we would love to meet our very loyal customer.

See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bamboo Blu also viewed

Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 

Been to Bamboo Blu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing