We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and secluded Beach”
Review of Bamboo Blu

Bamboo Blu
Ranked #5 of 114 Restaurants in Ocho Rios
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $40
Cuisines: Caribbean, Jamaican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: FREE Wi-Fi Available. Also, please note Bamboo Blu is not a public beach, reservations are required at our restaurant to access beach facilities. Be Brave - drink a BIG BAMBOO in your very own to keep Bamboo Chalice. Be a Star - Howl at the Moon around our nightly bonfire. Be Liz Taylor. Be Martin Luther King. Be Frank Sinatra - they created this historic jetsetters hideaway! Be Mellow - pre Reggae tunes of Mento & Ska air when local Rastafarian guitarist Jah Happystone takes a snooze. Be Hungry - eat new original for 2015 -Jerky's Popcorn Pork Festival Bites. Be Happy.
Reviewed July 18, 2014

The food was awesome. There is a myriad of activities and the beach is clean. No one hassles you. Just a great experience. Beautiful lounge chairs , I could go on and on.

Thank 709Ysinclair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bamboo B, General Manager at Bamboo Blu, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2014

We don't mind if you go on and on.........!

Thank you for stopping by and for the lovely review =)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,201)
There are newer reviews for Bamboo Blu
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

831 - 835 of 1,201 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

Think gourmet Jamaican food, the traditional dishes with a twist, on a wooden deck right on the beach. Spotlights gently lighting up the sea. A bonfire burning. Live music with staff joining in the singing. A wonderful experience of life in Jamaica.

Thank Thomas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bamboo B, General Manager at Bamboo Blu, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2014

Thank you thank you!

We continue to think how we can improve to make our guests' experiences with us more authentic and Jamaican and you've proved that it is working!

Come again soon =)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2014

We stayed at the RIU and wanted to have dinner on the beach. Someone from the Bamboo Blu was walking around our pool handing out some marketing pieces which gave us the idea to go there. We had the view of the restaurant from our room so we were already interested in the place. One of the people we met on the trip also recommended it and was talking about how cool the music was there. We had a great dinner of fresh lobster, service was friendly, manager walked over and made us feel comfortable and then the music was the icing on the cake. Your eating dinner while the sun is going down on the beach and a Jamaican native is playing reggae covers and his own music from an acoustic guitar. If your in the area stop by you won't be disappointed.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Greg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bamboo B, General Manager at Bamboo Blu, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2014

Thank you for stopping by Greg!

We love to hear when our guests have such lovely experiences with us. Our vision for Bamboo Blu is to create a luxurious setting with Jamaican vibes.

We look forward to serving you again =)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2014

My family and i stopped for lunch at bamboo blu and we loved the preperation of the food, our kids enjoyed every bite! the staff is very friendly.. We couldnt ask for more.. That resturant will be our first stop when we visit jamaica again.. HUGE SHOUT OUT TO "CLAYTON" who keeps checking up to make sure everything was ok with us and gave us great service :-)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank renaestar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bamboo B, General Manager at Bamboo Blu, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2014

Much thanks for your review!

We will be sure to commend Clayton on his exemplary service :)

Xome again, we'd love to serve you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2014

The food was GREAT and so is the location! Service was excellent also. I love this place because of the area location mostly (relaxation and dining in 1) THUMPS UP!!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Phillip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bamboo B, General Manager at Bamboo Blu, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2014

Thank you for your review!

Glad to hear you had an unforgettable time with us =)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bamboo Blu also viewed

Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 

Been to Bamboo Blu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing