We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food & friendly staff”
Review of Bamboo Blu

Bamboo Blu
Ranked #5 of 115 Restaurants in Ocho Rios
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $40
Cuisines: Caribbean, Jamaican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: FREE Wi-Fi Available. Also, please note Bamboo Blu is not a public beach, reservations are required at our restaurant to access beach facilities. Be Brave - drink a BIG BAMBOO in your very own to keep Bamboo Chalice. Be a Star - Howl at the Moon around our nightly bonfire. Be Liz Taylor. Be Martin Luther King. Be Frank Sinatra - they created this historic jetsetters hideaway! Be Mellow - pre Reggae tunes of Mento & Ska air when local Rastafarian guitarist Jah Happystone takes a snooze. Be Hungry - eat new original for 2015 -Jerky's Popcorn Pork Festival Bites. Be Happy.
Reviewed June 16, 2014

My boyfriend and I decided to have our final meal on vacation at Bamboo Blu because we were staying next door at the RIU. We revived a coupon that got us a free rum punch which was served in a cup made out of bamboo and was a souviener to take home. The seafood was absolutely delicious!! My boyfriend had the lobster and he said he has never had lobster cooked like that in his life! The live music was very nice along with the seating being right on the beach. The views of the moon rising over the ocean were fabulous!

A big shout out to our waitress Olivia . . . she was so friendly and very personable, calling us by our first names. She must have stood there talking to us for at least a half hour about Jamaica and its culture, and we thoroughly enjoyed learning about it from a local!

If you have the opportunity to go to Bamboo Blu, do it -- the food is delicious and its a great opportunity to meet friendly local people and enjoy your authentic meal oceanfront!

Thank Aliciaaxx26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bamboo B, General Manager at Bamboo Blu, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2014

Hi there!

Thank you for your review! Glad that you decided to stop by before heading home :) We will surely commend Olivia on her service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,211)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

907 - 911 of 1,211 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2014

We went here 2 times in our 10 days in Jamaica.
We went there since it was ranked good on tripadvisor and the dinner at the resort was not that good. It was right next to our resort. (Riu Ocho Rios) See my finger on the map.

We arrived at 19:30 on both occassions. Early for dining because the tables filled around 21:00.
Reservation advised. Ambiance was excellent with the live music and the location at sea. Ofcourse if you lunch there you have more view on the sea.
Around 21:00 they start a bonfire.

First time we had the crab wontons and some kind of fish balls (i forgot). Both very nice. Crab meat is really in the wonton! (at some restaurants you have to search good for the ingredients)
For main we both had the baked bungo crab. Very tast. Accompanied with hardo bites. Which is some sort of garlic toasted bread. Basically you can eat a crab sandwich if you like or just spoon out the crab meat. The crab was tasty and presented in the shell. We had 4 red stripe beers for drinks

Prices for all of this: about $110,-
You have the prices of your food, then a tax and a service charge. Plus we tipped extra.
The live musician didn't receive pay i believe so he got $20 and he toasted his drink on us.

The live music by the way is very good. Acoustic guitar and a characteristic man with a good voice and style doing all kinds of classics. Some bob marley but also louis armstrong with a good raspy voice, eric clapton, ub40 and all very good artists and perhaps some own songs.

Second time we had the peppered shrimp (bring tissues if you're not used to eat a bit spicy) and the jerky's popcorn pork festival bites. The shrimp are seasoned good and the vedgetables on the plate too. The popcorn pork bites are like baked or fried pigs in a blanket. This was tasty but not my favorite kind of texture.
For main we had one baked bungo crab again and i took the Jamaica's jerkiest chicken. They have a menu they flyer around and the menu at the restaurant misses some of these items and vice versa. When they were flyering at the resort we got vouchers for a free rum & coke in a bamboo mug. (mug is a nice souvenir)
The Jamaica's jerkiest was not my favorite since the chicken had some chopped bones in them and it was a bit dark on the terrace. The spotlight on the roof casts a shadow of your hand when you try to cut the meat from the bone. I could choose between leg and thigh or breast and wing. I took breast and wing, maybe should have gone for the other.
Drinks were 2 red stripe beer and a wine.

Prices for all of this: about $105,-
The same buildup as above. Product, tax, service and an extra tip.
Apart from this we gave another $10 to the musician and took some pictures together.

Staff was very friendly and good at service. First night we were serviced by Tyrone and the second time by Olivia.

The food was very good. I did have better at some points in life but it was certainly one of the most romantic spots we ever dined due to the ambiance of the musician, the food and the location with the nice weather. This combination is something that dreams are made of and you start to fantasize about starting your own place in a tropical country. :)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jerry O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bamboo B, General Manager at Bamboo Blu, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2014

Hi Jerry!

First of all...thank you for this review...it's so very detailed and made me feel like I was right there with you! Just awesome.

I am glad you enjoyed yourself and we do hope you visit us for another romantic dinner under the moonlight if you're back in Jamaica!

I would just like to add that our musician, Jah Happystone, certainly is paid as he is a Bamboo Blu Family Member!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2014

I was there with some family and it was one of the most memorable and authentic evenings we have ever had. The bon fire and the rasta guitar man top it off.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Linton G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bamboo B, General Manager at Bamboo Blu, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2014

Hi Linton!

Thank you for your review :)

We look forward to serving you again...!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2014

I am a Jamaican living in the US and this is the best restaurant I have been to in Jamaica. This experience made my stay memorable. The food was of excellent quality and the customer service was first class. Now considering using this for my 50th birthday celebrations... Big up Bamboo Blu!!!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Arlene J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bamboo B, General Manager at Bamboo Blu, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2014

Hi Arlene!

We're glad to hear of a returning resident loving Bamboo Blu as much as you do :) It would be our pleasure to host your milestone celebration...let us know what you decide!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2014

This is one of the most peaceful and relaxing spots on earth. Their coconut run down snapper was breath taking!!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Terry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bamboo B, General Manager at Bamboo Blu, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Thanks for stopping by Terry!

Glad you enjoyed your meal :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bamboo Blu also viewed

Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 

Been to Bamboo Blu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing