We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden away but worth finding”
Review of Bamboo Blu

Bamboo Blu
Ranked #5 of 112 Restaurants in Ocho Rios
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $40
Cuisines: Caribbean, Jamaican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: FREE Wi-Fi Available. Also, please note Bamboo Blu is not a public beach, reservations are required at our restaurant to access beach facilities. Be Brave - drink a BIG BAMBOO in your very own to keep Bamboo Chalice. Be a Star - Howl at the Moon around our nightly bonfire. Be Liz Taylor. Be Martin Luther King. Be Frank Sinatra - they created this historic jetsetters hideaway! Be Mellow - pre Reggae tunes of Mento & Ska air when local Rastafarian guitarist Jah Happystone takes a snooze. Be Hungry - eat new original for 2015 -Jerky's Popcorn Pork Festival Bites. Be Happy.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Hidden away but worth finding”
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Only knew about this as friends were staying at the adjacent all inclusive hotel. Had a very pleasent meal on the beach with good food and great atmosphere.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bamboo B, General Manager at Bamboo Blu, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
SO glad you 'found' us :)

Thank you for your review and do drop by again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    929
    168
    55
    17
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ocho Rios, Jamaica
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant in Ocho Rios”
Reviewed June 4, 2014

My Bamboo Blu experience was simply amazing. The evening was great with the girls. Started out with a lovely meal on the beach (it was so hard to decide on what to eat; as everything looked delectable). The staff gave excellent customer service-keep up the good work..:). After dinner we ended up lyming at the bar and we were ready to have fun-we danced for hours......mannnnnn we did not want to leave. I would definitely recommend this restaurant to anyone for any occasion.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank GlitterHall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bamboo B, General Manager at Bamboo Blu, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Thank you for your detailed review :)

We hope to see you again..perhaps for a romantic dinner? :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trelawny
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“great place to unwind”
Reviewed June 4, 2014

Bamboo Blu is located in a private gated community so it is very safe. when you arrive at the gate to Mammee Bay ( next door to RIU) just let them know you are going to the restaurant.
Menu is Jamaican with a flair. rustic setting on an excellent beach. Live Lobster when in season but also the basics are done right( wings, burgers etc.). extensive drink menu and excellent service. Gift shop and massage services available during the day. great to hang out for the day and have a nice swim and excellent ambiance for a romantic dinner.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BZTMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bamboo B, General Manager at Bamboo Blu, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Thank you for your review!

We look forward to seeing you again :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
1 review
“Wonderful food. Bamboo Blue Ochio Rios Jamaica”
Reviewed June 4, 2014

We recently just got back from Jamaica. We stayed at Rui Ocho Rios and Bamboo blu was just a walk down the beach. We had read review on Tripadvisor that it was a must see. Went down for supper one night. We were the only people there and the meal was wonderful. Cassemie was our waitress and was wonderful. We had read the Lobster dinner was wonderful and it lived up to its reviews.
While we were there a elderly gentleman played his guitar and was awesomel Very romantic.
Please if you ever have a chance to dine at Bamboo Blu do . You won't forget it.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jamaicagirl107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bamboo B, General Manager at Bamboo Blu, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Thank you for stopping by...glad to hear we lived up to your expectations!

We look forward to serving you again :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Jamaica
1 review
“Authentic Jamaican experience”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

I loved my visit to Bamboo Blu, the service, the pristine waters of the beach and of course the sumptuous meals made the day out for my family a great one. I wouldn't hesitate in recommending this place for all that it offers. Hats off to the staff! The spring rolls and salt fish were my favorite. The clean facilities and the activities for children also were pluses.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aliz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bamboo B, General Manager at Bamboo Blu, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Thank you for your review!

We are happy to hear of your experience and hope to serve you and your family soon again :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bamboo Blu also viewed

Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 

Been to Bamboo Blu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing