We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic romantic place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hermosa Cove - Jamaica's Villa Hotel
Ranked #3 of 35 Hotels in Ocho Rios
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 10, 2012

My partner and I recently spent 3 nights at this resort and can't fault it in any way.
I found the resort by chance on the tripadvisor speciality lodging after having searched many weeks trying to find a suitable place on the North coast of Jamaica which wasn't the usual all inclusive.
This place is very special indeed. We are both hard working professionals so finding the right hotel to cater for our needs was important. As their website indicates it is a small resort of exclusive villas which are absolutely immaculate to look at and also have lots of little extra's which shows that they care about the detail.
Even before arrival they asked whether we needed any assistance with travel, groceries etc. We stayed in the breadfruit villa (all by the way are beautiful just take a look at their website). They are furnished to a very high standard with good quality equipment in the kitchen, something rarely found in villa rentals. Special extra's we noted were a good coffee machine, a blender for making your own cocktails, plenty sharp knives and in the bathroom good quality shampoo, conditioner and aftersun cream.
The outdoor shower and private dip pool were a delight as was the beautiful artwork liberally scattered about the villa. One important thing for us was internet connection. Each villa has it's own router which results in high speed internet connection (just in case you are unlucky enough to have to log on for work!)
The restaurant and staff were happy to cater to our needs. So we ate when we wanted and they were happy to prepare a surprise Jamaican menu for dinner which was delicious. You can of course request your own preference but we enjoyed leaving it up to the cook. Prices at the restaurant were quite acceptable. On our last night they surprised us with a special dinner on the beach, complete with candles. Something that we didn't request but they made the effort to make it very special and romantic and I could see the excitement of the staff in arranging this as they were determined to keep it a secret from us.
The beach at the property looks small on the website but there is in fact plenty of space to chill out or you can use their snorkels and kayaks for a bit of adventure.
The property is close to Ocho Rios town itself if you want to try other restaurants or do a bit of shopping. We hired a car so took the opportunity to venture out and visited Dunns River Falls (a must see) and nearby Reggae beach.
We are still in Jamaica but now further along the North Coast enjoying Boston Bay.
We loved Hermosa Cove though so we decided to call back again for a few more nights before ending our Jamaican trip.
I recommend this place for all those busy people who need to escape the crowds and enjoy a bit of peace and luxury.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MixedNationalities
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (286)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

275 - 281 of 286 reviews

Reviewed January 31, 2012

Hermosa Cove provided an escape from everything. The staff was great and the resort was more than I could have dreamed of. Location was nice as you could walk to down town Ocho Rios yet were far enough away to relax. Snorkeling was amazing and the resorts equipment was top notch. The villas were beautifully decorated and well designed for your comfort. I would recommend Hermosa Cove to anyone who needs to get way and revitalize.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank islandtimeUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2012

I love this place! It's luxurious and worth every penny. The staff is great and very friendly. They are helpful and there for any assistance during tour stat. I like that it is a resort but does not have that busy loud resort feel. It's so serene and peaceful. Every view from this place is beautiful; I highly recommend to vacation here. I'm di impressed I will return for the summer!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lallen4383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2012

At the beginning of our vacation, my fiancé and I were staying at a rival resort; a resort that drastically lacked staff hospitality. Each day of our stay at our resort was accompanied by a bombardment of offers for trips and excursions that delved past the act of harassment. But for the sake of security and assurance we decided to rent our kayak from the operator of water excursions in the resort. After paying our fare we were presented with a withered beaten kayak. We complained but were ensured of its irrefutable quality and dependability. So we got on it and ventured off. After a beautiful 30min kayak along the coast I realized that the kayak seemed heavier. The bottom and top of the kayak were coming undone in certain places resulting in water filling the hull of the kayak. Before time permitted us to reach shore we cap-sized. We each threw on a life vest and I instructed my girlfriend to swim to shore, while I tugged the now submerged kayak behind me. Kayaks are built in such a way that they should never actually sink, this one on the other hand, went completely under. The next 20 min proved to be one of the most grueling experiences we have faced. Not only was I pulling the kayak but I had to do so over a shallow reef. This resulted in us getting several gashes and stings.

My fiancé, having reached the shore first, went running for help. She found help quickly at Hermosa Cove (which actually owned the beach we washed up at). Not only did the staff come to assist but the owners, Mr. and Mrs. Korver, came running down to our rescue. Without missing a step they where assisting in rehabilitating not only our physical state (with medical supplies) but most importantly our mental state. They quickly had the staff bring the kayak to a safe place and had a cab waiting to take us back to our resort. After arriving at our resort we had to deal with the gentlemen who rented us the kayak. Though I will not go into detail now, I will say that the level or disrespect and hostility we experienced outraged us. After we rested, we decided to go back to Hermosa Cove to thank the staff and Mr. and Mrs. Korver personally for their utmost display of kindness. When we arrived to thank them we were once again astounded by their generosity and hospitality. They graciously accompanied us to their bar where we sat enjoying wonderful cold drinks and shared our stories. When we explained the experience we faced at our resort they kindly informed us that the kayak should never have been rented to us because it was not certified by the marina police. They were well versed in local regulations that ensured safety and enjoyment for tourists. After a joyous conversation they showed us around the resort/villas. After an impressive in depth view of the decadent facilities and villas with a lavish array of art from all over the world, they drove us back to our resort. They even made arrangements for our ride to the airport the following day with one of their trusted taxi drivers.

Their luxurious display of hospitality, sympathetic attitude, and willingness to do good and give pleasure will never be forgotten. We have now found our new vacation spot for Jamaica.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank felipe w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2012

Hermosa Cove offered a wonderfully relaxing getaway for my family as we celebrated my wife's 50th birthday. The grounds are immaculate. The service attentive, but not overbearing. The chefs prepared anything you could ask for--Jamaican specialties like curried pork, whole fried fish, or just steak & lobster. The complimentary morning breakfast was a selection of exotic fruits paired with homemade banana nut bread.

The reef offshore offered very good snorkling. The fish life was a bit less than one might expect due to local overfishing, but there was plenty to see including 3 types of eels. Local restaurants offered great food, though it was all on Jamaican time (couple hours is typical).

Enjoy.

Room Tip: With only 9 villas every one is special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TNtentman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2012

Our family of 19 stayed for 10 days at Hermosa Cove, renting all three of the 3 bedroom villas. To begin, the grounds are immaculate--- the walkways seemed to be swept around the clock and there is so much beautiful foliage it lends privacy between all of the buildings. The villas themselves are new and beautifully, but uniquely, decorated. Their are super-powerful A/C's in each of the bedrooms, but none downstairs in the living room/kitchen area, and none needed. The housekeepers always wear a smile and will keep all of the rooms sparkling. Your private pool will be cleaned every morning. The beach is not large, but big enough to enjoy the lounge chairs or have children play in the sand. Kayaks are kept clean and are brought out with a smile by David, who also painstakingly cleans and rakes the sand every morning. We brought our own snorkeling equipment and while the snorkeling is not the best, it is a fun activity -- you will see some colorful fish and, if you're lucky, an octopus as my daughter did. The restaurant staff is very accommodating (Yanique, Mayjean, Cleveland!, etc.) and meals are enjoyed in the open air with a gorgeous view. The complimentary continental breakfast is served up fast and is comprised of fresh fruit, banana bread and coffee or juice. Meal service for dinner is not fast, but we didn't find timely meal service anywhere on the island! We had a special birthday celebration one night and the staff made it all possible -- meeting with the singer we hired, setting up tables on the beach with candles and tiki torches and even joining in as we all sang Happy Birthday. Katherine, the manager, is extremely helpful with everything from planning excursions to hiring a private chef in one of our villas one night to helping print boarding passes -- she is a gem!

Bottom line -- if you enjoy huge, all-inclusive resorts -- Hermosa Cove is not for you. However, if you prefer personal attention, where the staff knows your name (and your children!) by the end of the first day, it is well worth it.

Room Tip: Ginger Villa has some views of the ocean (through the trees), don't think the others do. Howeve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Codeedo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Stayed at one of the villas at Hermosa Cove recently and loved it. The villas are old style georgian arhitecture meets modern opulence. Loved the high ceilings, eclectic furnishings and private pool. Each villa is completely private but there's a restaurant and bar on the property so you dont have to do without anything. The service was fantastic too. Wonderful property!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dylan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocho Rios
1.0 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#1 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,310 reviews
83.8 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
48.0 mi away
Geejam
Geejam
#1 of 16 in Port Antonio
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
83.7 mi away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#1 of 80 in Negril
243 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sandals Royal Plantation
Sandals Royal Plantation
#2 of 35 in Ocho Rios
2,577 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sandals Ochi Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermosa Cove - Jamaica's Villa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermosa Cove - Jamaica's Villa Hotel

Address: Hermosa Street, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
#3 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range: $433 - $865 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hermosa Cove - Jamaica's Villa Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Caribbean’s most distinctive handcrafted resort, Hermosa Cove offers the discerning traveler a private island home. Nestled in twelve lush acres on Jamaica’s Gold Coast, our secluded villas evoke the intimate charm of an idyllic seaside village. Luxurious art-filled interiors open to tropical gardens with glistening dip pools. Several villas have spectacular ocean views, and all are just a short stroll from the water. The resort’s reef-studded cove features two pristine beaches with complimentary kayaking and snorkeling. Christopher’s, our award-winning signature restaurant, serves up locally sourced cuisine with international flair, and The Broken Rudder offers the atmosphere of a cozy jerk shack down by the beach. A seaside paradise with unmatched seclusion, Hermosa Cove is conveniently located in Ocho Rios just minutes from Jamaica’s most popular attractions and most breathtaking natural wonders. Our friendly staff will help arrange your personal adventure, and even accompany you as a tour guide. Whether your dream getaway involves adventure or solitude, romance or reconnection, come indulge your senses and revive your spirit…your way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TravelUp, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hermosa Cove - Jamaica's Villa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hermosa Cove - Jamaica's Villa Hotel Ocho Rios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing