We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great stay...”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Ocho Rios Retreat

View from balcony
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from balcony
Master bedroom master bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
34 reviews
View from balcony
Master bedroom
master bedroom
Twin bedroom made up as  king size bed
Twin bedroom
grounds
grounds
Tag Mahal duty free shopping
Children's play area
Twin bedroom
Twin beds made into king size bed
pool
Kitchen
Guest bathroom
Living room and dining area
Grounds leading to Turtle Beach
Turtle Beach minutes from the apartment
master bedroom
guest  bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish, Jamaica

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
JanCanada...
Dartmouth, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great stay...”
Reviewed March 3, 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Very comfortable, very clean....and great location.
Condo is exactly as it shows on the web site, and is even better in person. Everything you need is there, and Annette takes great care in maintaining the apt.
We have stayed there before and each time is perfect!

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 8, 2015
Thank you for your review

Welcome back !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lovelymo7...
Texas
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Location, location, location”
Reviewed February 24, 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I traveled to Ochi with my best friend to visit my boyfriend and other friends. My boyfriend and I stayed for 9 nights, while my best friend stayed for 4 nights. From the first email sent to the owner, Jacqueline, she was approachable and answered all my questions. She even called me one time to verify our final arrangements.

My best friend and I arrived a bit late but Annette had left the key for us to get in the apartment and came by later that night to greet us.

Overall, the apartment is a good break from an all-inclusive. My boyfriend and I were able to cook every day and the kitchen supplied us with enough cooking utensils, pots and pans. The location is ideal. We were right by supermarkets, restaurants and banks. Also, a short walk to the center of town.

A downside of our stay was the water heater leaked in the apartment and had to be replaced. It was a bit of an inconvenience but Jacqueline and Annette (the housekeeper) were very responsive and got it fixed within 2 days.

Also, there were no handcloths/wash cloths. So, if you are used to using those while bathing, make sure you bring your own. Or do like we did, head to Basco right up the street and buy them for less than $1 USD.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 9, 2015
Thank you for your review, once again our apologies for the inconvenience caused by the water heater leaking unfortunately this could not have been foreseen but was rectified/ replaced as soon as it was brought to our attention.
We no longer supply wash cloths as former guests have indicated that they would prefer to supply their own as they feel ithat this is a personal item.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike M
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect !!!”
Reviewed February 3, 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Very nice apartment, 2 bathrooms, nice kitchen , even a laptop , a wifi acess ....
Adorable, smiling maid!
Great location!
1 min from a beautiful private beach and very uncrowded !!
1 min from small shopping centers where you can buy souvenirs
Equidistant from the biggest cities of the island!
Owner very attentive to any questions or tips!
In short, no surprises, everything was perfect for us !

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 4, 2015
Thank you for your review, happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you will consider booking with us again,
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jan 29, 2015
Thank you so much !

Really pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope you will visit again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
CoreyLW
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay”
Reviewed August 27, 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We have stayed at many all inclusive resorts over the years. This trip we wanted to try a rental. I found this one through Trip Advisor and the reviews were great! So we booked it for our vacation for two weeks at the end of March, beginning of April. Our plane was early and it took less time for us to get to rental the we thought it would. The housekeeper Annette was calked and raced to let us in. She was AWESOME!! The condo is a great size. I travelled with my husband and two daughters (12 & 8). The kitchen was great to have, two bathrooms was perfect. Having televisions with all the channels we are used to was great for relaxing evenings. The pool was basic, but still nice to have. The beach is private entrance and the only people who will bother you on the beach are the boat tours. But, I found with a simple daily, "not today, I'll let you know when", they left me alone. You have to walk a bit down the beach to get away from the seaweed but he sand was nice and water was beautiful. I recommend shopping on days that the cruise ships are in (Annette knows these days, and so much more!) the days the cruise ship docks they put a lot of police on the streets to stop begging. We never had a huge problem on any day, but cruise ship days nobody bothers you! The wifi went out while we were there and Annette called Jackie in the UK who worked very hard to get it going. And they did. Annette called a couple times to make sure everything was okay, she really cared. Annette is a wealth of knowledge who loves if you stick around while she cleans and chat. In Ochie, I recommend going to Mystic Mountain (Annette also works there!) Mystic Mountain was by far our favorite excursion in Ochie. Plan to spend a whole day there! Groceries in Ochie are very expensive, mostly if you are hoping to get things you are used to in Canada or the US. If you buy Jamaican products they are much more reasonable. I recommend getting pizza from Pizza Hut, it is awesome! There's something about the cheese in Jamaica that is great! It was a great vacation and coming back to our awesome vacation rental at the end of the day was perfect! It was comfortable and there was space for us all to get away from each other for awhile.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The size of the condo.
Liked least: The pool.
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 3, 2014
Thank you for your review, we are pleased that you enjoyed your vacation in our apartment and hope to be able to accomodate you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jacquison
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Just wonderful - everything we wanted”
Reviewed August 10, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed at Turtle Beach Towers apartment 43C from 13th- 28th July 2014. This was my 4th visit to Jamaica, having always stayed in all-inclusive resorts. We decided that as there were 4 of us travelling we would attempt to keep the cost down by staying in an apartment.
On first booking, our initial contact with the owner Jacqueline Lawrence was very positive. She provided us with a wealth of information about the apartment, the surrounding area and additional information and advice around airport transfers etc.

On arrival at the apartment 2 hours later than expected (we were delayed by large queues at Mo’bay airport due to Reggae Sunfest) we were greeted by Annette the house keeper. She was lovely, showed us around the apartment, where items were kept, and safes etc. and assisted us with sorting out the internet access. We negotiated with Annette the days she would come to clean and change bedding and towels.

The apartment was wonderful with everything you would need. Everything was in working order and it looked exactly how it appeared in the photographs on the website. We were all extremely pleased. I was travelling with my partner and 21year old daughter and her friend. Having the bedrooms located away from each other and having an en suite bathroom provided us with lots of privacy.

The location of the apartment was ideal. It was close enough to the entrance of the complex, the pool and close to the beautiful beach which was reached by a secure gate at the back of the complex.

Turtle Beach Towers is very well located. My daughter and her friend were able to go out alone shopping, to the beach/pool and to the night club (Margaritaville) without the necessity for transport. We were able to easily walk into the main town of Ochi Rios for shopping, markets, restaurants, bars etc.

We all had a great holiday, with a mixture of rest and relaxation, but not too far away from the hustle and bustle of the town. We all said we would defiantly return to Turtle Beach Towers and felt that the change from an all-inclusive resort provided us with much needed flexibility and allowed much more choice in where to eat with some insight into the Real Jamaica! Thank You Jacqueline!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Overall condition of the apartment and the location
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 12, 2014
Thank you for your review we are happy that you enjoyed your stay and hope to be able to welcome you back in the future
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
May 7, 2014
Thank you very much for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope to accommodate you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing