We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dunn's River Falls” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dunn's River Falls and Park

Dunn's River Falls and Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$86.00*
and up
Jamaica Dunn's River Falls Party Cruise with Snorkeling
Ranked #2 of 69 things to do in Ocho Rios
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Saint Peters, Missouri
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Dunn's River Falls”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

We really enjoyed our visit to Dunn's River Falls. We chose to do it ourselves without the help of a guide. I did not like the idea of holding onto hands while trying to climb and keep our balance. My 3 teens were with me and the boys raced ahead and climbed the hardest part but still managed to come back and help me when it got tough. The guide that showed us into the park gave us instructions about staying to the left for the most part while going up the falls and staying off the black colored rocks as they are slippery. This all proved true. We were also told to not stop and talk to anyone, not shake anyone's hand, and to just say no thanks and keep walking as we walked through the vendors at the end. this was also good advice and we had no trouble at all with the vendors. This was a beautiful place and I am really glad we chose to go and climb the falls.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank kellykendle2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13,662 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7,790
    4,047
    1,314
    326
    185
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Grande Prairie, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful falls”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

For the first bit they make everyone hold hands in a chain going up. Very awkward to climb without using your hands. Eventually just had to let go. Also, the guides are pretty pushy at the end about leaving a tip.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Deb I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
“Great Time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

We were the first up earlier in the day. I'd recommend taking the first excursion available. The guides are pushy and the DVD isn't really worth the money, but a fun memory.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ed P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good times... Note: The falls start at the BEACH”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

Don’t have a one man "tour guide" help you up the falls. There was a guy there that said he worked there and he would take us up the falls... turns out he didn't work there. Where he had us start was actually the half point area. When we got to the top he rushed us to get to our locker to tip him. The falls start at the beach! We went back and did the falls again and started at the beach. You will need to go down some stairs to get to the bottom of the falls. You will climb up the falls and go under the overpass. if someone offers to take you, make sure you're part of a large group. The group will hold hands as they walk up the falls. The falls are great and the water is warm. Make sure you have water shoes! The guides help you up the falls and take pictures and videos as you climb the falls which they later sell. The only thing i didn't like was that you must keep moving up the falls. You can’t enjoy the pools or sit and hang out. If you drive yourself to the falls it's a $20 fee to enter.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Carmen55_05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Don't Miss It”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

My wife and I loved this and I wanted to do it again. If you want the video then bargain with them. If you look at the shops after the falls you better be able to so no and walk away. They are pushy but not disrespectful.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank William P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dunn's River Falls and Park also viewed

 
Negril, Westmoreland Parish
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 

Been to Dunn's River Falls and Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing