We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what we expected”

Dunn's River Falls and Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$86.00*
and up
Jamaica Dunn's River Falls Party Cruise with Snorkeling
More Info
$59.99*
and up
Dunns River Falls and Ocho Rios Shopping Tour
More Info
$39.00*
and up
Dunn's River Falls Tour from Ocho Rios
Ranked #2 of 69 things to do in Ocho Rios
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Hatfield Peverel, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not what we expected”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We booked to do this without any research and so were surprized it wasn't a nice walk through the forest to a cool pool but a treck up the falls. Don't go when cruises are in town, we were lucky and it was not to packed. Still busy and it is a challenge to climb the falls so I would not want to go when it was over busy. The guides made it safe and no one got hurt. Good fun and glad we did it - however we won't be rushing back, once was enough!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Stella S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14,499 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8,328
    4,251
    1,385
    343
    192
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Take a Taxi”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

If you go, take a taxi if you can, and go first thing in the morning. When tour buses come, it gets really busy and ruins the entire experience.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank GacekKaska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOBBS
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Woooooo!”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I wasn't too sure about doing this adventure at my age (56) but the guide led me (personally) through the whole thing. I was at the front of the line with him and he took very good care of me. It was an awesome experience.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank DOUGLAS S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Kansas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“FUN FUN”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

so much fun !! was worth the climb and the guides help you so much its always a good time and the vendors very friendly too

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank jinx947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Hot Hot Hot! Wet Wet Wet!”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This was an excursion that we really were looking forward to and it lived up to all of our expectations! We went with 2 other couples and were with a nice group as we walked up the falls. The guides advise hand holding up the falls but our group did not do well with this direction. We had some slow pokes as well as quick climbers so our group ended up extremely spread out and mixed in with some other tours at points.

There are a couple spots with easy routes and hard routes and my crazy husband took some of the hard routes. The tour guides were excellent and worked hard. There was also a guide with a video camera who taped our group and often tried to get us laughing and doing silly things for the video such as yelling "Hot Hot Hot, Wet Wet Wet" in unison or splashing one another. We did end up buying the video for $40 and are very happy to have the memory! The quality of the video is pretty poor, but it was still worth the memory.

After you finish and are exiting the falls there are stands with souvenirs for purchase.

My one negative comment is that we were a bit taken back by the aggressive nature of the tour guides pressuring us to tip. It ruined the end of the trip a bit for us because we were extremely uncomfortable. They pressure for tips as soon as you get to the top of the falls and then wait by the door of the bus for more tips. Dunn’s was a great excursion though and we would highly recommend it. We used Jamaican Tours.

Tip: Make sure to bring watershoes and an underwater camera! They have shoes for rent but they are not in great condition and your camera will absolutely get wet. Do not even think to bring a non-waterproof camera. Also, buy a waterproof money holder. You will need dry money to tip the guides.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Hayley724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dunn's River Falls and Park also viewed

Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 
Negril, Westmoreland Parish
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 

Been to Dunn's River Falls and Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing