We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yeah mon @ The Falls”

Dunn's River Falls and Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$86.00*
and up
Jamaica Dunn's River Falls Party Cruise with Snorkeling
Ranked #2 of 69 things to do in Ocho Rios
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Yeah mon @ The Falls”
Reviewed November 7, 2011

After neary an hours drive from the hotel we finally arrived at the Falls. Take a waterproof camera with you and rubber soled shoes. if you dont have shoes you can hire them there, US$7.
You are taken by 2 guides & video camera man to the beach for some very loud chanting before your long high climb with a group of around 20 hand in hand. On the way up you are videoed whilst you climb up the very cold, but refreshing waters. There is also some play diving & slide rocks& also areas to stand under the forceful flows. One of the waterfalls feels like a very good massage. Once at the top you get the chance to purchase the video US$40. Only get this if you've not got a camera, although its quite a good keepsake although fairly short footage-about 35mins. Once out the top there are bars & souvenir shops Parkland area. A must if you have'nt done it!!!!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank DaveTheJock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14,328 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8,223
    4,207
    1,363
    343
    192
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Odessa, FL
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“AWESOME time but bring your tip money”
Reviewed November 6, 2011

We booked this excursion thru Carnival Cruise lines. We were disappointed in Carnival as the price was extremely high compared to the prices at the door. It was not an "organized" excursion as we've had in the past where you stay with the entire group the entire time. Pros and Cons to that. Anyway, back to the River! GREAT time! Rocks are slippery and you MUST have water shoes. The rentals go for about $7/pair and are gross. You can buy for $20. If you can buy water shoes at Walmart or Target before you go, this is your best bet. It takes about an hour to climb the river. They have guides to help you up and of course, take photos and videos that they will sell you at the end of your trip. I just had knee surgery and was recovering from a stress fracture on my leg, so had to take it slow, but I did make it up! I would say it's moderate activity. Not for the weak! I will warn you!! Anyone that LOOKS at you will ask for a tip! We probably shelled out $80 in tips on this excursion alone! If you are traveling w/ children...tell them ahead of time when someone puts something in their hands for "free" it's not free...they will ask the parents for a "tip" but tell the kids it belongs to them. There is a changing room and lockers. We paid $8 for a very large locker and when you return the key they refund $3. Of course, the ladies who point you to the direction of the changing rooms want tips too! The water is cold, but felt refreshing and the sights were breathtaking! My children ages 8 and 11 LOVED this excursion and would love to go back. Next time we cruise in, we'll just take a taxi and pay at the door!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank nolegirl811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berwyn, PA
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Worth the trip?”
Reviewed November 6, 2011

we unwittingly signed on to a day trip to Dunn's River Falls. We were staying in Negril, so it would be 3 hours each way. We wanted to cancel, but went because the tour operator would not refund us. It was worth the trip, but only because the 3 hour tour of the Jamaican countryside was fantastic. My wife and I had the driver all to ourselves, and he gave us a running commentary to and from Ocho Rios. Dunns River Falls is beautiful. However, we went during slow season, and it was still very crowded. Our guide told us that in high season, the place is wall to wall tourists. When you get out from the falls, be prepared to fight your way through a gauntlet of (somewhat aggressive) vendors. All in all, the beauty of the countryside and the falls made the trip worth it, but beware.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank ricjo524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston, ma
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fun Fun Fun”
Reviewed November 6, 2011

We took the walk up the River with a local Dunn's River guide - Wilson - so much fun!!!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank marinasky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallingford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
84 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“LOVE DUNN'S RIVER”
Reviewed November 4, 2011

This was our 3rd time up the fall! We go back every time we are in Jamaica. The tour guides take pictures and video and it may seem like a lot, but it was so fun to get home and watch the DVD we bought. The tour guides were great the climb was fun and the views amazing!!!!

Visited March 2011
Helpful?
Thank Holly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dunn's River Falls and Park also viewed

Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 
Negril, Westmoreland Parish
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 

Been to Dunn's River Falls and Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing