We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“One of a Kind Attraction” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Island Gully Falls

Island Gully Falls
Book In Advance
$106.25*
and up
Ocho Rios Dunn's River Falls and Blue Hole
Ranked #1 of 68 things to do in Ocho Rios
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“One of a Kind Attraction”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

Wow! What can I say about this....we had read all of tge reviews and were still a little uncertain of this activity. We took a Peat Taylor tour up in the hills east of ocho rios. The Blue Hole is hidden well up in the hills, take a tour, you will not b able to find it on your own.
Now, once arriving we were greeted by the local tour guide Dillon & Cole, they were great. They are two of 14 local guides that are there to help you. They explained everything that we would do and helped us all along the way. The local guys there show off by running full speed and jumping off of a 30' cliff into the Blue Hole. The Blue hole is a series of waterfalls that flow into a limestone mineral "hole", looking very blue to the eye.
You get to jump/dive into the Blue hole from several different places, up high, down low, off the waterfall, etc. You get to swim under the waterfall and climb out a cave behind the falls. You get to climb the falls to other points experiencing the cool refreshing water. Totally Amazing!!!!!!!

I agree with many of the other reviews that the BLUE HOLE IS THE BEST AtTRACTION IN Jamaica, Hands down!,,,,,The water is just amazing.
DO THE BLUE HOLE! ITS BETTER THAN DUNNS RIVER FALLS! We spent about 1.5 hours and it seemed like 3 hours of fun!
The Peat Taylor tour guide will entertain you on you 30 minute journey there through the hills of Ochi.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirk I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,880 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,365
    395
    91
    12
    17
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pa
Level Contributor
120 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“WOW!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

The place is GORGEOUS, although getting up there was a bit frightening as some of the roads are iffy at best! I was honestly unsure what we would be doing at the Blue Hole, but we sure did it ALL! I am sorry to say I do not remember the names of the 2 guys who guided us through the falls, and I, personallly, owe them BIG for all the help they gave me! They were incredibly strong and pleasant and we were all very grateful! It is am amazing experience and I HIGHLY suggest it, but know it can get pretty scary and requires a bit of physical agility and strength. You CAN do it though with their help!!! Absolutely BEAUTIFUL and fun!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank bodhi0916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A hidden gem, an oasis, and the most beautiful place on earth.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

We arranged a private driver to take us to the blue hole as this is not your typical tourist attraction. Our driver set us up with a local named Kevin who our guide. Kevin was great, he took care of my Mom helping her along the way through a series of fresh water falls and caves, we jumped from the falls and cliffs into crystal clear blue water, surrounded by jungle. Kevin only asked for $10 US pp, but we tipped well. He took some of our best pictures during our trip, had water shoes for rent $5 US pp but I would recommend you bring your own. We enjoyed the tour so much we visited twice.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jimmehh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Off the Beaten Path”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

I loved that this "attraction" was off the beaten path, not innundated with people and leisurely. Definitely get your water shoes and waterproof cameras for a great time.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank KellyMNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“Wow!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

What a beautiful spot! We were amazed by our guides, Omar and Jerome, at the Blue Hole. They were so patient with us and led us through a series of different spots/experiences at the Blue Hole. They also held onto our waterproof camera and took tons of pictures of us. I would definitely suggest water shoes for this excursion! And, a waterproof camera! The pictures they took were amazing. Our daughters, ages 17 & 20, loved everything about the Blue Hole. My husband and I were a little more "timid" in some of the activities, but enjoyed most of the "challenges" and definitely the scenery!! This should not be missed!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pam J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Island Gully Falls also viewed

 
Negril, Westmoreland Parish
Little Bay, Westmoreland Parish
 

Been to Island Gully Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing