We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“AUTHENTIC JAMAICAN EXPERIENCE WRAPPED IN LUXURY :)”
other travelers have booked this property
Lush vegetation waits you around the three story villa. With views from two verandas.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lush vegetation waits you around the three story villa. With views from two verandas.
Done shopping or just wanted to stay close to home? Relax on our pool deck with a book and enjoy.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
39 reviews
Lush vegetation waits you around the three story villa. With views from two verandas.
Done shopping or just wanted to stay close to home? Relax on our pool deck with a book and enjoy.
Our pool, is always pristine and on point with Mr. Cutty taking care of it each morning.
Relax in the sun just steps way from the pool.
Enjoy a Cigar and Scotch on the villa veranda, with views that compliment both.
Take in the view, where the sky and the sea become one.
Breakfast, dinner and lunch all taste better while viewing the beauty of the Caribbean!
The villa meals are tasty with fresh local produce, meats and fish!
Our living room is spacious yet cozy. Great for family gatherings!
The villa features new granite counter tops and island.
Enjoy lots of fun movies on the CD player or grab a family game out of the tv stand
The Garden Suite features a queen bed with drop down sofa and 2 twin beds.
The Sea Breeze Suite features a queen bed and drop down sofa with 2 twin beds.
The master suite is spacious with a king bed and clawfoot tub plus bath.
On days of Island storms, the colors are so vibrate during sunrises that they take your breath away.
After a long day. Take a night dip under the stars or just sit and enjoy the view.
There are motion sensing  lights all around the property
Cabarita Lookout has one of the most beautiful views  on the North shore of Jamaica.
The Blue Hole is picturesque and fun! Rope swings, falls to climb, great guides!
Racquel, our masseuse, is a certified massage therapist and reflexologist.
Bamboo Beach Club provides chaises, chairs and great dining! Our favorite beach!
Adventurous activities abound in Jamaica and Cutty will arrange them all!
Bamboo Blu is a favorite restaurant! Have a great lunch and jump in the ocean!
Rafting the White River is a beautiful way to spend an afternoon!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish, Jamaica

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
nigeldog1
Fredericton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“AUTHENTIC JAMAICAN EXPERIENCE WRAPPED IN LUXURY :)”
Reviewed January 3, 2015 for a stay in December 2014
2
people found this review helpful

From the moment Cutty met us a MoBay airport, we knew we were in for an experience of a lifetime! It was Christmas Eve , hot and were guided to a nice air conditioned van.
It was like I had known Cutty forever...following other reviews and the Face Book page for Cabarita lookout.
Pam was afraid we may miss connections along the way....since it was after all CHRISTMAS .
She sent ahead to Sharon to get us some essentials to tide us over for a couple of days....you know, important things like Christmas dinner...beer...wine..Jamaican rum :)))
Our flight was on schedule ...but it was lovely to have things ready non the less.
We stopped on route for even more supplies and goodies.

It must have been at least a 3 hour ride with some unique sights along the way, Cutty answered many questions ....probably glad we were almost home..heehee
The road up the mountain is one of the craziest things I've ever seen.
Rough, narrow,, steep...a tad intimidating to say the least ! Funny thing though , after MANY trips up and down that crazy mountain .....it kinda became soothing....a must to do each day ,

Once we arrived it was like HALALAUJHA !!!
Breathtaking views
Beautiful home
Crystal clear pool
Lush green surroundings
Beautiful furniture
Well appointed rooms
It's was just gorgeous ...words can't do it justice .....it has to be seen and experienced . We did some fun excursions. The Blue Hole was awesome, the kids just loved it. Cutty stayed with us everywhere we went. He came to the grocery stores with us.....he told us many stories on the beautiful deck around the pool in the evenings....my teenage sons listened to them all.

He took us to a small fishing village in Port Maria when we purchased two huge Mahi Mahi for New Years supper in which Sharon prepared and fried it for us YUMMY
The grounds are kept up beautifully by Devon aka " SHAKEY "....Danny & Cutty.
ZEKO the dog was a sweetheart ,,,,,we missed our boy so he helped us feel better.
He sure loves left overs !!!!
Buy the looks of his belly this morning....I thik he gained a few ....

Went to bamboo beach club and had a nice day...again,Cutty stayed with us :)
Would never recommend James Bond Beach,,,,,a run down ,bug filled mess
Did some haggling for wood and trinkets...again, under the guidance of Vincent :)
Found a fantastic new grocery store as well,
PROGRESSIVE...its in Ocho rios and very beautifully stocked with fresh meats,fish,cheese...its just like sores in Canada and Usa.

Finally I'll end this long review by saying we wanted to cry when we left Cutty at the airport today :(
He became a part of our family and we will miss him horribly !!!!
Ps we had 3 massages by racquetl
Beautiful nails done too....right at the villa !!!!! Cutty will set you up

You can't go wrong :)
Love you Vincent Cuthbert ( from all of us )

Thanks Pam And Ed !!!!!

Date of stay: December 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: I loved the personal service from Cutty and the cooking from Sharon
Liked least: Trip up the mountain
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IndyBecky
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Ultimate Jamaica Holiday--Authentic Food, Friendly People, Fun Adventure!”
Reviewed January 1, 2015 for a stay in October 2014

Cabarita Lookout is a fun Jamaica vacation destination! Cutty, your personal guide and friend will pick you up at the airport and deliver you to your vacation villa. He is happy to take you wherever you want to go during your stay and can fill you in on what you need to know. Sharon is a fantastic cook and will serve you authentic Jamaican fare--breakfasts are to die for with all kinds of fresh fruit, Rasta eggs, Johnny cakes, and not to mention fresh squeezed orange juice daily! Dinners offer a variety of fresh fish, chicken, and beef on the grill. Be sure to visit Toscanini's Italian Restaurant for dinner at least once--it is a fine dining experience! Okay--enough about food--the villa itself is incredible--very roomy, clean and attractively decorated. All rooms have ac and are very comfortable. The view from every part of the villa is SPECTACULAR and the pool is totally rejuvenating. There are so many places to explore...beaches, craft markets, eco friendly projects and more. If you are looking to party down all night with loud music and trendy night clubs, this is not the place for you. But, if you want to truly experience Jamaican culture and relax in luxury, Cabarita Lookout is your island paradise.

Date of stay: October 2014
How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Scenery & Weather
Liked least: vacation was too short!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MsBLC
Hawthorne, California
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good Place to Be Secluded!”
Reviewed December 9, 2014 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The house is beautiful and the view is gorgeous. However you are far, far, far away from everything. 8 of us went for a surprise 50th birthday. We spent the majority of the time...on the road. The house is situated in the mountains so it is like a tropical island where we got rain and wind everyday. We had at least an hour travel to anything we were interested in doing. We were 2 hours from the airport alone.
I suggest that the owner puts sliding screen doors on the doors so that you can enjoy the breeze and the weather without the bugs coming into the house. We kept the doors open for air and circulation but had to close them due to bugs, which I am not friends with at all. One room in the house has air conditioner and it is located outside the main house, literally.
The cook, Sharon and her sister, Natalie were excellent and very helpful when shopping and deciding on a meal. They are excellent cooks but not good on proportions, we were always hungry after the meal. Be sure to have her Johnny cakes. They are not big on meat with your meal so be sure to speak up about what you want, if you like meat. We were also uncomfortable with renting a place and having people in the house with us the whole time.... no real freedom. Cook came in the morning to prepare breakfast and does not leave until after she prepares dinner, but is at the property all day. There are no staff quarters per se'.
Our driver, Cutty, was sweet as pie, a little slow when it comes to driving and maneuvering but safe. He lives on the premises and has access to the house at his liking. One early morning I awoke to him in the kitchen... frightening to wake up to a man in the house when it is your bedtime and your bedclothes may not be "man" appropriate. He likes to know your plans in advance which takes away from being spontaneous on your vacation. He was not happy one evening with our last minute decision to go out but...oh well.
They cater to what they know and don't venture outside of their own realm. This limited us on being adventurous. There were 8 of us and we felt boxed in at times. Be sure to take you some movies, because there is ONE working channel on TV and it is not even clear. The music was very limited due to no one was able to accurately instruct us on how to work it so.. we luckily brought ipods and speakers for ourselves.
In the area where we stayed, there was NO nightlife to speak of and the staff was not helpful in assisting in finding some. For a birthday celebration, I would prefer to be in the city where you have access to stuff and don't have to be at the discretion of people.
All in all, we had a wonderful time, because we go NO where and have a bad time. The house is beautiful, the staff are nice and I would only go here again if I wanted to take a break from the world.

Date of stay: December 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool even thought it is not heated
Liked least: The lack of screen doors so you can enjoy the fresh mountain air without bugs
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jahkey196...
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Venture off the beaten path......to paradise!”
Reviewed December 8, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Stepping out of the airport into the Jamaican heat and humidity lets you know that you have definitely arrived! Cutty, your driver, will be waiting for you and your vacation starts as soon as you are in the van. The drive to Cabarita Lookout is two hours from the airport, but we stopped for Jerk Chicken and drinks and enjoyed the ride.
When we turned off the main road to climb the mountain that I could not image walking, the road got really bad. It feels like a vertical, pot-hole filled road! But, when you reach the top and Cabarita, you realize it was worth it. House was as beautiful as the pictures and the view was breathtaking! The breeze was constant and we felt like we were on top of the world.
Sharon and Devon, cook and yard man respectively, we always friendly and attentive. Sharon is a very good cook, I think she made us the best rice and peas we ever had. My 11 year old ate 4 plates! We purchased fresh fish on two occasions and the red snapper (with those rice and peas) was the best meal we had in Jamaica, and we had some delicious food!
The house itself is spacious and can easily accomodate 8 people. We only had four and the house seemed empty. The bathrooms could have been a bit cleaner and the floors did not get swept everyday, but it was still clean, just not quite as clean as a 3-4 star hotel.
We went on several excursions in which Cutty took us and waited while we swam, explored and ate ourselves around the island.
We could never get the music to work so we had to use our computer or cell phone when we were at the pool.
I would recommend this rental to families, groups or a bachelor/bachelorette gathering. There is plenty of space and it is very private. But, I would not recommend this rental for anyone that wants to be in the thick of the tourist action. You have to drive to get ANYWHERE and you will be amongst regular working Jamaicans, not tourist or rich folks in the villas. The closest beach is about 30 minutes away (it takes 10 minutes to get down the hill). We didn't like that. This house is very nice and comfortable. We loved our stay. Pam Bliss was wonderful to work with and handled any hiccups that came up quickly and to our satifaction.

If you are looking to get off the beaten path, away from the touristy destinations and throngs of cruise ship day-trippers, chose Cabarita Lookout. It is beautiful, private and off the beaten path.

Date of stay: July 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Access to a vehicle with a driver.
Liked least: The pool was a little murky and I think it gave my sons ear infections.
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParadiseF...
Plymouth, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Views on the Island”
Reviewed December 1, 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This is a beautiful home with awesome views and a staff that is friendly and helpful! It starts with Cutty picking you up at the airport. Everyone knows him. After traveling all day we wanted something to drink for our 2 hour commute. Cutty stopped at a convenience store for us to get drinks. Some island music in the van for the commute would have been nice, but the radio didn't work. Getting to the house is a journey. The higher up you get, the worse the road is. Cutty manuevered it very well. The views are breathtaking!!! This is a very lovely well maintained home. The pool is maintained perfectly by Cutty. There is a massage therapist that will come daily if you want. $30 for an hour! Best deal on the island. Sharon prepared some awesome meals. And Shakey is so sweet and smiles all day long. So it's obvious that if you are looking for a beautiful home to go to and stay for the entire trip, hands down, this is that place! Unfortunately, the 4 of us like to get out and about. We spent 3 days looking for a beach! They are either government owned or privately owned. James Bond beach was closed, as was Marley Beach. We did go to the Moxon Beach Club which was pretty awesome in that we did have this walk out deck all to ourself but still, no beach. Bamboo Beach cost $10 a person to get in and that got you one of those plastic stackable chairs. No lounge. Dunns River Falls was an experience and fun but very touristy. There is a beach under the road from there but no chairs, just beach. Which is ok if we would have known beforehand and taken towels, blanket, etc. And could have gone back but its $20 per person to get into Dunns River Falls. I fault myself for not asking enough questions about the location. We have travelled to many islands and have chosen the view over being right on a beach but in those situations, the beach is a small drive away. So it didn't work out so well for us but, if we had to choose a home to stay at and never leave, this is absolutely perfect.

Date of stay: November 2014
How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Home, staff and views!
Liked least: That we didn't ask enough questions about the location.
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy M
Norwich, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cabarita Lookout-The place to stay on Jamaica's North Coast”
Reviewed October 26, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Where do we begin? As first time visitors to Jamaica, we couldn't have hoped for a more perfect, comfortable place to stay than Cabarita Lookout. Sharon's food was fabulous, and Cutty, our driver became my husband's new BFF. Sitting on the pool deck, watching the sunrise was a sight to behold. We took in Dunn's River Falls, The Blue Hole, Mystic Mountain and were even lucky enough to help baby sea turtles make thier way to the ocean. When we weren't busy being tourists, we were relaxing by the gorgeous pool. It may have only been a week, but the memories will last a lifetime. We will most definitely make a return trip.

Date of stay: October 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: over all friendliness of the staff
Liked least: nothing to dislike
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Reviewed March 24, 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: March 2014
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing