We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be prepared for a break in”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mystic Ridge Resort
Ranked #9 of 20 Ocho Rios B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Our room and the neighbours was burgled and ransacked during our 2 night stay, and the hotel owner treated us disgracefully. We were extremely shaken and concerned that this could have happened while we were there, which could have proved fatal.
The Owner, Mike, made no attempt to contact us, but instead heaped the burden on the Manager Karmen, who was overwhelmed. We requested to speak to him, where he proceeded to slam the phone down and was shouting. When we questioned him about the whereabouts of the security at the time of the incident, and whether there was any CCTV footage, he became defensive and said that I had insulted him.
Money, a laptop, cosmetic jewellery, shavers, cologne were stolen. The owner asked why had the items not been put in the safe, which was already filled with other valuable items. When reporting the incident at the police station, we were told that these robberies are happening too much at MYSTIC RIDGE, and they need to sort out their security. To date MYSTIC RIDGE cannot explain where the security was at the time of the break in. They would like us to believe that the robber/s scaled the wall to enter our room on the 2nd floor, climb over the balcony, rip off the patio door, then climb onto the neighbours balcony and enter their room. No evidence of a break in was found next door! merely items stolen. INSIDE JOB!!!!!!!!!!!????
Guys, while this MYSTIC RIDGE looks nice from the outside, SECURITY IS MINIMAL. What is the point if a place where you pay hard earned money for, is not safe and secure! Also i think they should write on their webpage, DO NOT BOOK IF ALL VALUABLES CANNOT FIT IN SAFE, LIABLE TO BE STOLEN.
As for compensation, the owner refuses to discuss it, slams down the phone. NICE

Below are pics of our belongings scattered, and the point of entry?

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
27  Thank Ona W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca R, Guest Relations Manager at Mystic Ridge Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2014

We are so sorry about your experience. We can only imagine how frightening it must have been for you to return to your room in the morning after spending the night at a music festival to discover it had been broken into. Especially since you were returning to Jamaica to visit family and were far from your home in England.

As a result of your experience, we have increased security to keep our guests and their belongings safe.

Mystic Ridge reimbursed the charges for your stay and also provided financial compensation in the amount of £1,000/US$1,600. We know that it’s impossible to fully compensate for such a negative experience, but we have tried.

After hearing what had happened, the owner of Mystic Ridge dedicated the entire day to helping you. He was behind the scenes with his team working on the situation. We’re sorry that there seems to be some misunderstanding about this.

Again, we apologize for your experience. We are working hard to ensure our guests have the best possible experience with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (188)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 188 reviews

Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

This was one of the best places I have ever stayed while visiting another country! The staff is AMAZING! The hotel is beautiful. The rooms are CLEAN! The food is delicious! We seriously did not want to leave. Stay here!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Camperjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

First impression lasts. I stood at the front desk for almost five minutes before one of the two front desk ladies attending to one guest who had a reservation issue asked me if I was "getting through".

After the check-in process was completed, we were tagged and given our room key and informed which block we were on. We were not given any directions and no bellhop was called to assist us. We unloaded our luggage and spoke with a bellhop passing by with other guests, who told us he was going to the same block so we should come with him. He did ask my friend if he needed assistance with his luggage but being the only female in the group of 3 I was surprised he didn't ask me so I trudged along with my "hand luggage" size suitcase and big handbag, along the pathway and up the stairs.

It appeared the room was not quite ready for us as the lamp was unplugged and the bellhop had to move some furniture around to plug it in, after I showed him that it wasn't plugged in and I didn't see the socket. There were 3 of us registered and only 2 sets of towels and bath rags and there was no linen for the sofa bed. Inside of the kettle was dirty.

One of the front desk agents was quite helpful.

I hope by now the hotel has received a much needed facelift as it was quite faded. An average stay I would say.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking Ocho Rios.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marierrb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

The staff were super nice and the grounds were well maintained. Our room was a little old and the shower pressure was terrible, but that's about it. They had wifi and a pool and great views. It was very close to the bobsled park and some gardens. The hotel gave us a voucher for the park with a wonderful discount. The hotel community itself was gated, but we walked out and walked around the town a little. There were lots of little shops for the cruise ship crowds. We did walk down a little farther and found a nice local market with outside booths. We did come back to the hotel for dinner which ended up being a mistake. The food was not good at all, but may have just been a bad day (day after Christmas). The hotel staff were super professional and very nice. We enjoyed our stay there.

Room Tip: They all seemed to be pretty well located. May want to stay away from the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wendy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Mystic Ridge is a nice resort sitting high over Ocho Rios with a very nice view and good access to the main attractions.
Rooms are quite small but comfortable and clean. Access to towels appears to be a re-occuring issue.
Pool area nice and large. Pool large enough for lap swimming. Water depth however very low.
Breakfast was not great. They do a reasonable Jamaican breakfast, however for the rest it is quite meagre.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris588
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

My wife and I stayed there one night on our drive back towards Montego Bay from Port Antonio. It was very easy to find with it being right off of the main highway, high up on a hill. The location was perfect for walking to Turtle Park and the local crafts bizarre a few blocks away (which we recommend only doing during daylight hours). We ate dinner and breakfast at the June Plum and were not impresssed. We would suggest visitors find off property places to eat. We enjoy walking around the property in the evening and felt very safe. The room was a bit bright even after we turned the lights off (due to the many windows, very thin shades and lots of exterior lights). Water pressure was low, but we really didn't mind that much. Still a great place to stay in Ocho Rios.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trisherpa3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

First the bad;

The rooms were OK. Had an issue on the first day where we were not provided any blankets. I called the staff several times and the issue did not get resolved till the next evening, when we were finally given a duvet cover with which we made do for the rest of the stay. The other issue was that the water pressure for the sink was really really low, but again we made do.

The breakfast was OK, however 5 out of the 7 days they were out of eggs (really limited the already sparse menu even more). However I wasn't expecting much for the price anyway

The location is good in the sense that its just a a few minutes from the Ocho Rios main street where all the markets are. The disappointment was that for the most part, a little after dark we felt uneasy and unsafe due to some unlit areas and being approached by some shady guys asking for money (on our first night I thought the guy was about to pull a knife on us for not giving him any)

Now the Good;

Despite these issues our stay in Jamaica was really fun. We had an activity everyday so we were away all day anyway. The hotel felt very safe due to its high ground location and security. The June Plum restaurant was nice and the staff is actually all very friendly and great. We made some great friends on our stay which included some of the staff. Met interesting people who were also staying there and liked to explore Jamaica.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hasaang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocho Rios hotels
0.8 mi away
Silver Seas Resort Hotel
Silver Seas Resort Hotel
#22 of 35 in Ocho Rios
278 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hibiscus Lodge Hotel
Hibiscus Lodge Hotel
#9 of 35 in Ocho Rios
255 reviews
2.1 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#1 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sand Castles Resort
Sand Castles Resort
#14 of 35 in Ocho Rios
325 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sandals Ochi Beach Resort
4.2 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios
ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios
#8 of 35 in Ocho Rios
8,921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mystic Ridge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mystic Ridge Resort

Address: 17 DaCosta Dr, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Ocho Rios
Price Range: $95 - $354 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mystic Ridge Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern gated complex complete with swimming pool, bar area, restaurant and tennis court. Air conditioned rooms with jacuzzi with king and queen side beds. Can sleep up to 8 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mystic Ridge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crane Ridge Hotel Ocho Rios
Mystic Ridge Resort Jamaica/Ocho Rios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing