We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Te Moana Cottages
Nearby Hotels
Hibiscus Lodge Hotel(Ocho Rios)(Great Value!)
$115
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Moon Palace Jamaica(Ocho Rios)
$585
$529
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jamaica Inn(Ocho Rios)
$380
$339
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kaz Kreol Beach Lodge(Ocho Rios)(Great Value!)
$120
$87
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ocean Sands(Ocho Rios)
$65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chrisanns Beach Resort(Ocho Rios)(Great Value!)
$88
$69
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$902
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
$749
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (17)
Filter reviews
17 results
Traveler rating
12
3
0
0
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
12
3
0
0
2
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 17 reviews
Reviewed March 15, 2012

This place has to be the most peaceful, relaxing place in Ocho Rios.
If you were any closer to the sea you would be in a boat. Privacy, quiet, & you wake up to a view you swear is on a postcard somewhere.
It is family owned & run, which makes it all the better to support. The snorkeling is unreal, & is right outside your door.
Wouldnt stay anywhere else, I believe your expectarions will be exceeded!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank allnaturalme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2012

We stayed in the Seaside Cottage for one week and agree with the previous reviews. The decor is fun, view from the upstairs balcony is incredible, access to the sea for kayaking and snorkeling is so convenient, and the hammocks on the veranda are perfect for reading/napping. The owners, Peter and Annabella, live right next door and are friendly and helpful as are their gardener and housekeeper.
Here are a few observances
1. Private does not mean secluded. The cottage is surrounded by vegetation on three sides and the sea on the other, but it is in a residential area, so you will experience sounds from the neighbors and hear the party-boat music from the Sandals resort to the east.
2. If you are allergic to cats, you may not want to stay here. The open-air basement shower has walls high enough for privacy, but low enough for the resident cat to enter the cottage any time day or night. It is possible to keep her out of the bedroom area, although we found she liked to sneak in when the door was open. We loved having her around, but there may be guests who don't quite feel the same ...
3. Tropical mosquitoes are vicious. I suppose well-seasoned travellers know this already, but this was our first vacation to Jamaica and I wish I would have brought some Benedryl or other cortisone-based cream. Peter & Annabella directed us to a pharmacy where I bought some ointment after a particularly restless night of tossing and turning.
4. The sun goes down early. Again, this is probably obvious to most people, but we're used to long summer nights back home, so it was surprising to be in darkness by 6:00 p.m. The nearby roads are not designed for romantic evening strolls. There's a movie theatre at Island Village, cable TV in the bedroom, WiFi access throughout the property (Peter will even lend you a laptop), lots of books on the shelves if you need more reading material, and of course the very comfortable bed with the sounds of the sea below ...
5. Bring lots of cash. We paid our deposit by credit card, but Peter wanted cash for the balance. Very few places accepted credit cards and we had to go back repeatedly to the ATMs. There is a safe in the cottage.
6. The kitchen is well equipped with all the dishes, pots and pans, and small appliances you'll need for your stay, but if you plan to do any cooking, you'll need to purchase everything or bring small containers of essentials from home. Having rented vacation homes in Europe, we were surprised not to find basic pantry items included.
7. The cottage faces north (to the sea), and designed to keep the hot sun out. Much of the yard is in the shade, so if you want to do some serious sunbathing, you'll have to go to a beach, none of which are within walking distance. Be prepared to pay an entrance fee. We quite enjoyed Reggae beach on the way to Harmony Hall, the art gallery just outside of town.

Ocho Rios can been seen from two very different perspectives. The area from Te Moana on the east end of town to the downtown core is poor, run down, and dirty. The closer you get to the west end Island Village and cruise ship pier, the prettier it gets (less garbage, "better" shopping, more flowers and grass). The huge ocean view homes in the hills contrast sharply with the very simple accommodations we saw over and over during our week in Jamaica. Staying at the Seaside Cottage allowed us to experience an authentic view of Ocho Rios while still enjoying the luxury of a private cottage a few steps away from the Caribbean Sea.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank joanpeace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProudlockJamaica, Owner at Te Moana Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2017

Dear Joan, Thank you for your detailed review and after the sad passing of both Peter and Annabella I will be managing the property and take note of your points. I agree to have some basic supplies in the kitchen would be very helpful, as well as making clear all payments can be made on-line, so the need for cash is diminished. I cannot solve the walking in Ocho Rios unfortunately, but will make clear to guests to be aware if walking in the evening. I agree with you about the cat, I have now blocked the little hole she would come in downstairs. Also for sunbathing we do have the extra deck down by the sea that gets the sun for the mid day sun. I appreciate you response and will take note, and actions. Warm wishes, Jessica Ogden- daughter of Annabella and Peter Proudlock.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2012

We celebrated our 25th anniversary at the seaside cottage, and loved it!! Extremely private, with excellent views of the sea and easy access to some incredible snorkeling spots right off the shore. We enjoyed using the kayaks there as well.
The seaside cottage is very unique, and we really liked the colorful Caribbean decor and open-air shower downstairs (it was SO hard to go back to a regular enclosed shower!) We also kept the doors open, and the cool breeze kept us very comfortable - happy to report no mosquitoes at all during our stay.

In my op, this cottage is ideal for those who are:
- seeking a very private experience, but still close to Ocho Rios
- wanting to hear, smell, see and touch the sea!
- independent and adventurous (we recommend renting a car).
- wanting to avoid an all-inclusive or disney-like experience.
- snorkelers/divers - great coral reef within a couple feet of the dock!
- art lovers - owners Annabella/Peter own Harmony hall, and I highly reco a visit to the art gallery.

Our only disappointment was that we found it difficult to walk to town (dark at nite, somewhat seedy along the main road, with lots of hustlers, barking dogs, loud cars etc ), so we ended up driving a lot. Looks like though it is easy to hail a cab once you get on the main road (1/4 mile from Te Moana).

We definitely will return!!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Biedross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2011

We booked the seaside cottage for a week and we were absolutely blown away. The house is stunning, amazing huge bedroom with balcony overlooking the sea, a cool breeze that is constant and no mosquitoes whatsoever! We slept with the doors open every night. Downstairs was a fantastically equipped kitchen and a stunning garden with hammocks to lie in and an outside dining area. A few steps down to your own private deck - a slice of absolute paradise. Also loved the outdoor shower in the evening. The owners next door are so friendly and helpful, as is their housekeeper and gardener. In fact everyone locally was incredibly friendly and we felt completely at home straight away. We didnt have a car and found it an easy 15 minute stroll into the centre each day. The local beach was really lovely and there are some fab places to eat locally (Miss T's is divine, cheap and friendly for jerk and red stripe and Toscanini at Harmony Hall is definitely worth a splurge - the food is out of this world. The only local place we were disappointed with was Passage to India. We found the food really bland and overpriced). I woudl come back to Te Moana in a heartbeat and recommend it to everyone. The best self catering place we have ever stayed and when we moved on to a 5 star boutique hotel later on our trip we actually said the rooms werent a patch on our heavenly house Te Moana! Oh and if you do stay here, please feed and look after Kaya, the most beautiful cat who slept on our bed most nights and hung out with us in the garden. She loves sardines :)

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charlisays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2011

Stayed in the garden cottage for 3 nights, what a lovely homely place. It has all you need to feel at home, a terrace, fully equipped kitchen, cosy bedroom and living room, it's all there.

The cottages are tucked away in a quiet street right by the coast, while the town centre is still within easy walking distance.

Best of all are the hosts, Peter and Annabella will help you with anything you need, and know a great lot about the area. Definitely plan a visit to the Harmony Hall gallery, and dinner at Toscanini's, Pierluigi's creations are not to be missed!

In a relatively touristy spot like Ochi, this is a true gem if you like your accommodation to feel like home. We'll definitely be back here when we set foot on Jamaican soil again!

Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Bringabong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews