We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Private Tour”

Moby Dick Tours Day Tours
Ranked #51 of 82 Tours in Ocho Rios
Attraction details
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful Private Tour”
Reviewed April 5, 2014

We did the White River Tubing and the Dunns River Falls. It was a great time and we had our own private tour guide and van for our family of 4. The tour guide stayed with us the entire time and took us personally from place to place and even told us about the history of Jamaica. It was very nice to have someone navigate through the locals at both of our tour stops. I would highly recommend Moby Dick.

There was a little confusion at the dock, but not because of Moby Dick. The non-cruise tour companies are not allowed to come up to the admin area until they are called by the port staff that their customers have arrived. So it was a little unnerving for a few minutes because of being passed around by port staff. The Moby Dick tour guide arrive within a few minutes and was easily recognizable and all turned out to be fine. So just be aware of this dynamic at the port.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank dennisg12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    5
    2
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Woodbridge, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The Falls were great but Moby Dick had nothing to do with that.”
Reviewed April 4, 2014

I feel Moby Dick only served as a taxi service and possibly an over priced one at that.

They were at the port when we arrived and were very noticeable which I appreciate. The van was modern and there was no problems with that. Once we got to the port we were passed to other employees (I assume) who were constantly on their phone making what appeared to be other arrangements for other money making opportunities. We were passed to 3 or 4 different people before we were turned over to the the Dunns River Falls tour guides.

Once we finished climbing the falls, we were met by Moby Dick again and the female guide was very busy on her phone and seemed annoyed that I wanted to shop at the shops and that I had ordered a DVD of the climb because it required us to wait. She must have had something better to do because she asked the person making the DVDS to walk us out of the park.

As we were leaving, I saw a sign that said entry into the Falls is $20 for non Jamaican residents. The tour total was $45 so it's essentially $20 to get in and $25 for the ride there and back. The falls seemed so close to the port, I'm not even sure a regular taxi would have cost that much.

I have hard to time classifying this as an "excursion". I feel all they did was drop us off at the Falls and take us back to the pier.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank vitality1908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Moby Dick Tours Dunns River Falls, Ocho Rios”
Reviewed April 3, 2014

Excellent excursion. Nice people organizing tour. A lot of fun. Could have climbed the falls a second time!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ragdollbd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dunn River/lunch tour awesome!!”
Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

Highly recommend Moby Dick Tours. Met us at the pier. Very easy to recognize. Took us to a nice bus. Even helped fend off the locals trying to push their wares in the parking lot. Took the group to a nice shopping area for a short stop. Felt very safe and no pressure. Then onto Dunn River Falls. They were very informative and helpful about what to wear and we could leave personal items safely on the bus. Escorted our group to another guide at the Falls. Falls were a lot of fun. Be prepared to be soaked! Our Moby Dick guide was waiting for us at the top and escorted us back to bus. Lunch was good. Authentic jerk food along with beer and rum punch, sodas for the kids. Kids enjoyed the outdoor seating and view of the beach. Then a quick tour of Ocho Rios and then safely back to dock. Would definitley recommend Moby Dick Tours. We used them again the next day in Cayman for Stingray City with another great experience! !

Helpful?
1 Thank Byron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscumbia, Alabama, United States
1 review
“Awesome Group to Guarantee a Safe and Fabulous Trip”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

I was very skeptical about using Moby Dick for the first time this past month. BUT I WILL DO IT AGAIN! It was worth every penny and they took great care of us. We ported early and Moby Dick took us to a few shopping places while we waited on the others to get off the ship. They transported us everywhere we went and were willing to drop us off at a different location if that is what we wanted to do. We got to skip the pesky market and still get good shopping in. Definitely a must use group if you are not sure of the area.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jamie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moby Dick Tours Day Tours also viewed

Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 

Been to Moby Dick Tours Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing