We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly enjoyable”
Review of White River

White River
Book In Advance
More Info
$90.00*
and up
Dunn's River Falls and White River Tubing Experience
More Info
$50.00*
and up
Private Blue Hole Excursion From Ocho Rios
More Info
$89.00*
and up
Private Dunn's River Falls and Tubing Combo Tour from Ocho Rios
Ranked #4 of 68 things to do in Ocho Rios
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Get up close and personal with the Chukka White River Valley location, offering stunning natural beauty and historic landmarks. The clarity of the water at White River Valley and the consistency of the river flow make it stand out above other locations on the island. The limestone bedrock filters the river’s water so it remains crystal clear even when there’s flooding. Located in St. Mary, Jamaica, this location is home to beautiful wildlife and an extensive history. With the exciting zipline adventure and thrilling river tubing journey this location is the perfect piece of paradise when paired with the Blue Hole experience!
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Highly enjoyable”
Reviewed February 27, 2012

Clear, cool, beautiful waters. A lot of fun. Too short by far.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank idoc2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

828 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    516
    240
    62
    6
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Go for tubing and pay extra for the short zip line”
Reviewed February 27, 2012

Booked this excursion from the Island Routes Tour Desk at our Sandals hotel. After first the wrong tour, then the wrong date was booked, we eventually made it on our way.

We started off ziplining, which was fun although very short. It is 3 parts, of which the last part is 20 feet above ground over a park. Then we went tubing which was nice and relaxed. The attendants both at the ziplining and tubing areas were very good, they kept a close eyes on everyone and were very helpful if you got stuck or keeping your pace with the group.

The reason this excursion is not very good is because the White River facilities/infrastructure was quite basic and underdeveloped.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Council Bluffs, Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Awesome tubing & ziplining experience”
Reviewed February 27, 2012

The road was a little treacherous getting there but it was well worth the ride. The water was beautiful as well as the scenery down the river. We loved the calm waters along with the rapids. It was a peaceful, refreshing ride down the river and we loved stopping to taste the jerk chicken. It was our first time zip-lining. My husband and I are both in our 60's and really enjoyed this experience too.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank pjstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Fun!”
Reviewed February 27, 2012

Zip lininig is kind of lame with only 3 lines but the tubing down the white river was awesome!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank rich19671
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
1,323 reviews
416 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 380 helpful votes
“Tubing on the White River”
Reviewed February 26, 2012

We added this to our itinerary for our day in port. It was $25 pp for a tube that has a plastic base to sit on--so your butt is on it in the hole of the tube. It was comfortable and relaxing it. There were a few "rapids" but nothing that was too wild. We had a tour guide that took us four and another couple..he manuevered the river keeping us in the center. We stopped for a "break" at a tree with a swing--but it was mainly to get us to a hut where you could purchase souveniers and photos. No pressure if you are not interested. We had a great time and loved this trip. We tipped our guide $5pp but he did not pressure us to tip him. We would do this again!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank lollygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed White River also viewed

Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 

Been to White River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing