We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Very good overview of a Jamaican plantation.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Brimmer Hall Estate

Brimmer Hall Estate
Ranked #52 of 66 things to do in Ocho Rios
Attraction details
Kent, England
Level Contributor
257 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Very good overview of a Jamaican plantation.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

Let's start with the bad news. Yes the visitor facilities are run down and shabby, the only things available are the jitney tour and the house. The good news is that they alone are worth the trip. It's a working estate which means you see different crops which are explained to you, you get to sample them - fresh coconut water with a dash of lime, fresh pineapple prepared in front of you, all with an interesting commentary, even if the delivery was a little flat. The house has an interesting history and some wonderful interior woodwork with splendid brass fittings. Do yourself a favour, go see a bit of real Jamaican history.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank manofekent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    3
    8
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Brimmer Hall Estate part of Cruise Tour”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

This was part of a cruise tour. It gave an interesting view of the real Jamaica on the way out to the farm, but would agree with one of the other posters they don't spend anything on upkeep. The road was practically washed out so our bus couldn't get up the drive. The tour was interesting, but there seemed to be trash everywhere that was disappointing. You think of an "estate" as something that is well maintained. There were a lot of workers around, but didn't really see anyone working. Our tour guide on the bus warned us about the gift shop so we didn't even go in.

It was OK, but not something I would do again.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Loves2Travel51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

The trip to Brimmer Hall was part of the excursion package for our Falmouth, Jamaica port of call. We booked this with Royal Caribbean during our Allure of the Seas Western Caribbean cruise last May. The travel from the port to this estate took 2.5 hours and upon reaching the estate where we expected have a taste of the typical plantation lifestyle in Jamaica, what we saw was the rundown estate of Brimmer Hall. It was truly disappointing and what's more is that it took so long to get to this destination! We could have spent more time in other sites of Falmouth like the Dunns River Falls.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank TravellerAnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“waste of time”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2009

This plantation saw better days years ago - it's apparent that someone collects admission fees but doesn't spend money to maintain it. The place was filthy and trashstrewn. There wasn't anything appealing about this place. Jamaica could have a jewel here but until it's cleaned up, they would do well to remove this place to encourage tourism.

Helpful?
4 Thank janswizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honesdale, PA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Spot to see Jamiacan Farming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2008

This is a wonderful spot to spend an afternoon. The people who work there are wonderful. The best time to visit is in the afternoon when there are not alot of cruise ship tours. The guides are more relaxed and have time to spend with you.

Grab an extra bottle of Appelton rum in the shops before the tour, and spend some extra time at the coconut tree with the staff. Ceasar and Alvin have great stories to share if they are not rushed by a big group.

If the pool is open have a swim and get some red stripes to enjoy by the pool.

This is not a polished toiurist attraction. They are local farmers who will entertain you with thier warm hospitality if you give them a chance.

Helpful?
3 Thank martinyoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brimmer Hall Estate also viewed

Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 

Been to Brimmer Hall Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing