We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (11,086)
Filter reviews
11,086 results
Traveler rating
6,708
2,578
1,037
451
312
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
6,708
2,578
1,037
451
312
Show reviews that mention
All reviews manor side riviera side butler village reef terrace butler service manor house southern table manor pool great house kelly's dockside le gourmand semi private pool rabbit hole our honeymoon club level polo lounge riviera building
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
94 - 99 of 11,086 reviews
Reviewed January 20, 2020

My hubby & I went on a last minute trip. We had a great time for the most part but there were some things that could definitely use improvement there. The grounds are very well kept and beautiful. The people were awesome. Service was excellent, sometimes impeccable. The room was ok. It was very ordinary. The sliding closet door came off the rails twice and the safe did not work at all. We didn't understand why we could not get room service for food. Speaking of the food, it was for the most part terrible. The breakfast buffet was pretty good. The Italian and French restaurants were decent. Kelly's was awful. The filet mignon steaks we supposedly had were like rubber. Truly terrible. I would expect 4 star food at least at a 5 star resort. That's our biggest complaint is how bad the food was. Other than that the staff was very nice, met a lot of nice people from all over and had a great time. One thing you can't see on the website AND they don't tell you when you book is the beach is across the street if you stay at the Great House. They do have a service that goes back and forth every 10 minutes so it's not that bad, just seems a little deceptive. And the beachfront is very small. We spent most of our time in the pool. All in all it was a fun trip but I probably wouldn't stay at this resort again.

Date of stay: December 2019
3  Thank FoofieM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2020

The resort was very beautiful and well maintained. 99% of the staff were very helpful and took very good care of you, the rest were doing a job they didn’t seem to like, never smiled and basically treated you like you were a burden to wait on. For the most part it was a great time! Their nightly activity’s were a lot of fun and creative.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank kimmay2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2020

Transfer is about 1 hour 45 from Kingston but can take longer depending upon Kingston traffic. Check in very smooth. Resort is huge and in 3 sections. We stayed club level in Hillside. Rooms were fine and but clearly not going to be as plush as a newer Sandals and in my opinion were very good. Transportation around the resort is by a mini bus and run at least every 10 minutes and very efficient. Caddy carts take you to your rooms if you don’t want to walk and Hillside is on steep hill. We ate in 10 different restaurants and all food and service in restaurants were excellent. The reef ( Caribbean) was excellent as was Sky view . The service in the large pool bar was inconsistent , under staffed and no apparent system appearing to be the issues. Weekends in the pool bar were very busy with weddings and large groups which make a mockery of the couples tag. However plenty of sun beds. The beach was disappointingly small and sea was rough during our stay. Entertainment was excellent, with a superb live group in the Speak Easy which was an excellent late night cocktail bar a superb after dinner spot. The entertainment staff were excellent and really engaging. Hotel is also ideally placed for the zip wire experience at Mystic Mountain ( brilliant experience) and Dunn’s Waterfall, Overall an excellent hotel with great food but please note it is not the newest and the beach is underwhelming but we loved Jamaica.

Date of stay: January 2020
2  Thank 333richardd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2020

I always think the most important thing when on vacation is service. The way you are treated is always the way you remember if you had a good or a bad time at a certain place. Unfortunately when we visited this sandals in Ocho Rios we had a terrible experience. Long story made short anytime we came in contact with someone from the hotel staff it was as if we were bothering them. They were not nice or helpful what so ever. I know they say its a good thing you don't need to worry about tipping since it is an all inclusive and tips are included but I think that is part of the problem since the staff is not working for their tip they do not care about how they treat you.

Room tip: Rooms were just average. Be aware there are two sides of the property that you need to take a bus from beachside to hillside.
Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank apuli2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadel B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Ochi Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2020

Hello and thank you for your review of Sandals Ochi. At Sandals, we go the extra mile to give our guests an openhearted greeting to ensure that feel as valued as they indeed are. Additionally, it is regrettable to learn of any challenges surrounding the interactions with the check in team. The concerns shared do come as a surprise as we do our best to be as hospitable and efficient as possible, and have received many positive feedbacks in this regard. However, we extend or sincerest apologies and we will have this shared with the team to ensure complaints of this nature are not recurrent.
We only wish we could have surpassed your expectations throughout the entire stay, nonetheless, we appreciate your review as we are always willing to improve and we do hope that you will afford us another opportunity to welcome you back to one of our resorts in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2020

Very slow check-in service considering it wasn't busy when we arrived. Room was nice but needs renovation as it showed wear and the bathroom was very outdated. The resort was at capacity thus making reservations for dinner very challenging upon arrival. We weren't allowed to make reservations prior to arriving and found it quite odd that on the day of arrival, most restaurants were fully booked. The food was great at some restaurants and average at others; it wasn't consistent. The service was quite slow all around. The drinks were inconsistent and service at the pool bars was very slow. Most days there were only two bartenders for the location and when you are booked to capacity that isn't even close to being enough. Entertainment was good but could use more variety; maybe update it a bit. The food at the beach party was great but the entertainment was bad. Chocolate Night is very overrated. We enjoy Sandals very much, but Ochi fell below our expectations and, after visiting twice will go to another Sandals property.

Room tip: We had a garden view room and it was good considering we only spent time to sleep there.
Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank alammly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews