We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sandals is by far the best!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sandals Ochi Beach Resort
Ranked #6 of 35 Hotels in Ocho Rios
Gloucester, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Sandals is by far the best!”
Reviewed April 14, 2007

Sandals is our favorite place to stay in the Caribbean and the Sandals Grande Ocho Rios Beach & Villa Resort is magnificent. The staff was great, the room was perfect, and the view of the ocean was exceptional. We only book our Caribbean vacations at Sandals. Love is all you need!

  • Liked — Couples Only!
  • Disliked — Rain
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Shep1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,909
    2,085
    788
    343
    221
See reviews for
330
6,616
43
89
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,545)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lovelady, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2007

We have fallen in love with Jamaica, yet again! This was our 2nd trip to the Island and we loved it! As with any vacation you cannot expect everything to be 100% perfect, but if you're pretty easy going, it's not usually a big deal. We had a few minor glitches but nothing to cry about, and everythig was always fixed to our satisfaction. We stayed at the Sandals Mobay resort for the first 6 days, Sandals Grande Ocho Rios (riviera) for the next 6 days and back and Mobay for the last 2 (with butler svc!). We absolutely LOVE Ocho Rios! The staff that we met when we were there last year remembered us, gave us huge hugs and said "Welcome Home!". You want to talk about a homecoming! That was the best homecoming I could imagine! We have made many friends at the resort and love them all dearly! They treat us so wonderful and take such good care of us that we feel really spoiled! We can't wait to go back and will again stay in our favorite Sandals to date - Ocho Rios! Mobay was great, especially the butler service, but we were not fond of the airport noise. We will also be doing that again at the same resort on our last 2 days. I highly recommend it, unless you enjoy the 2-3 hour bus trip on the day of your flight. =) At Ocho Rios, I would highly recommend that you see Susan Hyatt if you'd like to have a Candlelight dinner, she will make it a night to remember! And see Aundre at the bar for a perfect drink! And everyone at the tour desk is fabulous! For great pics, see Taneisha (#25)! Marsha and Tamara were fantastic concierge and if you go to Mobay, see Granville and Roland for your Butler Service! They'll spoil you rotten! We can't wait to go back and will as soon as our schedules see fit! Just remember, your vacation is what you make of it. We have heard a lot of negatives, while we were there from others, but it was mostly frivolous things that aren't a big deal. You have to take most thing with a grain of salt and just make the best of it! The resorts are beautiful, even if some of the rooms are a little older, they are still great! =) Enjoy your trip! =)

  • Liked — The view and the staff!
  • Disliked — What it cost to do laundry. Otherwise everything was great!
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GrayWolf85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed April 14, 2007

The food was fantastic at all the restaurants that we tried on the resort. The service was excellent and the staff was very friendly and they could not do enough for you. The beach area was a little rocky but was good enough although other sandal resorts had better beaches. The room was nice and very clean and was restocked daily. The spa needs improvement on the ocean side of the resort it was very small. We did not use the spa on the other side of the resort although we heard it was better.

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
Thank ajm1764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orleans,mi
2 reviews
Reviewed April 14, 2007

It was the 20 of Feb. when the plan landed in Montego Bay and we were so happy to be back home away from home. It was our 7th trip back to Ocho Rios Jamaica. We love it there the people a re wonderful and the weather , the food and just plain hospitality are awsume. We have taken lots of tours to see the country and have found it very exciting and wonderful to learn about the culture and just see all you can see. We have made new friends and had lots of wonderful times. We have told several people and they have gone also and found the same thing. Looking forward to another year and making new friends. Paul and Kay Orleans, Michigan

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
Thank painting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg New Yrok
2 reviews
Reviewed April 14, 2007

As a guest, the destination wedding was perfect! I understand the bridal couple had some problems with arrangements though. The weather perfect! The wait staff very friendly but slow, slow. Accommodations grand and clean. The grounds lush and meticulous. The grounds too large as we had to take a bus to the Caribbean, but the buses very frequent. The main pool large and clean; swim-up bar attendants slow but courteous. Love that you don't have to carry any money with you (no tipping).
The people beautiful!!!
Tom & Carol

  • Liked — clean
  • Disliked — premisies very large
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WDFOverlook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2007

Our stay was much anticipated, but it didn't live up to the expectations we had. The safe in our room was broken and took 2 days to fix. The air conditioner in our room was sub par and therefore we had to shut the suite door just to keep our bedroom half way cool. The bathroom windows had not glass so it was always hot (we had to keep that door shut too). The service was adequate, but NOT as they describe it as everything at your service. On a number of occasions, we had to call 2 and 3 times for our simple service needs. The resort was quite dated and residence buildings not very well kept. The food was good, but nothing stellar. The specialty restraurants were better. The excursions were overpriced for what you got. We finally just took a taxi into town....and he didn't come back for us at the right time (even though the custom and promise is round trip we were told by the resort) so the owner of the jewelry shop drove us back in his personal car. The semi private pools at each bungalo was really nice to have though and we liked that a lot. The shuttle service was adequate, but not exactly convenient. We wound up walking most of the time rather than wait (I was 6 months pregnant at the time too.) Unfortunately, the property was split in 2 by a major road (that we didn't know about before coming) and you could not walk to the second, beach front part of the property, so you had to wait for the shuttles. A highlight was that we spent one day at the spa and the ladies there were wonderful as well as the treatments (after negotiating what treatments they would be willing to provide for me). Overall it was well below what we expected in relation to the cost and I would not go back to this property, but I would be willing to try one more time at a Sandals resort of a different property.

  • Liked — the semi private pool, the tropical environment
  • Disliked — the condition of the hotel and service
  • Stayed May 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cantwaittogoagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, TN
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 14, 2007

We had an incredible time at Sandals Ocho Rios! It's very near another Sandals location so we took the free transportation and were able to enjoy the activities and restaurants that both had to offer. There was a tropical storm/hurricane warning while we were there and the staff did a great job to keep us informed, our tickets were changed easily and we felt safe the entire time. I would definitely recommend this Sandals to anyone who needs a getaway or is looking for a honeymoon spot!

  • Liked — Great food, plenty to do
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank memphisjules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocho Rios
0.4 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#2 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,277 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sandals Royal Plantation
Sandals Royal Plantation
#3 of 35 in Ocho Rios
2,525 reviews
52.7 mi away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
63.0 mi away
Sandals South Coast
Sandals South Coast
#1 of 1 in White House
6,884 reviews
54.2 mi away
Sandals Montego Bay
Sandals Montego Bay
#9 of 63 in Montego Bay
5,367 reviews
1.1 mi away
Couples Sans Souci
Couples Sans Souci
#4 of 35 in Ocho Rios
3,860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Ochi Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Ochi Beach Resort

Property: Sandals Ochi Beach Resort
Address: Main Street | P.O. Box 771, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Ocho Rios
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Ocho Rios
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ocho Rios
#6 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
#6 Luxury Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals Ochi Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 529
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•Situated on over 100 acres of lush hillside gardens overlooking the Caribbean Sea•529 villas, luxury rooms and suites with fantastic mountain and ocean views•94 pools (7 large public pools), 22 whirlpools•16 dining options including room service for butler serviced suites•2 luxurious Red Lane Spas•Complimentary golf at Jamaica’s most elite and popular golf course, the Sandals Golf & Country Club (Transfers to the golf course are included)•Over 5,000 sq. feet of first class meeting and conference facilities•Recently completed US$60 million renovation/refurbishing exercise•Voted Sandals Resorts “World’s Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row•Voted Sandals Resorts “Caribbean’s Leading Hotel Brand”, 18 years in a row•Voted Sandals Grande Riviera ‘Jamaica’s Leading Resort’ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sandals Ochi Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Grande Riviera Beach & Villa Golf Hotel Ocho Rios
Sandals Grande Riviera Beach And Villa Golf Resort
Sandals Ocho Rios
Ciboney Ocho Rios
Sandals Ochi Beach Resort Jamaica/Ocho Rios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing