We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not an experience to repeat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sandals Ochi Beach Resort
Ranked #6 of 35 Hotels in Ocho Rios
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“not an experience to repeat”
Reviewed April 14, 2007

Our stay was much anticipated, but it didn't live up to the expectations we had. The safe in our room was broken and took 2 days to fix. The air conditioner in our room was sub par and therefore we had to shut the suite door just to keep our bedroom half way cool. The bathroom windows had not glass so it was always hot (we had to keep that door shut too). The service was adequate, but NOT as they describe it as everything at your service. On a number of occasions, we had to call 2 and 3 times for our simple service needs. The resort was quite dated and residence buildings not very well kept. The food was good, but nothing stellar. The specialty restraurants were better. The excursions were overpriced for what you got. We finally just took a taxi into town....and he didn't come back for us at the right time (even though the custom and promise is round trip we were told by the resort) so the owner of the jewelry shop drove us back in his personal car. The semi private pools at each bungalo was really nice to have though and we liked that a lot. The shuttle service was adequate, but not exactly convenient. We wound up walking most of the time rather than wait (I was 6 months pregnant at the time too.) Unfortunately, the property was split in 2 by a major road (that we didn't know about before coming) and you could not walk to the second, beach front part of the property, so you had to wait for the shuttles. A highlight was that we spent one day at the spa and the ladies there were wonderful as well as the treatments (after negotiating what treatments they would be willing to provide for me). Overall it was well below what we expected in relation to the cost and I would not go back to this property, but I would be willing to try one more time at a Sandals resort of a different property.

  • Liked — the semi private pool, the tropical environment
  • Disliked — the condition of the hotel and service
  • Stayed May 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cantwaittogoagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,836
    2,069
    780
    341
    220
See reviews for
322
6,535
43
89
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,523)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, TN
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 14, 2007

We had an incredible time at Sandals Ocho Rios! It's very near another Sandals location so we took the free transportation and were able to enjoy the activities and restaurants that both had to offer. There was a tropical storm/hurricane warning while we were there and the staff did a great job to keep us informed, our tickets were changed easily and we felt safe the entire time. I would definitely recommend this Sandals to anyone who needs a getaway or is looking for a honeymoon spot!

  • Liked — Great food, plenty to do
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank memphisjules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2007

My husband and I went to Sandals Grande Ocho Rios last August for our
honeymoon. From the moment we entered the resort until the day we left we felt like royalty. The service is beyond excellence and the amenities were endless. Our favorite part of the trip was the selection of dining choices available to us every day. Our favorite restaurant was Arizona's on the pier. The jerk ribs were so good I ordred them twice. Our favorite activities were the watersports. We kayaked every morning and also sailed on the catamarans. Snorkeling was by far the best activity we experienced. (Sign up early to get a spot on the boat!) The reef was beautiful. We loved the swim-up bars on the ocean side and the manor side of the resort. There are so many
choices here you won't even be able to experience everything! Our three "musts": 1) Try as many different restaurants as you can (they were all wonderful), 2) Snorkel as many times as you can! 3) Drink some rum! Everything has rum in it from the drinks at the bar to the pancake syrup (which is amazing!) This was the best vacation of our lives so far and we definitely plan to go back for an anniversary some day. Enjoy it!!!!

  • Liked — Luxury service from the staff!
  • Disliked — Things at the gift shop were a little pricey. I lost my sunscreen and had to buy some for about 15 dollars but hey its a vacation! We didn't mind at all!
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Makenzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2007

Absolutely the best form of vacationing available. Stay at one, play at 3, all inclusive (EVERYTHING), and the most beautiful, culturally exiting, relaxing, visually stunning, and just all around perfect honeymoon for us. I must tell you this, we had our doubts, even when we were being shuttled to Ocho Rios, even when we got there, we were not sure if we had made the right desicion. But once we were settled in, it was paradise. If you decide to make "da" journey, we (me and wife) would advise you stay at the Ocho Rios rather than any other because it is more secluded, not by the beach, but travel to the beach is easy enough that you will appreciate the extra people not coming to where you are staying (making for a more intimate stay). In addition, if you decide to stay away from the beach, which chances are you have already seen a beach in your life, you will, as we did, be able to indulge in the beautiful lush gardens that flourish throughout the grounds. So once again, if you are interested in a Sandals Vacation to Jamaica, for price as well as the best experience possible, I personally recommend Sandals Ocho Rios.

Stayed July 2006
Helpful?
3 Thank hyperformance2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2007

Smiles everywhere. Great restautrants with a different choice every day and night. Scuba diving was ok, especially since there was no extra cost. Do not expect dive resort service. Knowlegable staff about the dive spots in the area. Photo's were a little expensive, just ask about the DVD option well worth the price. Overall we had a great time without any complaints.

  • Liked — The friendliness of the staff and willingness to make our stay the best.
  • Disliked — The travel time to get there.
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank ScottPhoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greene,Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 14, 2007

We went to Ocho Rios Sandals for my son's wedding. It was perfect. The acommadations were great, as was the food and drinks. The wedding
was perfect. The trip was to short, so we will have to go back. No details was forgotten or left out by the Sandals staff. Everything was as good as it could possibly be. The people were very friendly and helpful. The food was excelent and the rooms were great. Enjoy!!! We did.

Stayed December 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank beester56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas,Ga
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2007

The whole trip was awesome from start to finish. You pretty much didn't have to lift a finger the whole time. Plenty of things to do while your there. We stayed in a villa w/a pool and it was pretty much all ours the entire time. The people are so nice and fun and the food was out of this world and not having to tip was awesome. We went on a tour of ocho rios and swam w/the dolphins which was out of this world. There where plenty of things to do inside and out of the resort...not enough time to do it all in a week. The beach was really nice all the time but I wish there was a bigger one it just seemed so small for such a huge resort. And there was a bar around every corner so you didn't go w/o a drink. I will be going back for sure.

  • Liked — Good food and activities.
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank cantwait8507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocho Rios
0.4 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#2 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,258 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sandals Royal Plantation
Sandals Royal Plantation
#3 of 35 in Ocho Rios
2,504 reviews
52.7 mi away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
45.5 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
1.1 mi away
Couples Sans Souci
Couples Sans Souci
#4 of 35 in Ocho Rios
3,827 reviews
54.2 mi away
Sandals Montego Bay
Sandals Montego Bay
#9 of 63 in Montego Bay
5,315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Ochi Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Ochi Beach Resort

Property: Sandals Ochi Beach Resort
Address: Main Street | P.O. Box 771, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Ocho Rios
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Ocho Rios
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ocho Rios
#6 Luxury Hotel in Ocho Rios
#6 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals Ochi Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 529
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•Situated on over 100 acres of lush hillside gardens overlooking the Caribbean Sea•529 villas, luxury rooms and suites with fantastic mountain and ocean views•94 pools (7 large public pools), 22 whirlpools•16 dining options including room service for butler serviced suites•2 luxurious Red Lane Spas•Complimentary golf at Jamaica’s most elite and popular golf course, the Sandals Golf & Country Club (Transfers to the golf course are included)•Over 5,000 sq. feet of first class meeting and conference facilities•Recently completed US$60 million renovation/refurbishing exercise•Voted Sandals Resorts “World’s Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row•Voted Sandals Resorts “Caribbean’s Leading Hotel Brand”, 18 years in a row•Voted Sandals Grande Riviera ‘Jamaica’s Leading Resort’ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandals Ochi Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Grande Riviera Beach & Villa Golf Hotel Ocho Rios
Sandals Grande Riviera Beach And Villa Golf Resort
Sandals Ocho Rios
Ciboney Ocho Rios
Sandals Ochi Beach Resort Jamaica/Ocho Rios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing