We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“EXCELLENT resort, superior service, and great food!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sandals Ochi Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sandals Ochi Beach Resort
Ranked #6 of 36 Hotels in Ocho Rios
Certificate of Excellence
North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT resort, superior service, and great food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2009

This was our 3rd stay at a Sandals/Beaches property and it was just as we expected.....EXCELLENT. The beaches and pools were outstanding, I especially loved the "hidden pool" in the afternoons before dinners. The food was excellent and the service was top notch! Anything we ever asked for or needed was taken care of promptly. I would definitely recommend ANY of the Sandals/Beaches resorts to anyone.....YOU WILL NOT BE DISAPPOINTED!! I hope to take my two children to the Beaches Turks next year, if possible,and we know that they will definitely have the time of their lives!!!!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SwimmerNorthCarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,989 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,685
    2,014
    748
    331
    211
See reviews for
301
6,329
43
87
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,452)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2009

We had a blast at SGOR! The resort is magical! This is our second trip to a Sandals resort (the first was Sandals St Lucia Grande). the town of Ocho Rios is great! Great people, and so much to do! We stayed in a Honeymoon Plantation Villa Suite at the resort. We really liked this room and being on the manor side was great, b/c you use more of the resort this way; also we are pool people and the pool at the manor was the best one. We booked this resort b/c of the great deal and because we wanted a larger resort than the other Sandals where we stayed. We enjoyed having more restaurants, bars, etc to choose from at this resort. We did our research before so there were no surprises (we knew ahead of time that it is far from the airport, that the resort didn't have a great beach, etc). We also like this resort b/c the guests here seemed to be fun and friendly (more so than at Sandals Dunn's River). There were a lot of couples that were from various age groups and many travelers came in small groups like we did. We had so much fun b/c we went out of our way to meet people so we really ended up having a great experience hanging out with others.
Our favorite things were San Gernarmos, Arizonas, the swim up bar, the piano bar on the Riveria side, the steele drum band that played one night, the jitney service, the friendly service, and the excursions.
Recommendations: 1) do your research before you go, 2) check out the boards in the lobbies that list the events for the day and pick up a copy each day of Footprints, the newsletter, 3) the ATV tour was a blast, 4) if you want a nicer beach, plan on going to Dunn's River resort--we ran out of time to do this but we went there for dinner and it was very nice, 4) go to dinner one night at SDR, 5) the market (not Island Grove Mall) was great if you don't mind high pressure sales!, 6) explore the resort b/c there are so many cool parts like hidden hot tubs, pools, etc, 7) meet other guests, 8) check out the street party, 9) try the Hummingbird, Jamaican Smile, and the BBC drinks.
The weather during our stay was beautiful. One day it poured rain during the afternoon, but we didn't even get out of the pool b/c it was so warm! Have fun! I wish I was still there!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MichellePW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2009

The resort was incredible and the service was unmatched. The all-inclusive trip was definitely the way to go. We didn't have to worry about anything. We spent a great deal of time at the resort but also ventured out to go shopping in town- with a cab that was approved by Sandals which made me feel very safe. We also took a jeep tour to Nine Mile to see Bob Marley's grave. The trip enabled us to see a lot of the Jamaican countryside- something you don't see on the resort. Overall our expierience was great and we are already looking into booking another trip- maybe this time to Beaches so we can take our son.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ktwolf78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gangstaegg
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2009

We had a short trip to SGOR but it was well worth it. The food was very good and I ate way too much of it. I highly recommend the jerk pork form the little lunch counter on the beach. The burgers will be tempting but you can get those anytime in the states go for the jerk pork! They have a theme every night so there is always something going on. The resort is very well laid out and their seems to be a corner for everyone to have there own space. I know they were sold out when we there but it thinking that it didn't seem crowded at all. I think that is because of good planning. Teyon the bartender is awesome. Chat the bartenders up, they are interesting. I had a Riveria deluxe room, which is one of the cheaper ones. It was great, had a great location and a nice view. If i had a complaint it would be that I had to leave the hotel at 8:45 for a 2:30 flight. They will try to tell you that you taking some huge risk if you try to get on a later bus but I saw their list and the people with 1:40 flights were on my bus and the people with 10:30am flights left at 6:45 so things can be done. It takes right at 2 hours to get from Ocho Rios to Montego Bay so leaving 4 hours before is probably good. If you bug them enough at the desk, THE DAY BEFORE YOU LEAVE, you can get on a later bus. Also the coffee, lotion, and snack mix in your room is not all-inclusive. I found that out the hard way. Otherwise, this place is great and in the words of Liz Lemon from 30 Rock "I want to go to there"

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gangstaegg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2009

Resort - Beautiful
Room - Had ants in the bathroom, sub-par, ask for the Riveria house (Where the best rooms are)
Food - Subpar
Water Sports - Great
Beach/Pools - Excellent

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank toemoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Michigan
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2009

About Us:
We are a married couple upper-30's/upper-40's. This was our 6th trip to Jamaica, 7th trip to Sandals, and 2nd time to Sandals Grande Ocho Rios. We are Platinum tier Sandals Select members.

Arrival/Departure:
We pre-booked a private transfer from Montego Bay airport to Ocho Rios with Clive's Transport Service. Even though we caught an early flight and arrived 2 hrs early, Clive was able to have a car there for us within 20 minutes of arrival at the Sandals airport lounge. Once we were in the car we were on our way immediately. The ride was much better than last time since the road between Montego Bay and Ocho Rios is now completed.

Accommodations:
We were booked in the Honeymoon Plantation Villa One-Bedroom Suite w/ Pool which is the highest Concierge category just below the Butler categories. The resort was 99% full so we were not offered a complimentary upgrade on this visit. The room was nice but a bit dated. Although we were happy with the room, I think the villas in general could use renovation. We enjoyed the villa pool and used it several times during our one week stay.

Food/Beverage:
We know that food is very subjective. In general, we thought the quality of the food was very good. We enjoyed Valentino's and Orchids most at Sandals Grande Ocho Rios. We would also recommend going over to Sandals Dunn's River for dinner at Marco Polo one evening. Drinks were well made and we tried to seek out the quieter bars where we tended to get better service.

Activities/Entertainment:
We attended the couple's game show in the amphitheatre and we always have a good time at these types of guest participation shows. We also really enjoyed country singer Billy Joe Neil.
Red Lane Spa - We enjoyed a couples massage. You can use the dry & moist saunas along with the plunge pools for free any time the spa is open.

Tours:
The only tour we did on this trip was Mystic Mountain. We did the Sky Explorer chair lift and the Bobsled attraction. We also enjoyed the infinity pool and waterslide on the top of the mountain. We did not do the zipline attraction because we did ziplining in St. Lucia when we visited the Halcyon last year. We had a great time and enjoyed the bobsled so much that we each went twice.

Other General Comments:
Andre at the Soon Come Back desk was great, as was the on-property Loyalty Manager, Megan. Both provided answers to questions and info requested, and did it with big smiles. Both deserve special recognition. Also, the Director of Guest Services, Jason Halloway went out of his way to make sure everything was perfect and we were having a great time. He even joined us during a tour of the Royal Plantation property next door that we had set up in advance of our arrival.

Overall, we once again enjoyed our stay at Sandals Grande Ocho Rios and will surely be returning in the future.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandylovnsandals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2009

Sandals Grande was excellent in every way from the room, food, service and beautiful beaches. We celebrated our 10th anniversary there and would HIGHLY RECOMMEND it to anyone. The guest services manager Walter J was wonderful and helped us to deal with American Airlines. There is so much to do and so many ways to just relax.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steelerlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocho Rios
0.5 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#2 of 36 in Ocho Rios
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,199 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sandals Royal Plantation
Sandals Royal Plantation
#3 of 36 in Ocho Rios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,419 reviews
62.9 mi away
Sandals South Coast
Sandals South Coast
#1 of 1 in White House
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
45.4 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
1.2 mi away
Couples Sans Souci
Couples Sans Souci
#4 of 36 in Ocho Rios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,711 reviews
52.7 mi away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Ochi Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Ochi Beach Resort

Property: Sandals Ochi Beach Resort
Address: Main Street | P.O. Box 771, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Ocho Rios
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Ocho Rios
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ocho Rios
#6 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
#6 Luxury Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals Ochi Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 529
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•Situated on over 100 acres of lush hillside gardens overlooking the Caribbean Sea•529 villas, luxury rooms and suites with fantastic mountain and ocean views•94 pools (7 large public pools), 22 whirlpools•16 dining options including room service for butler serviced suites•2 luxurious Red Lane Spas•Complimentary golf at Jamaica’s most elite and popular golf course, the Sandals Golf & Country Club (Transfers to the golf course are included)•Over 5,000 sq. feet of first class meeting and conference facilities•Recently completed US$60 million renovation/refurbishing exercise•Voted Sandals Resorts “World’s Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row•Voted Sandals Resorts “Caribbean’s Leading Hotel Brand”, 18 years in a row•Voted Sandals Grande Riviera ‘Jamaica’s Leading Resort’ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Jetsetter and Reservation Counter so you can book your Sandals Ochi Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Grande Riviera Beach And Villa Golf Resort
Sandals Grande Riviera Beach & Villa Golf Hotel Ocho Rios
Sandals Ocho Rios
Ciboney Ocho Rios
Sandals Ochi Beach Resort Jamaica/Ocho Rios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing