We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Best Honeymoon We Could Ever Ask For” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sandals Ochi Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sandals Ochi Beach Resort
Ranked #6 of 39 Hotels in Ocho Rios
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best Honeymoon We Could Ever Ask For”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

We were at Sandals Ocho Rios Grande Riviera for our honeymoon July 28-August 4. It was more than we could have ever hoped for in a honeymoon. From the moment we got through customs in Montego Bay to the time they dropped us back off at the airport for our return flight, the wonderful people at Sandals did their absolute best to make sure we were always accommodated, and happy!

Summer is definitely the time to go, since its technically the off season. We loved this because we were always able to find spots at the restaurants and pools, and we kept running into people we met and made some great friends.

We had good service all around but a few people stood out to us:

First of all, our butlers were AMAZING!!!! We had Josie & Christa and they took really good care of us! They went above and beyond including a few times when they surprised us with special snacks and treats without us asking. One day in particular we told Josie on our ride down from our room how much we had enjoyed the coconut shrimp from the our lunch at the restaurant on the beach side. That afternoon, while laying by the pool, Josie showed up with a plate for each of us of coconut shrimp. Seriously try the coconut shrimp... its incredible!

Some other people around the resort that were amazing, Nicholas at Dino's grill. he called himself the "Vibe guy" not really sure what that means, but every time we saw him in his big floppy hat he waved and would come talk card tricks with my husband.

Natoya at Soy (and I think also at Mariner's Grill) was a wonderful hostess and server. She was constantly checking in on us, and did everything she could to make sure our dinner service was enjoyable. If she saw us sitting with empty drinks she made sure they were filled up.

We had a good time with the playmakers at the pool, but our favorite was Jason (or as he told us to remember his name July, August, Sept. Oct. Nov... blew our minds) He remembered everyone's names after only meeting us once, and just generally did a great job making sure everyone was having a great time.

We had exceptional service with Carl at China Doll, where we went for dinner with friends we had met there. He was very attentive and really made sure to keep our drinks full and ask that we enjoyed our food.

Finally we purchased a poolside cabana on our last day and had Odave as our Cabana guy and he was phenomenal. Always made sure our drinks were full and that we were enjoying our time, even brought over fresh coconut for us!

The ONLY issue we had on the entire trip, (and this is nitpicky) was our mattress, I don't know if they're still in the process of renovating, but the mattress in our room was incredibly stiff and felt like a very old spring mattress.


Overall, we had an AMAZING experience and if we can, we plan on going back for our first anniversary next summer.

Room Tip: Butler suite villas are quiet at night and you have a little more quiet than beach or poolside rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ruth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,270
    1,845
    672
    298
    201
See reviews for
259
5,751
37
79
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,257)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marion, North Carolina
Level Contributor
73 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

My husband and I visited the Sandals Grande Riviera for our honeymoon. We chose a butler style room which seemed worth the added expense. We had two butlers, Anton and Nadine. Nadine far exceeded our expectations. She always went above and beyond. She made our dinner reservations, un-packed our clothes, decorated our room with towel characters, kept our refrigerator stocked, and escorted us to dinners and excursions. She was kind and caring. She truly made our first experience with Sandals. However, our other butler, Anton, was less than accommodating. He did not volunteer to pack our luggage (as Nadine had unpacked our luggage). On the nights when he was our butler, we did not have a decorated room and we escorted ourselves to dinner.

The restaurants were really nice. Our favorites were Kelly's Dockside and Kimonos. Serome was an awesome waiter at Kelly's. He went above and beyond. He was by far the best waiter we had on our 7-night stay. Tex was an awesome entertainer/chef at Kimonos. He made everyone feel welcome and even did some singing. Riccardo, bartender at the Polo Lounge, was awesome. We visited the Polo Lounge each night, mainly just to visit Riccardo.

We are considering visiting either Sandals or a Beaches resort in the future.

Room Tip: I would recommend choosing a room near the seaside village. The butler village is a significant dist...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SummerC89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sc
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

The Sandals experience is one that everyone should take a chance on. The Grand Riviera was upgraded/renovated and is more inviting than before. The staff was great. The food was incredible. A must is the Kelly's restaurant.

Room Tip: We always choose an Oceanview room. It makes afternoon naps, and morning breakfast on the balcony s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BronzeQueen709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarillo, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

We just return along with 10 of our friends. I am not able to put into words the most amazing time we experienced. It was totally magical. The resort is beautiful, the ocean is amazing but the butlers/ staff/bartenders....there are no words. This was our 5th year to Jamaica and last two of those were at this resort. We already planning next year... We renewed our vows on the beach and I am just telling you, they do it "class act" from the people who set it up to the final end of the day.... Our butlers, Nadine, Anton, Simone, Ladana omg...they are like our family. They ALWAYS go far beyond their call of duty to make sure you are happy, comfortable and always "not hungry" lol we love this group and had tears when we left. The bartenders, are so fun and friendly and the Polo lounge well lets just say "they all knew us and greeted us as family" Ricardo, Kamier (ms?) Hotawana, Topal, Jerry, Wayne, Courtney, we just cant remember all the names but let me just say there is not a unhappy, unfriendly, loving and helpful person there. THEY are what takes us back. If you want to go to a resort where you are treated like royalty then this is it. The food is great, not a bad restaurant. Nothing like room service breakfast on your patio in the wonderful Jamaican world. I just wanted to say that our group of 12 never wanted a thing....if you did, you simply didn't ask :) Thank you again for such a wonderful magical and amazing vacation and I hope I see all of you next year!!!

Room Tip: We love our butlers not because we are needy but because they are now our friends.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank texas1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Such a fabulous resort. This was our second time staying there. The staff is world class. Thank you Vishal, Peaches, Kenroy and the wonderful Lydia. The swim up pool bars are fun and relaxing. Great bartenders SHOUT OUT to Lopez and Alex. lot's of fun. The ocean view from our balcony was breathtaking. We have already booked for next year. I highly recommend this resort. Take it form a couple that work at resorts you will not be disappointed. Jim & Lori

Room Tip: book a ocean view suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jchris1027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

This resort really does attempt in so many ways to make your stay as relaxing as possible. Our butlers Gladstone and Oneil worked incredibly hard to provide those extra little touches that made our stay seem so memorable. Monique in the Polo lounge was awesome, a true professional whilst being so much fun! She really was top class! Ennis, same bar, and Ricardo excellent fun and very hard working! The team here are the best in the resort! Odave made our day in the cabana. He was attentive, hilarious fun and has the biggest smile I have ever seen!! He would make a super butler and sandals are missing a trick here! The food in general is ok, breakfast a highlight whilst valentinos and Kelly's dockside were disappointing! Our room was wonderful, butler village sharing a pool with 3 other rooms. I did not see anyone other than us use the pool. We visited during the quiet season and the area by the manor pool was perfect... Plenty of empty sun loungers and at night so many places to sit away from the restaurants and bars! Simply love the double loungers with fire pits at night!!!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lovely66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

My now husband and I went to this resort to get married, and they couldn't of given us a more perfect wedding if they tried. We stayed for 9 days in the butler villa suites and never wanted to leave! Kerry Ann from the wedding department was absolutely amazing and made me feel 100% at ease through the entire process. Micka shot our wedding pics and they were like pics out of a dream. He is so talented,and truely an asset to the company. Our butlers were such a delight and were at our becon call. Everything about this place surpassed our expectations and cant wait to go back! We would not change a thing about this trip!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tsutton226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocho Rios
0.5 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#2 of 39 in Ocho Rios
5.0 of 5 stars 1,107 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sandals Royal Plantation
Sandals Royal Plantation
#3 of 39 in Ocho Rios
4.5 of 5 stars 2,161 reviews
5.3 mi away
Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Couples Sans Souci
Couples Sans Souci
#4 of 39 in Ocho Rios
4.5 of 5 stars 3,445 reviews
45.4 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
54.1 mi away
Sandals Montego Bay
Sandals Montego Bay
#7 of 68 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 4,738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Ochi Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Ochi Beach Resort

Property: Sandals Ochi Beach Resort
Address: Main Street | P.O. Box 771, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Ocho Rios
#4 Family Hotel in Ocho Rios
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Ocho Rios
#6 Luxury Hotel in Ocho Rios
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ocho Rios
#6 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals Ochi Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 529
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•Situated on over 100 acres of lush hillside gardens overlooking the Caribbean Sea•529 villas, luxury rooms and suites with fantastic mountain and ocean views•94 pools (7 large public pools), 22 whirlpools•16 dining options including room service for butler serviced suites•2 luxurious Red Lane Spas•Complimentary golf at Jamaica’s most elite and popular golf course, the Sandals Golf & Country Club (Transfers to the golf course are included)•Over 5,000 sq. feet of first class meeting and conference facilities•Recently completed US$60 million renovation/refurbishing exercise•Voted Sandals Resorts “World’s Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row•Voted Sandals Resorts “Caribbean’s Leading Hotel Brand”, 18 years in a row•Voted Sandals Grande Riviera ‘Jamaica’s Leading Resort’ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Sandals Ochi Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Grande Riviera Beach And Villa Golf Resort
Sandals Grande Riviera Beach & Villa Golf Hotel Ocho Rios
Sandals Ocho Rios
Ciboney Ocho Rios
Sandals Ochi Beach Resort Jamaica/Ocho Rios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing