We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointed!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sandals Ochi Beach Resort
Ranked #6 of 35 Hotels in Ocho Rios
Reviewed April 20, 2014

This hotel was not what we had expected. We had heard amazing things about Sandals from a few friends, so we decided to give it a try! What a disappointment! There was nothing original here. The food was below par and the atmosphere was severely lacking-can you say boring! You had to take a bus to get between the two sites and the better pool was on the site farthest from the ocean. That didn't make much sense to us. We stayed on the ocean side. The view was amazing! The water is so beautiful here. But you could barely see the beach from the one pool with a bar on the beach side. The pool staff/bar is pretty slow and they did not have servers going around the pool, you had to go to the bar to order a drink. Our room was nice and clean, but not worth the money we paid. We found ourselves pretty bored after 3 days. You can only lay on the beach/pool for so long! We like adventure, and we did not find it here. Dunns Falls was really fun, and we recommended it to anyone looking for adventure. Other than that, good luck!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tamara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (8,767)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,059 - 4,065 of 8,767 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2014

My husband and I just got back from Jamaica on Tuesday and this vacation was in the top 3 of all vacations. It was our first Sandals vacation, but in no way our last. The food was very good and the service was off the chain. The warmth of the staff is something to be experienced. They certainly know how to make you feel special.
There were a few hiccups but nothing to keep us from returning. Our ride from the airport was not on a Sandals bus and the bus was in horrible condition, but we were greeted with cold cloths and warm smiles. The grounds are beautiful and very well kept.
Our room looked nothing like the one we selected and paid for and we were disappointed, but once we met Jerry, Jessica and Monique none of that mattered.
Jerry (The Energizer Bunny) is great at what he does. He never runs our energy and he know how to bring you into a good time.
Jessica (The Song Bird) has the sweetest spirit and is so hospitable. It was as though I had known her for years. Sandals, you have a gem in her. I hope you recognize it.
Monique (The Dancing Machine) is so fun and inviting. She wouldn't let us lift a finger. She was constantly serving us and telling us to relax and enjoy.
They most definitely made our vacation what it was. We were very surprised to hear that Jessica and Monique were in a training program. They were well seasoned and would be a great asset to the Grande Riviera.
I can't go without mentioning Boom Boom. What a treat. She is in the right profession. She is energetic, funny and real. We miss them all so much.
We didn't do any excursions because we we were having so much fun and never wanted to leave the property.
I love my family, my home and being home, but i must say I feel as though my family has been extended.
Thanks Sandals for sharing your resort, your staff and your hospitality. We will never forget and we will, without a doubt, return.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnnL0603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014

Have just returned from a week's holiday in this resort, had a great time and would go again, any time !
We stayed in the Butler Village, where we found the accommodation to be very comfortable and relaxing. Our Butlers were Paula and Jackie, both of whom looked after us very well, answered all our questions, booked our trip to the Dunns River Falls, and made sure we had everything we needed.
We ate at Kellys' , China Doll and the Manor House - all the food was very good, The service at Kelly's was very slow on one occasion, with the starters never arriving, and side dishes not being served with my husband's main course.
Our room was spotless, linen was beautiful and the bathroom a good size.
The exterior of the room was looking a little tired and would benefit from repainting and the area tidying up.
The grounds for the entire resort are beautifully kept.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank purpledonmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

The views from the beachside building were outstanding! Note: look carefully at the room selection if you are not into the "night life noise".

Kerian in concierge was Outstanding! Any call for assistance was IMMEDIATELY addressed and concerns were truly 'listened to' from a patron perspective .
I
Also names to note: Tourique in the Riveria bar area (who also greeted us just this afternoon - remembering our names), Sophia in Valentino's (also sought us out in the morning buffet :). ), Jackie W @ Red Lane Spa , Anna & Mellissa in the Ochi Beach area and Levian takes some Gr8 photos!

Room Tip: On the beachside - go 3rd floor +; ask Sandals representative regarding Balcony/not options on each...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kari S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

First time at a Sandals hotel/resort in Jamaica although we have been at great resorts all over the world. We had a great holiday the Staff were excellent, always very helpful and plesant.
There was a great choice of restaurants every one as good as the next.
The food and drink was wonderful and nothing was a problem with any of the staff who are all to many to mention from the guy at the bus to the barman in the swim up pool at the beach everyboby was really great and made our holiday.
Special mention to Cocktail servers in the polo lounge Annalee,and Monigue,Julia in the Manor Restaurant who moved or table because of a slight problem. Dwayne in the breakfast area,and young Oral trainee waiter at the beach restaurant hope you make it.Also big thanks two our two Butlers who helped make or holiday stay very relaxing.

Room Tip: Try and get a suite near the main Manor reception in case you have to walk. Our pool was slightly t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

My new wife and I just got back to St. Louis after a week long trip at the Sandals Resort in Ocho Rios with family and friends, and I have to say that I'm pretty depressed we had to come back. It was the best time we've ever had. We had about 30 people with us to help celebrate our wedding.

The days leading up to the wedding were filled with fruity cocktails and Red Stripes served to us on the beach. If we weren't lounging around on the beautiful beach, we were going on an excursions. I would STRONGLY recommend the following: 1) booze cruise on a catamaran to go snorkeling and hiking up Dunn River Falls - everyone on the boat had a blast. It was quite a party on the way back. 2) Chukka ATV tour through an old sugar plantation ending with a 25 foot cliff jump into clear blue water. We had to wait for horses and goats to clear the path several times - Courtney was an outstanding guide and we got some amazing pictures.

Even if the resort was subpar (which it wasn't), we would have still had a great time based on the wonderful staff at Sandals. As soon as we showed up we were greeted by genuinely nice & happy employees. Our motley crew couldn't stop talking about how much fun we had just sitting around the swim-up bar or standing around the beach bar getting drinks from Alex, Andre, Dwayne & Tereen. Sandals was very accommodating to our large party (last minute reservations for 30 people can't be an easy task, but the great concierge staff was able to pull it off a few times).

Our wedding was magnificent and we couldn't have asked for me. The ceremony was beautiful and LaToya, our wedding planner, made sure everything went smoothly. We were taken to a private area on the beach for our reception. We had a cocktail hour while listening to steel drums as the sun went down; it was unreal. The layout and food was great. Once the DJ started playing things got "turned up"; everyone was going crazy dancing on the beach INCLUDING the Sandals staff. At one point there was a dance off, which Kenroy, our awesome videographer (who busted out some outrageous Jamaican dance moves) won hands down. I've never laughed so hard in my life. After the reception was over we took the party to the beachside bar which was very similar to a club. The night ended with a handful of my groomsman jumping in the ocean.

All in all, it was a great experience and I wish we could go back next year (or next month).

Special thanks to the Sandals Staff... Especially Kenroy, Alex, Andre, Dwayne, Verona, Shadine, Racquel, Stephen, LaToya, Rev Joel, Tereen, Rick, Kirk, Maxine, Anthony, the whole booze cruise crew & water sports staff.

*** USE CLUB MOBAY FOR BEFORE AND AFTER ***

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrquickhands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

We had an amazing stay at Sandals grande riviera resort recently!!!!! Everything about the resort was top notch from check in to check out. We did a 6 night stay on the villa side which included a butler. Our villa was clean, roomy, and the king beds were pretty comfy. Our butlers oshane and jermaine were amazing! They did so much for us. They truly made this feel like a vacation. We relaxed at the pool while many times they brought us drinks and lunch and booked our dinner reservations for each night. The villa side was a hike away from the beach side, but the resort provides an air conditioned shuttle and picks up about every 5 minutes. We however loved the pool side with the huge pool and swim up bar! Sandals grande had many great restaurant options (maybe like 15?) We enjoyed all the ones we tried! Great food! I think we all gained 10 pounds on this vaca! We also did two excursions through island routes during our stay! We loved both the catamaran cruise to dunns river falls and the horse ride & swim! Good prices on the excursions and we had a great time!! I would highly recommend this resort! We plan on returning to this exact resort in 2 years for our 10 year wedding anniversary!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Luckyladie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocho Rios
0.4 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#1 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,352 reviews
52.7 mi away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
0.2 mi away
Sandals Royal Plantation
Sandals Royal Plantation
#2 of 35 in Ocho Rios
2,664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Couples Sans Souci
Couples Sans Souci
#3 of 35 in Ocho Rios
4,029 reviews
5.5 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios
ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios
#8 of 35 in Ocho Rios
8,921 reviews
1.4 mi away
Moon Palace Jamaica
Moon Palace Jamaica
#7 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Ochi Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Ochi Beach Resort

Address: Main Street | P.O. Box 771, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ocho Rios
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Ocho Rios
#6 Luxury Hotel in Ocho Rios
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
#6 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range: $417 - $1,047 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals Ochi Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 529
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•Situated on over 100 acres of lush hillside gardens overlooking the Caribbean Sea•529 villas, luxury rooms and suites with fantastic mountain and ocean views•94 pools (7 large public pools), 22 whirlpools•16 dining options including room service for butler serviced suites•2 luxurious Red Lane Spas•Complimentary golf at Jamaica’s most elite and popular golf course, the Sandals Golf & Country Club (Transfers to the golf course are included)•Over 5,000 sq. feet of first class meeting and conference facilities•Recently completed US$60 million renovation/refurbishing exercise•Voted Sandals Resorts “World’s Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row•Voted Sandals Resorts “Caribbean’s Leading Hotel Brand”, 18 years in a row•Voted Sandals Grande Riviera ‘Jamaica’s Leading Resort’ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Unique Vacations Inc, Evoline ltd, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sandals Ochi Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Grande Riviera Beach & Villa Golf Hotel Ocho Rios
Sandals Grande Riviera Beach And Villa Golf Resort
Sandals Ocho Rios
Ciboney Ocho Rios
Sandals Ochi Beach Resort Jamaica/Ocho Rios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing