We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Birthday @ Sandals Grande Riviera”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sandals Ochi Beach Resort
Ranked #6 of 35 Hotels in Ocho Rios
Reviewed November 26, 2013

My husband and I took a short trip to The Sandals Grande Riviera this past week. Pulling up into the Resort we were greeted by lush gardens and lots of smiling faces. We were booked in a Butler Suite, which was amazing! Our Butlers. Jeremy and Richard were extremely professional and surprised us every day with something special. It was my 29th birthday and to be surprised with a happy birthday message on our bed, and a relaxing bubble bath with champagne was the best way to kick off the last year in my 20's!! We recieved attentive service from both butlers and will be sure to request them specifically when we return! Whenever we needed them we would just call and they'd be there! It was so nice to be treated like a King & Queen! Even other Butlers were always willing to help if you needed, especially Gladstone he wasnt even our Butler and always stopped to make sure we were doing alright!
The food was amazing, and there is a veriety of restaurants to chose from, so you will never have to order the same thing twice! (except the Blue Mountain Coffee rubbed steak @ Sabrinas, This you may like I did, order it 3 or 4 times throughout your stay!) Our Butler Jeremy reserved us a table at Kelly's Dockside which was very romantic. The next day we were relaxing on the beach to be surprised by Richard with Coconut Shrimp which was to die for!
Soy (the Sushi Bar) was great! We did Saki Bombs for the first time with other guests and we had so much fun!
We were lucky to see the Steel Band play, they are amazing, you do not want to miss out on this!
Be sure to visit the bar by the Beach, See Anthony and Andre they made our last day great! They sing, dance and make great drinks! And Annalee will be walking the beach brining you drinks and a smile! We also had a great time talking with Chantalle at the bar as well as one of the Playmakers Joseph who plays some great music and will make you laugh so hard!
In the Lobby we always saw Caren, who helped us with taxi service going into town and was very friendly and making sure all of the guests were enjoying their stay.
Our room was always spotless, and the pillows felt like clouds. We always had a fully stocked bar in our room, we loved the Champagne. The rooms are beautiful with mahogoney furniture and flat screen TV's and you also recieve great toiletries provided by Sandals' spa, Red Lane. They all smell great!
I felt like we never had to ask for anything, because everything was always perfect.
Our vacation was great and what made it more special was meeting all of these amazing people who work for Sandals, and have such a great time while serving us. They make you feel like you are part of their family. I cannot wait to book my next stay at Sandals Grande Riviera and to see everyone again!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank melissaamaya09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals Ochi Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2013

Thank you so much for your review of Sandals Grande Riviera. We're glad that you had an excellent stay at our resort. You celebrated a very special birthday with us and we're thrilled that you enjoyed your entire stay. We hope to welcome you back very soon for another incredible vacation!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (8,677)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,455 - 4,461 of 8,677 reviews

Reviewed November 26, 2013

We traveled as a couple and stayed for 2 weeks 11/8-11/22. I have been reading the reviews on trip advisor for the past 9 months. My wife and I are in our early 60's and have been doing all exclusive's since the early 80's. We stayed in the Manor house in a beautiful end suite with a butler. I have never experienced such a well run hotel. Vishal the Hotel manger has done a excellent job motivating his employee's and it shows. he even knew our names after a few days and we where always greeted every day with "how are you Mr. And Mrs. Sherry. This man has passion for his work. Our Butler Jermaine is another person who does his job with passion. We were so lucky to have him. He always found us during the day and would stop by with a cocktail or something to eat. he really made our vacation so relaxing. I'm a foodie and found the food at most of the restaurants excellent. Our favorite was Sabrina's at the Manor house. I saw that some complained about the small portions. I have a good appetite and ordered all the courses and I was more then full after every meal. We are golfers and played 8 rounds during our stay. The course was good but the greens are slow and when it rains which is everyday for a short time the fairways tend to be slow also. We had Anthony AKA Soda for the whole time and he was very professional. I would highly recommend him. I would also like to give shout out to Dwayne the cook at the Manor house and T' and Rachel who worked the Cabana and gave good service. My wife and I are looking forward to going back soon.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank richardBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals Ochi Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2013

Richard, it was so good to welcome you and your wife to Sandals Grande Riviera. We're ecstatic to hear that your stay was with us was simply amazing. Our staff works very hard to ensure that we offer the best service possible to our guests and it's great that they played a big role in making your experience a memorable one. Thank you so much for your review.

We can't wait to welcome you back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Big resort but easy to get everywhere. Butler service was everything you hope it would be. We had two butlers that worked shifts, Nicola and Kamisha, I would recommend them, and will request them when going back! They will do everything, from making sure you never run out of your favorite liquor to bringing you a cappuccino from across the resort if that's what your craving. They were wonderful making all of our dinner reservations, and ensuring that we had great seats. If we went back I would be sure to stay on the beachside, we stayed on the other side this time because we wanted the plunge pool. We never used it because we were on the second floor, and it's not easy access from the second floor. All the really great restaurants are on the beach side, the other side has a bigger pool, but we spent most of our time at one of the pools on the beach side anyway. In reality the shuttles run often and it's not a big deal to cross the resort no matter where you stay. Our only complaint is how many pictures they constantly wanted to take of you, because they were obviously trying to sell them. The duns river cruise is a must! Over all we had such a great time we almost booked our second trip before we even left.

Room Tip: The beach side is closer to all the major things going on, but can be noisy, the villa side is quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals Ochi Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2013

Julie, thank you for your review of Sandals Grande Riviera. We're so glad that your first stay with us was such an extraordinary experience. We love to meet and exceed the expectations of our guests and it's great to hear that we did just that during your stay!

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

My wife and I went to Sandals Grande Riviera for our 10 years anniversary in Oct 2013. What an amazing time we had. Everything at this resort is exceptional. The food, the staff, the grounds, the ENTERTAINMENT. We really enjiyed the nighly entertainment...very talented crew. We really liked the variety at this resort. We stayed in the butlers villa and had our own private pool. The villa was really nice and well kept. Our butlers were Damon and Jerome. They made the experience that much better for us. The service they provided was exceptional. I even got to golf twice that week at the Sandals course. It was a pretty easy course but being able to golf was a huge bonus. We can't wait to plan our second visit. We just hope my parents watch our two little ones again :)

Jason and Caren

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jason L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals Ochi Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2013

Jason, we appreciate you taking the time to review our property. We're thrilled to hear that you were able to enjoy such an amazing anniversary stay. Our butlers are all highly trained to anticipate and accommodate the needs of our guests. I'm glad that Damon and Jerome made such a great impression during your stay!

We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We stayed 11 nights in Nov 2013 in a Butler Suite. (We chose this option rather than just the normal or Concierge room as it was on a special deal). The Butler option was useful for booking us into restaurants, but as we are fairly independent and like to walk around the resort and find things for ourselves we did not make as much use of the Butler as most people did.
The resort is quite spread out with the Butler suites up on the hillside and you need to get the minibus from there across the road to the seaside. The restaurants are split between the 2 locations.
We enjoyed all the restaurants, particularly Valentino's (Italian), and there was a good choice.
All the staff were very friendly and happy to help with any queries.
Our main aim was to play golf and we played 9 rounds. We took the shuttle bus (approx 10 Mins) to the course, and paid the $20 fee for each caddy. As we prefer to walk the course we had a caddy each, and additional to the fee which is paid to the club, we gave them a tip each day.
The caddies were very friendly and gave us some good tips as we went round. Although I wouldn't normally choose to play with a caddy, they were good company and were expert at predicting when rain might come and so we were able to dodge around the course sometimes to miss a shower. It also helped as we were able to maybe start on the back 9 to speed up play.
We played quickly so each day we could be back at the resort before noon, giving us all afternoon around the pool or on the beach.
We didn't go on the diving, snorkelling or glass bottom boat trips, but these ran a couple of times a day.
There was also a good program of games and activities if you wished to join in.
We enjoyed our holiday and would return again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SixpenceUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

This place is amazing. We went for the second week of our honeymoon as a friend had said we may get bored at one resort for 2 weeks. we wish we hadn't listened. we would have had a blast there for 2 weeks. anyways our one week of honeymoon in sandals was the best thing money could buy. We had 2 butlers that took care of everything we needed from booking our dinner reservations to getting us the best tables at the restaurants and booking tours and spa appointments. Kelly and Latoya (our butlers) took care of me especially on my birthday. We will go back as soon as we can save enough money to get there. The food was really good had great seafood and you never go hungry. drinks were tasty and you better try the jamaican smile when you go to the bar!

Room Tip: the butler suites at the villas are a bit more pricey but it is well worth the extra for a very spec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

This was our fourth trip to a Sandals location and we decidedly ranked it last on our list. We did have a great time because it's hard not to in that environment. Perfect weather, drinks, food, and nice people. The biggest knock at this resort were the butlers and location. Keep in mind that you are 90 minutes from the airport, not counting the amount of time you need to wait or pay handsomely for a private car to get to the resort. Not a huge deal, but it's more time and money. This is especially true when you stay close to the airport at other locations. The couple we went with spent $250 for a private car to get to the resort. The second item were the butlers. We spoke to more than a few people who had issues with their butlers and please know that they are not bad. They were nice and always did as requested, mind you, our requests were drinks, food, and reservations primarily. However, some of those requests took multiple calls to complete on many occasions of hours passing. As people, they were nicer than I could give justice through words. We could only guess that they are both new and spread too thin. We also had numerous issues getting our room cleaned throughout the week. Again, I can't fault the people at all, they were more than kind, I just think they were spread far too thin at such a vast resort. The only other complain would be an overall lack of organization compared to other locations that we have been to.

Onto the good. The resort is huge and beautiful. There are two sides and the mountain villa side is expansive which might require some people to need to rely on the carts for transport to get to the hub area. We often walked and were offered rides which we declined because the only thing we had to do was walk. Helped burn off one of the many beverages we enjoyed over the week. Food is adequate overall, but the portion sizes are quite small. Pretty easy solution is that you just order more or go someplace else. Also, this isn't five star cuisine, as some expect for some reason, but that doesn't mean it isn't good. We had more than a few excellent meals. People we spoke with that did tours had nothing but positive things to say.

In summary, we had other sandals locations to compare against and this location simply was not up to par. Mind you, the bar was set very highly from other Sandals locations. We still had a great time there, but we would go back to any number of locations before this one or try another location before we would make a return trip. Barring the staffing issues, this would be a five star review.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Minglish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocho Rios
0.4 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#1 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,333 reviews
52.7 mi away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
0.2 mi away
Sandals Royal Plantation
Sandals Royal Plantation
#2 of 35 in Ocho Rios
2,627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios
ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios
#8 of 35 in Ocho Rios
8,847 reviews
1.1 mi away
Couples Sans Souci
Couples Sans Souci
#3 of 35 in Ocho Rios
3,984 reviews
1.4 mi away
Moon Palace Jamaica
Moon Palace Jamaica
#7 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Ochi Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Ochi Beach Resort

Address: Main Street | P.O. Box 771, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Ocho Rios
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ocho Rios
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Ocho Rios
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
#6 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
#6 Luxury Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range: $376 - $1,025 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals Ochi Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 529
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•Situated on over 100 acres of lush hillside gardens overlooking the Caribbean Sea•529 villas, luxury rooms and suites with fantastic mountain and ocean views•94 pools (7 large public pools), 22 whirlpools•16 dining options including room service for butler serviced suites•2 luxurious Red Lane Spas•Complimentary golf at Jamaica’s most elite and popular golf course, the Sandals Golf & Country Club (Transfers to the golf course are included)•Over 5,000 sq. feet of first class meeting and conference facilities•Recently completed US$60 million renovation/refurbishing exercise•Voted Sandals Resorts “World’s Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row•Voted Sandals Resorts “Caribbean’s Leading Hotel Brand”, 18 years in a row•Voted Sandals Grande Riviera ‘Jamaica’s Leading Resort’ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Unique Vacations Inc so you can book your Sandals Ochi Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Grande Riviera Beach & Villa Golf Hotel Ocho Rios
Sandals Grande Riviera Beach And Villa Golf Resort
Sandals Ocho Rios
Ciboney Ocho Rios
Sandals Ochi Beach Resort Jamaica/Ocho Rios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing