We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Frequent Sandals Resort Traveler”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sandals Ochi Beach Resort
Ranked #6 of 35 Hotels in Ocho Rios
Reviewed September 4, 2013

I have visited the Sandals resorts in the Bahamas, Jamaica (Negril) and Jamaica (Ocho Rios). Of the three, Sandals Grande Riviera was by far the very best! The resort is beautiful and rather large...we sunned, partied and ate dinner at a different place each day and night! The staff is very friendly and accommodating...staff at the Bahamas resort were not as friendly or helpful.

There is plenty to do whether it's lie on the beach, go to performances at the resort's theater, or attend the many functions provided by the resort (e.g., chocolate parties, beach parties). In addition, due to the layout of the resort, it NEVER feels crowded!

As a few others have mentioned, the food is average to slightly above average, but in no way bad or unappetizing. Everything is FREE, including drinks made from top shelf liquor!

If you can afford it, the butler service is SUPERIOR!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EvieLes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (8,674)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,650 - 4,656 of 8,674 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I just left from staying 5 days, 4 nights in one of the villas on the resort. We had butlers and they were wonderful! Every need was met and they really did a great job in making sure we were comfortable. Moria was my favorite and I am going to request her our next stay! The resort was beautiful and everyone was so nice. Our 2nd anniversary vacation was great!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nadia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Staff went out of their way to pamper/please... Lopez @ the beach swim up bar was fantastic. Alex was also very good. Sharon convinced the girls to rent a cabana & get massage then waited on us hand and foot. Plenty of restaurant options, 3 pool bars with premium alcohol & again, service was spectacular. Great Vacation, thanks to Lopez, Sharon & Alex!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DFP_63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

I had the pleasure of staying at this sandals resort and am already making plans for my next trip! It offers a little bit of everything, so I was never bored, even when it rained. The staff is truly amazing and go above and beyond! If you visit be sure to say hello to butler Anton, in him you'll find a lifelong friend!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed on the hillside part of the resort with the butler service. One word, fabulous! Our butlers, Kadesha and her partner, were amazing! They went above and beyond daily to make our stay perfect.

Sandals is doing a great job if continuing to improve the food quality and choices. There were many resorts on property, each one was very enjoyable.

It was fun having the resort split. It was like having another resort to go to!

My only complaint, it went by to fast!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kallengassen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I just returned from an 8 day trip with my husband to Sandals Grande Riveria, Jamaica. We had a wonderful Sandals experience. The staff treated us as though we were someone very special. They could not have been more inviting, helpfull, or pleasent. This was out 1st time in a Sandals resort. The resort was beautiful with thier tropical folliage seeping from every direction. The grounds were prestine, clean, and beautiful. Very much a paradise on earth. The resort was well staffed with the most polite and caring people. There was always someone waiting to serve us in any way we needed. They could not do enough to make our visit one of our favorite adventures of all times. We will go back the the Grande Riveria.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Manor House/One Bedroom. The room was your average hotel type room and bath. We d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NicholsP2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Sandals & Beaches Review Coordinator at Sandals Ochi Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

We're so happy to hear that you enjoyed 8 splendid days at Sandals Grande Riviera. Our staff goes through countless hours of training to ensure that we are offering the highest level of service to our guests and I'm so glad that your stay was indicative of our efforts. Thank you for your review!

Happy Travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Me and wife just returned from the Grande Riviera last night, and were not impressed to say the least. The rooms were nice, the resort was clean, and service was good. However the food was absolutely terrible. Not only was it less than appetizing but it made us and several other couples we met while staying there sick. Both me and my wife came down with food poising, my wife twice! Also I hope you like Red Stripe, because if your not a liqueur drinker it is the only beer they offer (it's terrible). Also there is hardly any beach. When we did venture into the ocean we were stung by jelly fish. After the fact we were told it was jelly fish season, and early one morning we observed them scooping them out of the ocean from the pier by the dozens. All in all we lost half of our vacation due to recovering from the food poising and jelly fish stings, but at least the room was nice (sarcasm). In closing, I would not recommend this resort to anyone, unless the above sound enjoyable to you.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Jason N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Sandals & Beaches Review Coordinator at Sandals Ochi Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. We strive to keep the highest standard of quality and service and we deeply regret if we did not quite live up to your expectations.

Regarding your concerns about the food on resort, it is surprising to note that some of the food served was not to your expectations. This aspect of our operation is usually considered exceptional and very often received compliments from our guests. While we have not had similar complaints regarding food illnesses on resort, we are respectful of the opinions you have expressed and recognize that one person’s specific experience can only be judged by that individual. Please accept our apologies for your not-so-good dining experience with us.

We want to ensure that our future guests do not share the same experience. Therefore, your feedback will be sent to our General Manager for immediate evaluation and action as needed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocho Rios
0.4 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#1 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,333 reviews
52.7 mi away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
0.2 mi away
Sandals Royal Plantation
Sandals Royal Plantation
#2 of 35 in Ocho Rios
2,626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios
ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios
#8 of 35 in Ocho Rios
8,845 reviews
1.1 mi away
Couples Sans Souci
Couples Sans Souci
#3 of 35 in Ocho Rios
3,984 reviews
1.4 mi away
Moon Palace Jamaica
Moon Palace Jamaica
#7 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Ochi Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Ochi Beach Resort

Address: Main Street | P.O. Box 771, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Ocho Rios
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Ocho Rios
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ocho Rios
#6 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
#6 Luxury Hotel in Ocho Rios
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range: $132 - $1,024 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals Ochi Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 529
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•Situated on over 100 acres of lush hillside gardens overlooking the Caribbean Sea•529 villas, luxury rooms and suites with fantastic mountain and ocean views•94 pools (7 large public pools), 22 whirlpools•16 dining options including room service for butler serviced suites•2 luxurious Red Lane Spas•Complimentary golf at Jamaica’s most elite and popular golf course, the Sandals Golf & Country Club (Transfers to the golf course are included)•Over 5,000 sq. feet of first class meeting and conference facilities•Recently completed US$60 million renovation/refurbishing exercise•Voted Sandals Resorts “World’s Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row•Voted Sandals Resorts “Caribbean’s Leading Hotel Brand”, 18 years in a row•Voted Sandals Grande Riviera ‘Jamaica’s Leading Resort’ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Unique Vacations Inc, Booking.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sandals Ochi Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Grande Riviera Beach & Villa Golf Hotel Ocho Rios
Sandals Grande Riviera Beach And Villa Golf Resort
Sandals Ocho Rios
Ciboney Ocho Rios
Sandals Ochi Beach Resort Jamaica/Ocho Rios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing