We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“This was our 3rd time here!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sandals Ochi Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sandals Ochi Beach Resort
Ranked #6 of 39 Hotels in Ocho Rios
Certificate of Excellence
Uckfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“This was our 3rd time here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We have stayed here 3 time and also omce next door at the Royal Plantation (which is all butler service). The 2 resorts are very different: Grande Riveira has best of both worlds in that you have beach side and villa side. The former being more of a party place and the latter being a little quieter. No hassle really to get the shuttle to the beach from the villa (where we have stayed all 3 times). Agree with some comments on the food - Kellys Dockside is a beautiful setting but the food quality was disappointing. The coffee rubbed steak at the Manor on the other hand was superb and right up there in quality to Gaucho in the UK and Capital Grille in NYC. China Doll is delicious and I think it is an improvement to have both Bayside and Sabrinas as table service in the evening as the quality seems to have improved from the buffet style. Agree also that some of the pool areas could do with an update.
Royal Plantation next door is best of 3 worlds as it is a small, very cosy (but not claustrophobic) atmosphere. Beautiful manicured beaches and lots of intimate spots for couples to just enjoy the whole atmosphere. From Royal Plantation you can visit Grande Riviera and enjoy all it has to offer. Definitely recommend!
Overall our experiences have been very positive - the staff are all so friendly and upbeat you cannot fail to have a great fun time. Only 2 big wishes would be firstly that the website could be tidied up instead of showing dozens of room types in name but many appear to share the same photos, secondly it would be great if Sandals could invest in some bigger, newer buses for the ride from the airport as it can be gruelling (especailly after a 9 hour flight from UK). Don't let that put you off - you will have fun!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alison W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,337
    1,863
    677
    302
    201
See reviews for
266
5,832
38
81
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,281)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Stayed at this property for only 5 days and 4 nights end of June. Staff was super friendly, genuine smiles. We stayed on rivieriera side, loved the concierge service and lounge. Having a stocked fridge in room and alcohol was great. The food was not bad, but could use more variety at breakfast and a bit more Caribbean flavor. We only went to half the restaurants, service was quick and food plentiful. It's stormed one afternoon, was nice to hang out at Jamie's sports bar with ore guests, listening to music, enjoying drinks and being entertained by Playmakers staff.
The ride from the airport was fun. We stopped along the way and had delicious rum punch that totally lived up to it's name. Room was clean, service twice daily if needed.

Room Tip: Preferred riviera side closer to beach. We did not venture to manor side, so unable to comment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wrldtrvl2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, MN
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

My friend booked and paid in full for a five day reservation at this resort. For valid reasons, which are not important to this review, he was unable to go. He kindly offered the room to me and a friend. We were able to get last minutes flights, even using miles so we would have free tickets, but when we contacted the resort we were informed that only my friend and no one else could use the reservation and he would not get any of his money back. She said I was welcome to make my own reservation and she would happily bill me for over $2000 (which I declined). So now they have four disgruntled customers. None of us will be tempted to use their resorts ever. As a small business person I can tell you this is not the way to get customer loyalty. I contrast this lack of service with my experience with Viking River Tours who refunded all of my money for a trip that had to be canceled due to the uprising in Egypt. They did this even though the contract clearly stated that they didn't have refund money due to trip canceled due to "acts of war." They have loyalty, and I praise them whenever I can.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank photodude4food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C, Sandals & Beaches Review Coordinator at Sandals Ochi Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
We strive to keep the highest standard of quality and service, from booking all the way to check-out, therefore, we deeply regret that you had this experience with us. This is certainly not our standard and we would like to make things right.

I have sent you a private message, so that our management team can get in contact with you and address your concerns. I hope that you will reconsider your decision and give us a chance show the excellent service for which we are known.

Thank you for your feedback.


Sincerely,
Cassie C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Prior to visiting this resort I read many reviews. Reviews of the facilities, pools, beach, food and other subjective opinions. This review is not going to comment on the personalities of the bartenders, pool men, maids, etc. Unless you’ve gone to a resort a number of times you won’t know if the chef had a good day or bad, whether the pool needed to be heated or was too hot, whether your towels were not fluffy enough or too fluffy, etc., etc. Basing a critical opinion of all aspects of a resort on one visit is not credible. This was our first visit so our only means to provide a critique compares Sandals to other resorts that we have visited. No resort is perfect, but this one is as close to perfection as possible. We spent too short a week here in June and left with very pleasant memories.

The grounds are attractive and very well kept. The swimming pools and the beach are well tended. Cleanliness appears to be paramount. What was especially memorable was the staff. Throughout the resort you are met with smiles, greetings, and offers to help. Looking for a particular restaurant we asked a passing worker for directions. He put the arm of “Madame” in his and escorted us to the door of the restaurant. You can’t be more considerate than that. At the restaurant we mentioned that we were celebrating our 50th wedding anniversary. Without asking, they brought us a cake with “Happy 50th Anniversary” written across the cake. It’s these little extras that add up to a fine resort.

Kudos to our two butlers, Kevin and Shauna, for warm, prompt and outstanding service.

If you think this review has no validity unless it contains something negative, rest easy. The wait at the airport for transportation and the ride to the resort is lengthy, especially if you come from California, as we did. However, reading other reviews, we knew what to expect. If you can’t handle the transfer don’t go.
If you plan to go, check the resort's website for advance registration and other info.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ghsgrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sccranton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

My husband and I have stayed at many Sandals resorts but decided on the Grande Riviera this past May. We have always had a butler but never have we been more impressed by our Butler than this last stay! Oneil made our vacation unbelievable. He was kind, easy going, and totally listened to our needs. After the first day, we felt like he was our friend sent to watch over us and ensure our vacation was incredible. We are still talking about him to this day. Our return to this location next time will be totally because of Oneil! However, the resort is also beautiful! :-)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dana J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Really enjoyed our stay here. Overall great resort. We had a Concierge room in the Riviera with an ocean view, so our room was delightful with a stocked mini bar and fridge. The Concierge booked reservations for us and check in and check out were a breeze. This is a must!

We were able to dine at all the restaurants in the Riviera portion of the resort. Our favorites for breakfast were room service on the balcony eating fruit and omelets with Jamaican Blue Mountain coffee (the best!) or eating the great buffet at Bayside including fresh squeeze orange juice. Lunch spots we liked the most were the Barefoot Grill (jerk chicken and coconut shrimp) and Bella Napoli pizza (Hawaiian). Dinner favorites were Neptune's, Kelly's Dockside, and Kimono's. All the food was good, but wanted to highlight our favorites.

Our favorite drinks were the Jamaican Smile, Boom Boom, Hummingbird, Appleton Rum and Sprite, Mai Tai, and Rum Runner.

We loved sitting in the free beach beds at the Ochi Beach Club under the almond tree. Snorkeling in the swimming area was great too. We also loved the free activities like the Hobie Cat sailing. Ethel's Piano Bar was a fun way to end the evening.

Dunn River Falls was a little too commercialized for us. If you are into hiking and waterfalls and nature, I would avoid. If you like Disneyland with creepy peddlers lurking around, check it out.

Not the most romantic resort because they had rap music playing on the beach at 9 AM every morning, but they changed the mood in the evenings. Fun place to come with your married friends.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheTitansAreTight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

I have been to other resorts and this was the best by far. I will list the good points and the not so good points although there were very few. We went with another couple for a 5 night trip at the end of June. We opted for the butler villa because of the price even though my wife wanted to stay closer to the beach. The shuttle to the beach came every few minutes so we did not have to wait long at all and it did not take us long to get to the beach. This was a concern for us at first but it worked out very well. Our butlers Patrick and Mikiko were great. We have never done the butler thing before so we did not know how it worked. We were concerned they might hover over us or bother us while we tried to relax. This was not the case at all. They were responsive and timely when we needed something. Often times we opted to walk from the villa to the Manor house instead of calling them for a ride but they would see us and pick us up. I think the butler service is the way to go even though it is across the road. The beach area was a little smaller but it was a nice beach and not very crowded. We had not problems getting chairs on the beach and swimming. They did not skimp on alcohol at the bars either. You should find Omar (Dr. O) the bartender, he is a show of his own and makes some very good drinks.

A few things that I thought needed improvement or the reason it was not a 5 star resort in my opinion: The food was good but not great. Of course some food was better than others but Kelly's dockside was not that great, my wife's food was a little undercooked. The rest of the food was good and I can't really think of anything else that stands out on it. The Manor house pool and swim up bar needed some updating. It was looking a little ragged and dirty in my opinion. Finally we did the snorkeling trip and it was a waste of time. There was not much to see and the guides just laid on the boat and did not pay much attention to what was going on.

Overall it was a great trip and we would go back. The staff was great, the resort was nice and we had plenty of things to do. We may have been paying for the name of the resort but it was the nicest we had been to so I guess it was worth it. We are very likely to do a Sandals resort again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank C424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocho Rios
0.5 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#1 of 39 in Ocho Rios
5.0 of 5 stars 1,114 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sandals Royal Plantation
Sandals Royal Plantation
#3 of 39 in Ocho Rios
4.5 of 5 stars 2,192 reviews
5.3 mi away
Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Couples Sans Souci
Couples Sans Souci
#4 of 39 in Ocho Rios
4.5 of 5 stars 3,478 reviews
45.4 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
54.1 mi away
Sandals Montego Bay
Sandals Montego Bay
#6 of 65 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 4,784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Ochi Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Ochi Beach Resort

Property: Sandals Ochi Beach Resort
Address: Main Street | P.O. Box 771, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Ocho Rios
#4 Family Hotel in Ocho Rios
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Ocho Rios
#6 Luxury Hotel in Ocho Rios
#6 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ocho Rios
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals Ochi Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 529
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•Situated on over 100 acres of lush hillside gardens overlooking the Caribbean Sea•529 villas, luxury rooms and suites with fantastic mountain and ocean views•94 pools (7 large public pools), 22 whirlpools•16 dining options including room service for butler serviced suites•2 luxurious Red Lane Spas•Complimentary golf at Jamaica’s most elite and popular golf course, the Sandals Golf & Country Club (Transfers to the golf course are included)•Over 5,000 sq. feet of first class meeting and conference facilities•Recently completed US$60 million renovation/refurbishing exercise•Voted Sandals Resorts “World’s Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row•Voted Sandals Resorts “Caribbean’s Leading Hotel Brand”, 18 years in a row•Voted Sandals Grande Riviera ‘Jamaica’s Leading Resort’ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Jetsetter and Hotwire so you can book your Sandals Ochi Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Grande Riviera Beach And Villa Golf Resort
Sandals Grande Riviera Beach & Villa Golf Hotel Ocho Rios
Sandals Ocho Rios
Ciboney Ocho Rios
Sandals Ochi Beach Resort Jamaica/Ocho Rios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing