We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing vacation...Excellent people!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sandals Ochi Beach Resort
Ranked #6 of 35 Hotels in Ocho Rios
Reviewed June 17, 2013

This was our first visit to Jamaica and our second to a Sandals resort. As noted by many reviewers, it is a solid 1 and 1/2 to 2 hour tedious drive from the Montego Bay airport. We chose to stay on the Manor side of the property in the Panoramic Ocean Vista Poolside 1 bedroom butler suite so upon arrival we were taken to the butler guest waiting area where we were offered drinks and cold towels. Within ten minutes our butler came and took us and our luggage to Villa 50 which is on the top of the hill. Room is satisfactory and definitely shows some wear, but what the room lacks the view makes up for. There are only two villas at the top of the hill with this view, thus only eight rooms. We stayed on the bottom floor so we could walk to the semi private pool. We felt safe the entire time. Note...the beds are very hard and incredibly squeaky.

To be honest with you, after the first day of trying to get over to the beachside we realized this property was too big for us. That being said, we enjoyed most of our time at our pool attached to the room. We had all the food and drinks delivered there and there was only one instance where room service took an hour. We were lucky enough to be the only ones in our villa so we did not have to share the pool with anyone. As for dinners, we enjoyed all the meals we had. We also never had an issue with weak drinks when we went to the bars. The returning guests dinner was exceptional and entertaining.

The one thing that consistently stood out to me was the friendliness of ALL the employees. We never encountered anyone who was unfriendly. A few who really made an impression are Narone from water sports, Donavan our server at Reef Terrace, Fernando our server at the Manor, Clarke our server at Kelly's, Ann-Marie our housekeeper, Nemo from water sports, Venarch our server at Manor when we just had dessert and drinks, Brandon our server at Reef Terrace our second time there, and most importantly, our TERRIFIC butlers, Kadesha and Devin, who made our stay effortless.

Room Tip: villa 50 room 7407 is by far the best room on property
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sjself
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (8,489)
There are newer reviews for Sandals Ochi Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4,658 - 4,664 of 8,489 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2013

This was our second stay in two years. And again the Grande Riviera did not disappoint as we had a fantastic, relaxing time! We stayed near the end of May and the weather was perfect – sunny and 31 degrees. It rained only twice, once at 10:30PM and again the next day at 2:00PM (both for about 2 hours). Don’t believe the long range weather forecasts that threaten torrential rain all the time. May is generally a great time to visit Jamaica. No worries mon!

Overall, we’d say Sandals Grande Riviera rates 5 stars. The resort is fantastic, the service awesome and the food sumptuous. I suppose there is room for improvement - the food could be gourmet creations every night, perhaps... but since we never pay full price (we find the frequent 65% off deals on-line), how can we argue? Needless to say, we think most everyone would find this a superior, world class resort.

We booked the Great House (Hillside) but were upgraded (again) to a lovely, slightly larger room on the Riviera side when we arrived. We were a little unsure about this at first as we wanted a quiet stay and some say the Riviera side is noisier. Well, the room was great and the entire wing was EXTREMELY QUIET the whole stay. We couldn’t even tell there were guests in other rooms around us and most of the time we heard absolutely nothing, especially at night. It was a thirty second walk to the beach, most restaurants, entertainment and three pools. We had the water polo pool (30ft) and hot tub (8 ft) just outside our window and we had both to ourselves several times during the week.

Our stay bridged the American Memorial Day weekend. The staff said the resort was 80% full but we experienced no lineups or major delays for anything. For a few days the Hillside pool (which is fantastic) was about two thirds full, and it took at most 5 minutes to get a drink at the bar, but after the weekend it was deserted – nice! We liked the service at the Hillside pool and the play makers are easy going but energetic (Shayne: we’ll play ping pong again next time. Maybe you’ll win the elephant!).

We generally ate early and only waited mere minutes to get into any restaurant. The food deserves special praise as it is 100% trust-worthy: imported US beef, immaculate kitchens, temperature controlled and monitored buffets, large amounts of fresh fruit, exotic choices, well prepared and creatively served. Did we mention delicious?

We went to relax, and relax we did. We snorkeled and visited the spa -- what luxury! Thanks to all the Riviera side spa ladies, especially the lovely pedicurist whose name we have forgotten, but the Devil Inside still looks great! Enjoyed tennis lessons (thanks to tennis pro Ken, a great guy), relaxed by the pool, strolled in the gardens, walked on the beach and generally soaked up the warmth that is Jamaica. Kudos to the staff! We think you’re the best. As they say in Jamaica, “Welcome home!”

Although we never met a Sandals employee who wasn’t professional and cordial, special recognition must go to the following staff members for their outstanding service: Jermaine at Bayside and Kelly’s: exemplary service, true hospitality, and a great conversationalist! Kenroy at Bayside and Reef Terrace: warm and thoughtful, going the extra mile to make us feel like we were the only guests who mattered. Bartender Roshene, who didn’t laugh are our request for non-alcoholic beverages (yes, it IS possible to have a great vacation without being soused); waiters “Denzel Washington” Leon and Paul at Bella Napoli, for whom the day is 65% brighter; Opal at Bayside who makes a perfect breakfast smoothie every time (Make her smile! She lights up a room!); waiters and maitre d’s at Bayside (evening French restaurant) Marvalene and team for whom endless requests for the unbelievable chocolate strawberry mousse were a pleasure; Nemo and team in Watersports, great encouragers to try new things; Javille, terrific photographer; our maid and team Nnieka and Sheryl, among others (spotless!!); Tyrone and Caren in Guest Services; and Alisha (among many) at the Front Desk – so helpful!

If we aren’t lured away by Sandals Whitehouse next year, we’ll be back at Grande Riviera for a third incredible stay. Why mess with a good thing? :-)

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Vacation_Couple89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

My husband and I made the Grand Riviera our home for 7 awesome days! We stayed on the 5th floor on the beach side. Our room was immaculate, view was breathtaking.....Our butlers were Stanford and Joseph and they helped make our stay one of the best we have had at a Sandals. They WOWed us everyday! The restaurants were fabulous........also loved the little pizzeria by the pool. That was an everyday snack for us! And of course jerk chicken for lunch on the beach compliments of Stanford and Joseph! We snorkeled, went on several tours, ( swam with the dolphins, zip lined, and bobsled). Most of all we enjoyed our time on the beach relaxing with a cool drink and partying at the pool bar with great bartenders! We love Sandals and this was our first Grand Riviera visit and will not be our last!

Room Tip: Our room was awesome on the beach side. We prefer being close to the beach! Would prefer a walkout...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karenlea13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

This was our second trip to Ocho Rios. We got married 6 yrs ago here at this very resort, which by the way was a great experience then, so we again decided to go back. We had a blast everyday was amazing!!! They treated us like royalty . Our anniversary trip was by far the most amazing so far. Sasha was so great to make sure we had our every need meet and did a great job keeping us entertained, she really knows how to put on a show and throw a beach party.I will also miss Raquel she made us feel like family and was the best dancer on the entertainment crew. The bar tenders where also entertaining and had excellent service! I will miss the rum punch for sure. Thanks making specialty drinks Nathaniel and Andrew, Omar and Micheal were also terrific. Our butlers Shaw and Scott where equally amazing by tending to our every whim and going above and beyond to make sure we had everything we needed. Can't thank them enough for a job well done! Ralston did a great job taking our pics and was so much fun to hang with, I couldn't believe he was only 19. The food was so fresh and delicious. The resort was beautiful with all the flowers, and plants, couldn't stop taking pics. This trip was so much fun we didn't want to leave, felt like we were leaving family behind when we left, can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Butlers villas where all great, share a private pool with several other rooms but they were never re...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Aprile3353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

This was my first trip to the Caribbean and to an all-inclusive resort. I was blown away by Sandals. From beginning to end our stay was phenomenal, from the food to the service to the beach...just amazing!! Can't wait to visit Sandals again!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nicole W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We just returned from Sandals Grande Riviera. It was AWESOME! we stayed on the beach side (recommended if you like to be close to everything). We went scuba diving 6 times while we were there & the dive team was super! they were organized, helpful and fun! we even did a night dive (it was $ extra, but worth it) and it was just the two of us with 1 dive master (Semaj).

The room was nice. it was cleaned twice a day and the mini fridge was stocked daily (included). The restaurants were really good - nice variety of seafood, local food, pizza, Asian... pretty much everything except Mexican :) We had breakfast daily at the Bayside restaurant - omelets made to order, pastries, fruit - and always with a smile.

We didn't make it over to the entertainment areas, but heard it was good. There's a talent show (staff & guests) and we could hear them singing from the beach. We did go to the White Party/chocolate party on Wed. up at the main house. We got there a little late & the band didn't play past 10, so if you go, go early.

The staff was amazing! everyone was happy, friendly & helpful! The staff at the bar on the beach (Jamie's) was fun and made each night nice.

The resort totally caters to couples - each seating area is for two (or can be made for more). The fire pits on the beach were romantic, the swing on the pier was romantic, the dinners were romantic. Definitely a place for two.

The activities area (snorkeling, aqua trikes, paddle boarding) was fun. Again - the staff would engage in conversation if you wanted or they would let you do your own thing. While relaxing on the beach, the staff would bring drinks - it was fun feeling spoiled for the week. Although there's "no tipping", the staff appreciated the tips we gave.

We had a GREAT time and would love to try another Sandal's resort, but it's going to be hard to top this!! Thank you for a wonderful vacation!

** the ONLY thing we didn't like was the bed was too high - practically needed a step ladder to get into/out of the bed.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Renee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Though we stayed at the Sandals Royal Plantation next door, we visited the Ochi Beach Club at the Grande Riviera almost every day to go diving and enjoy the restaurants and other amenities.

A special thank you to Semaj, Venecia, Mouse, Clayton, and Winston for serving as great dive masters and boat captains. The dive operations were very professional and well organized. My husband and I went on a total of 20 dives while we were in Ocho Rios. Dive offerings range from beginner to advanced levels. We even went on a night dive. The visibility is great and divers are able to see a nice variety of fish and coral. The wreck dive was by far the best dive offered.

The dive equipment was great in great shape and we experienced no issues. If you’re not certified, I would recommend that you enroll in the course to be able to take advantage of the great diving.

The beach at the Ochi Beach Club is spacious and offers lots of activities. The pool, hot tub, and swim-up pool bar are great.

I highly recommend checking out Soy Sushi Bar and Neptune’s restaurants. The service was great. Kimono’s is also nice.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
6  Thank JumeirahJenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocho Rios
0.4 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#1 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,303 reviews
52.7 mi away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
0.2 mi away
Sandals Royal Plantation
Sandals Royal Plantation
#3 of 35 in Ocho Rios
2,562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
56.8 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 63 in Montego Bay
6,435 reviews
54.2 mi away
Sandals Montego Bay
Sandals Montego Bay
#8 of 63 in Montego Bay
5,434 reviews
82.5 mi away
Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Ochi Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Ochi Beach Resort

Address: Main Street | P.O. Box 771, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Ocho Rios
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Ocho Rios
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ocho Rios
#6 Luxury Hotel in Ocho Rios
#6 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range: $140 - $1,012 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals Ochi Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 529
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•Situated on over 100 acres of lush hillside gardens overlooking the Caribbean Sea•529 villas, luxury rooms and suites with fantastic mountain and ocean views•94 pools (7 large public pools), 22 whirlpools•16 dining options including room service for butler serviced suites•2 luxurious Red Lane Spas•Complimentary golf at Jamaica’s most elite and popular golf course, the Sandals Golf & Country Club (Transfers to the golf course are included)•Over 5,000 sq. feet of first class meeting and conference facilities•Recently completed US$60 million renovation/refurbishing exercise•Voted Sandals Resorts “World’s Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row•Voted Sandals Resorts “Caribbean’s Leading Hotel Brand”, 18 years in a row•Voted Sandals Grande Riviera ‘Jamaica’s Leading Resort’ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Sandals Ochi Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Grande Riviera Beach & Villa Golf Hotel Ocho Rios
Sandals Grande Riviera Beach And Villa Golf Resort
Sandals Ocho Rios
Ciboney Ocho Rios
Sandals Ochi Beach Resort Jamaica/Ocho Rios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing