We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful honeymoonn!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sandals Ochi Beach Resort
Ranked #6 of 35 Hotels in Ocho Rios
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful honeymoonn!”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

My husband and I went here in May for our honeymoon. It was worth every penny. The entire staff makes you feel welcome! Our butlers Alshane and Kelley were amazing and treated us so nicely. I mentioned I liked raspberry vodka and when we got back that night they had left a bottle of it for us to enjoy. We always had cheese and crackers in our room, which we loved snacking on. Our favorite restaurant was Kelly's Dockside, out waiter Michael did a great job. We ended up eating there twice. We took the catamaran to Dunn Falls. It was raining that day but still had a great time and the staff ensured everyone was having fun! This resort has something for everyone, from quite romantic nights, to fun night out meeting new couples. Most days we hung out at the pool and relaxed. The spa is also amazing. We felt 100% safe the entire time. One night we came home late and went swimming in our pool in front of our villa (we stayed in a villa on the manor side where you share a pool with 4 rooms) and they even brought us room service to the pool at midnight!

I have been on cruises and other all-inclusives before and this was by far the best experience I have ever had. I would highly recommend this resort!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank KatyB5413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,837
    2,071
    782
    341
    221
See reviews for
323
6,540
43
89
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,523)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orange Park, Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

The "new" energy green program is some what aggravating. You need your room key card, to turn on all power to your room. Every time you go to your room veranda, and open the sliding door, the a/c shuts down until the door is closed.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ackro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buzzards Bay, MA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

I am a veteranTravel Agent of 27 years and a Certified Sandals Specialist, and a PADI Master Scuba Diver. We chose this resort as I hadn't been up to Ocho Rios yet and knew this resort had just gone thru 60 million $$ in rennovations and I had been dying to see the resort, and I'm SOO glad we chose it..it exceeded our expectations!!
Love the Sandals VIP lounge at the airport. Nice clean bathroom, and comfortable place to wait for the transfer to the resort.
The ride up to Ocho Rios was not bad at all.. we knew it was about an 1 1/2 - 2 hours and it was all highway and beautiful coast.. don't let the ride detirmine your stay here..! Worth the ride.
We stayed on the Riveira side of the resort. We are scuba divers and wanted to be as close to the ocean and dive shop as possible. We had a room on the conceirge 5th floor with a beautiful view of the well manicured grounds and mountains. I usually prefer an oceanview, but it was sold out, but it was OK the grounds are so tropical and beautiful, we actually loved our view!
I have to say, the girls that run the Conceirge are AMAZING! Kerianne, Shadine and everyone were extremely friendly and made us feel so welcome, I can't say enough about how wonderful those girls are!!! It was so sad to say goodbye to them!
The one thing about this resort that we loved was you are able to eat outdoors for every meal. We love that! The food was excellent as well as the service at every restaurant we ate at.. loved lunches at the Mariner for the Jerk Chicken..
We did the private candelight dinner on the beach...OMG totally worth it!! If you want to do something really special and romantic, you have to do this!!!! It seems pricey, but for the service and experience... worth EVERY penny!!!
We dove everyday and I have to give a special shout out to the dive crew! They were outstanding. They were VERY safety concious, friendly, and helpful. Ritchy, Semaj, Winston, and Rita really stood out in our minds! We have made friends for life with those people! I'm hoping that they make some Marine Sanctuaries in the area... seems like the reefs were fished out, not alot of big fish at all, which was ok, because the small stuff like Arrow crabs, banded coral shrimp, decorator crabs were abundant and fun to find. We also found a COOL sharp tail snake eel, VERY COOL! The overall dive experience was outstanding, mainly due to the staff.. they were so fun and nice to be with!!!!! SGR should be SOO proud of the Dive Crew. It is a hard job and they all seem to love it and excel at it! 3 cheers to everyone in the dive shop!
If I had one complaint about the resort at all, it would be the rocky entrance of the Ochi Beach Club in the water.. those small rubble coral are very uncomfortable on bare feet.
We did the Bamboo raft tour on the Martha Brae river w/Island Routes! What a GREAT tour! It was a bit of a ride to get there, but again, worth it..our Captain was "Natty Dreads" and his stories about the river and its history was so nice. So glad we chose that tour!
Again, can't say enough good things about SGR!! Everything was excellent, but seriously, the staff really shine at this resort!!! Can't wait to soon come back !!!!!

Room Tip: If you are beach lovers, the Riviera side is great.. however, if you want a cool villa room w/butler...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lynne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Let me start by saying we enjoyed this trip so much, we are already signed up to go back next year!! My husband and I went here for our honeymoon and thought we were in heaven. We got the beachside honeymoon butler suite. It was on the 5th floor and had the most incredible view. Our butlers, Stanford and Joseph really made the experience. They made all of our dinner reservations (and walked us to our tables which were always set with flower petals) and brought us lunch at the pool or beach each day. The butlers work so hard and really make your trip completely stress free. Pay the extra money if you can and get butlers. The beach is private, so it is clean and no one is coming up selling you anything. They have free sailboats, paddleboards, kayaks, and scuba gear. The drinks and food are delicious and you never run out of anything to do. Omar was the best bartender ever! Life of the bar!! Everyone is very friendly and goes out of there way to get you what you need. We took a catamaran to Dunns River and climbed the waterfall. That was our favorite. Zip lining and bobsledding was okay. It is a long bus ride from the airport but well worth it! Oh and we did a complimentary photo shoot with Rashawn...do it! He takes great pictures that we cant wait to get framed! We are taking our friends with us next year we had such a great time! Best honeymoon ever!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrittneySanderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genoa, Ohio
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

We enjoyed everything about our trip. We had a room in the Riviera building (ocean view) and it was so convenient and close to the pool, beach and many restaurants. If we went back, we would do the exact same thing. No need to mess with the villas with a butler, you are hardly ever in your rooms anyway. The weather and water is fall too beautiful to lock yourself in a room all week! We only went to the Manor side twice, once to swim and another time for our couples massage (HEAVENLY!). Otherwise, we stayed on the Riviera side and did the beach sports: snorkling & glass bottom boat- both wonderful and hung out at the pool with a swim up bar that was right next to our hotel. We did one adventure, Dunn's River Falls and we had a blast.-- don't wear a skimpy 2 piece or bring any jewelry or accessories, we saw many people lose diamond earrings, sunglasses and bikini tops!
Unlike other all inclusive resorts, this resort had delicious food for all meals. The wait was never long at dinner time and most nights we made reservations anyway. Our week vacation was complete paradise, exactly what we wanted on our honeymoon. We can't wait to go back for an anniversary trip!

Room Tip: Riviera Building Ocean view is the way to go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephin128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed May 24, 2013

We did enjoy Sandals Grande Riviera. Our preference would still be to stay on the Manor side upon a return visit. There are a lot of stairs at this resort and for any guest with mobility challenges it may pose to be tiring. If a future Sandals trip was for a “beach vacation” then I would not choose SGR. DH also enjoyed the golf and found having a caddy for the first time a unique experience. The resort was at capacity we only noticed an increase around the pool on one particular day when there was a specific Reunion week activity involving the butlers. There were many weddings but we did not find that the groups took over the resort. We did notice that there was an increase in “families” in attendance. Mom and Dad’s with their adult (18-20’s) children present.

This resort has a different feel than Whitehouse and Exuma, the two other Sandals properties we are familiar with. It is not a bad feeling, just a different type of vacation for us. We enjoyed ourselves immensely and yes, we will return on a future visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maritimer2X2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Just returned from our 8th trip to our favorite resort to refresh our wedding memories. This place gets better and better every time we go! All of the staff is exceptional, and I would like to personally mention Kerian, Shadine, and Kenroy, who made us laugh every day. Such wonderful people!!!!

Dr. Catrina Carter and Roy Turner

Room Tip: We always stay in a Riviera Beachfront concierge room with a balcony. It's worth the extra money...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank czarinacatrina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocho Rios
0.4 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#2 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,260 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sandals Royal Plantation
Sandals Royal Plantation
#3 of 35 in Ocho Rios
2,504 reviews
52.7 mi away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
45.5 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
54.2 mi away
Sandals Montego Bay
Sandals Montego Bay
#9 of 63 in Montego Bay
5,323 reviews
1.1 mi away
Couples Sans Souci
Couples Sans Souci
#4 of 35 in Ocho Rios
3,832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Ochi Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Ochi Beach Resort

Property: Sandals Ochi Beach Resort
Address: Main Street | P.O. Box 771, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Ocho Rios
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Ocho Rios
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ocho Rios
#6 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
#6 Luxury Hotel in Ocho Rios
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals Ochi Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 529
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•Situated on over 100 acres of lush hillside gardens overlooking the Caribbean Sea•529 villas, luxury rooms and suites with fantastic mountain and ocean views•94 pools (7 large public pools), 22 whirlpools•16 dining options including room service for butler serviced suites•2 luxurious Red Lane Spas•Complimentary golf at Jamaica’s most elite and popular golf course, the Sandals Golf & Country Club (Transfers to the golf course are included)•Over 5,000 sq. feet of first class meeting and conference facilities•Recently completed US$60 million renovation/refurbishing exercise•Voted Sandals Resorts “World’s Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row•Voted Sandals Resorts “Caribbean’s Leading Hotel Brand”, 18 years in a row•Voted Sandals Grande Riviera ‘Jamaica’s Leading Resort’ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandals Ochi Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Grande Riviera Beach & Villa Golf Hotel Ocho Rios
Sandals Grande Riviera Beach And Villa Golf Resort
Sandals Ocho Rios
Ciboney Ocho Rios
Sandals Ochi Beach Resort Jamaica/Ocho Rios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing