We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great holiday... A little way off 5 star”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sandals Ochi Beach Resort
Ranked #6 of 35 Hotels in Ocho Rios
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Went here on our Honeymoon and after all the adverts were expecting real 5 star luxury. We had a very rocky start when after 12 hours of travelling arrived to a shabby hotel at the beach complex with a noisy bar below us that went on until 1 am. The following morning we were swiftly moved to a Villa on the Hillside when we did get the relaxed luxury we were hoping for. It included a bedroom, lounge, kitchen and private pool for the 4 apartments in our block.
The food is good but falls short of great. But there's plenty of choice. The service is good and there's lots of staff around to help with whatever you desire. It also has a no tipping policy which was great.
We much preferred the Hillside and felt the villas were more recently refurbished. The hotel rooms at the beach location and especially the corridors are in need of a facelift.
The pools are lovely but be prepared for an entertainment team to play music and do games for a proportion of the day. I'm not sure why they think people want this but apparently they do. Turning the volume down would be no bad thing.
Finally the drinks do flow all day and the swim up bars are great for cocktails and lively chat with the guests.
We wouldn't return as there are so any other places to visit and overall it does fall short of being a 5 star resort.

Room Tip: Try to get a room change to a villa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Planetloulou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (8,551)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,407 - 5,413 of 8,551 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2012

We had a family wedding take place at this Sandals resort in Febuary 2012. All the wedding planning and the day of the wedding went great. Sadly, our daughters (adults) were stuck on the manor side of the resort (room 7210) while the rest of us were on the beach side. They tried tirelessly to get moved, but to no avail. The evening of the wedding we were exhausted and we turned in fairly early. Our daughters were in bed by 11 pm. Sometime after they were asleep their room was broken into while they were sleeping. An i phone and Nikon camera were stolen off the end table closest to the balcony doors. While the police were investigating, my husband discovered that the balcony door handles were not appropriate for an outside door. They are the type of door handle one would have on an inside door such as a bathroom or bedroom. Anyone with this knowledge would know that it would only require something long and skinny to "pop" the lock open. Evidently this is what happen to our daughters. It sickens me to think what could have happened if they woke up during this robbery. I am thankful they didn't wake up and are safe. They felt totally violated, and finally their room was moved, too little, too late. The purpose of the reveiw is to make sure this doesn't ever happen to anyone elses mother, sister, or daughter. When you get your room assignment make sure the locks on your doors (and windows) are secure and made for an outside door. If not demand the room be moved or have more secure locks put on your door. Also, make sure your valuables are locked up even when asleep. The reason my daughter had her phone on the end table was in case her husband had to reach her from the US, they have 3 small children. I hope this prevents someone else from having this horrible experience,

Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
9  Thank Debbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Our dive instructor, Dennis Fowler, was very personable. I was a little worried before my first dive, but he was extremely helpful. Both my husband and I left with our PADI Open Water Certs and we wouldn't have done it any other way!

The resort itself was very clean and the staff was extremely friendly. But, the food was only slightly above average, if that. There were a lot of activities, but we didn't have time to do too many besides the diving. We took the Falmouth Ziplining and Tubing tour and enjoyed that.

Room Tip: If you get a room at the Great House versus the Beach, you can save $ without sacrificing fun. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

My husband and i stayed at Sandals Grande Riviera after we had booked Sandals Montego Bay. Turned out MB was over-booked so they moved us to GR.
One thing to note is the property is split in two. Half is by the beach and Half is accross the street with jungle views.
We stayed on the beach side and loved hearing the ocean every night. The room was a nice size with large bathroom and balcony. King size bed was comfy. We had no problems with AC or hot water.
Drinks were just as to be expected. didn't seem watered down which was a nice surprise after hearing that most all inclusives water the alcohol down. Ask for a Jamaican Smile... yum yum!
Food left a little to be desired. it wasn't horrible but nothing to write home about.
The staff was excellent in accomodating our needs. Once they housekeepers found out we liked beer they happily stocked more than the normal amount in our fridge.
The pools were clean but freezing! we opted to stay by the ocean anyways.
Overall a nice resort. Would do some good to have some updating done. New decor would be nice. More food choices should be a priority. Especially for the lunch crowd.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank wilburismycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

My husband and I just needed a little time away for some R & R. Sandals as usual delivered. The accomodations were excellent; we stayed in one of the villas nestled in the hills. There are jitneys and transport to take you to and from the action. The grounds and vegetation were simply beautiful (though hell on allergies). Mark and his staff simply have created a beautiful atmosphere at the resort. The food is excellent, and your every whim catered to. Each restaurant is authentic to its offering. SIMPLY, well worth the money.

Room Tip: Villas are quiet as they away from the center of all activity. Utilize the map of the property to h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dionne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

The Dive Crew was excellent. Mouse, Ike, Shaw, Winston, and Dennis always made sure we were happy with the dive locations, to include changing the site when everyone suggested something different. The dive site were great; we were able to see a lot of sea creatures, and they were very close to the resort. The hotel staff was very friendly as well.

Room Tip: There is a main road that splits the resot in half. Pay attention to the room location when reservi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Attended the Riviera Beach for a company hosted beach party, awesome hospitality from the shuttle drivers at the main resort right down to the servers and wait staff. Food was awesome and plentiful, bars were great with no waiting!!
The crab cakes were especially divine and the sweet chilli sauce was the ish...
Another great party hosted by the kings of parties, Byron Lee and Dragonaires just awesome.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eZconsulting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocho Rios
0.4 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#1 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,310 reviews
52.7 mi away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
0.2 mi away
Sandals Royal Plantation
Sandals Royal Plantation
#2 of 35 in Ocho Rios
2,577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
56.8 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 64 in Montego Bay
6,478 reviews
54.2 mi away
Sandals Montego Bay
Sandals Montego Bay
#8 of 64 in Montego Bay
5,456 reviews
5.5 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios
ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios
#8 of 35 in Ocho Rios
8,756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Ochi Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Ochi Beach Resort

Address: Main Street | P.O. Box 771, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Ocho Rios
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Ocho Rios
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ocho Rios
#6 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
#6 Luxury Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range: $103 - $1,024 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals Ochi Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 529
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•Situated on over 100 acres of lush hillside gardens overlooking the Caribbean Sea•529 villas, luxury rooms and suites with fantastic mountain and ocean views•94 pools (7 large public pools), 22 whirlpools•16 dining options including room service for butler serviced suites•2 luxurious Red Lane Spas•Complimentary golf at Jamaica’s most elite and popular golf course, the Sandals Golf & Country Club (Transfers to the golf course are included)•Over 5,000 sq. feet of first class meeting and conference facilities•Recently completed US$60 million renovation/refurbishing exercise•Voted Sandals Resorts “World’s Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row•Voted Sandals Resorts “Caribbean’s Leading Hotel Brand”, 18 years in a row•Voted Sandals Grande Riviera ‘Jamaica’s Leading Resort’ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sandals Ochi Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Grande Riviera Beach And Villa Golf Resort
Sandals Grande Riviera Beach & Villa Golf Hotel Ocho Rios
Sandals Ocho Rios
Ciboney Ocho Rios
Sandals Ochi Beach Resort Jamaica/Ocho Rios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing