We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Honeymoon!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sandals Ochi Beach Resort
Ranked #6 of 35 Hotels in Ocho Rios
Reviewed August 27, 2012

First off, we booked our honeymoon with Tami Santini from Paradise Getaways and we thought we wanted to go to Jamaica so when we began the process of looking for a place Tami pointed us in the right direction! Sandals Grande Riviera was absolutely amazing! We were there from 8/6 through 8/13.

The ride to the resort was about 1 1/2 hours, I originally was dreading this after a long flight but it wasn't that bad. To see Jamaica was really eye opening! The resorts are absolutely beautiful but the poverty in the country was shocking to see in person. Driving was a trip haha! Not only do they drive on the left hand side instead of the right like in the US, they drive like maniacs! When someone wanted to pass the other vehicles would just split into the shoulders of the road until they were passed and then would merge back into the lanes. Never felt like I was going to die or anything but it was quite interesting!

At Sandals, we did a Butler suite on the Grande side (villas), our suite was at the very top of the resort over looking the ocean, it was a breathtaking view! Our Butlers were Denton & Bertram and they were wonderful taking care of our every need :).

There were so many food choices that we didn't make it to all the restaurants but the ones we did had amazing food! It was nice to be able to try different types of food from various cultures. They did a few different buffets during the week which had so many different choices of food. I think our favorites of the week were Neptunes and Kellys by the dockside and soy! We went to soy with some friends we met while traveling and it was such a blast, the staff got involved in some suki bombs with everyone and enjoyed some delicious sushi made by Arturo. When at Mariners/Neptunes for lunch one day Delmar told us to ask for Kiryrie at Kellys by the dockside that night and he would take good care of us! Boy did he....we heard others from the resort complaining about the food not coming out cold since they had to walk down the dock with the food after it was prepared which doesn't seem possible because the night we went the weather was crap it was rainy and windy. Our food was not cold at all, it was very delicious. We ate breakfast at the marketplace everyday except for the one day we got it delivered to our patio at the villa. When we went to the manor for dinner, they allowed us to order for the marketplace next door also which was great because we could order stuff from both restaurants :)

On our last night, we went to the reef terrace, which was pretty busy for dinner. Poor Brandon (our server) seemed to be the only one working the tables, he was doing a great job! He even brought my dessert out on a plate balancing it on his head.

The attractions are what really surprised us, there was soo much to do. We did a few excursions which were great but I think even if we would have stayed at the resort we would have had so much to keep us busy and having a good time. The swim up bars were a great spot to hang out. Both Andrew and Bishop were the best when they were bartending! Andrew brought us drinks over when we needed refills during a card game in the pool with some friends we had met. Bishop always had great drinks ready for you, balancing them on his head or just interacting with the people in the pool. He knew I liked to be surprised, the one day he made a drink to match the color of my shirt and it was fabulous! The playmakers were always having a good time with the crowd. We loved Natalya, Josie, Natassia, and Karah! They kept the party going no matter what time of day with things like beer chugging contest, flip cup, name that show, couples scavenger hunts it was a lot of fun even if you didn't participate in all of them.

We were there while they were celebrating their 50th anniversary which they had so much going on because of that it was a lot of fun! There was entertainment every night at the Ampetitheather, which was a lot of fun. We loved the reggae show, the steel drum band, and the couples game show (that was hilarious). The only thing we would have liked to see in the ampetitheater would be someone serving drinks/refilling drinks because you would have to get up and walk down to the bar to get a drink and come back. No it wasn't far so not that big of a complaint but that would have made it that much better.

We did a couples massage which was fabulous, we did it Tuesday morning after arriving on Monday and it was such a great way to start off our week. The only downfall is we did get left in the steam room and had to come out on our own because we couldnt handle the steam any longer but it wasn't that big of a deal. We were apologized to and taken care of immediately.

We went deep sea fishing, zipling and snorkeling also. The deep sea fishing and ziplining were through island routes. Wouldn't recommend the deep sea fishing as much just because the amount of fish you catch to the time/money that is cost to go isn't really worth it to me. The ziplining was a lot of fun though, we would definitely go again. Our tour guides had so much fun making jokes and picking on us tourists but it was all in fun and games. I was not expecting the 30 ft drop and they made me go first, it wasnt as bad as I thought it was going to be but I was very nervous going first!

Overall the staff at Sandals Grande Riviera was absolutely wonderful, everyone in Jamaica is so happy and care free. We are already thinking about when we can make it back, and have become Sandals select members!

Room Tip: We loved staying in the Villas because when we wanted our privacy it was there because we were at th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Amanda E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (8,767)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,685 - 5,691 of 8,767 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2012

This was by far the best trip I could have ever taken. From the airport quickly getting us on a bus to the resort we were offered cold towels and quickly checked in to our concierge villa up the hill. fully stocked bar and a pool we shared with three other suites. but we only saw one other couple using the private pool the whole week we were there. In total 15 restruants to choose from so if you can't find something to eat you are crazy. We especially liked valentinos and kellys dockside to eat from. there was so many pools around the property it was crazy and rum was flowing from all the bars. quick jitney and shuttle service got us around all day long to different pools and such. we felt really safe on the property and all the workers were wonderful and offered to take pictures and do anything to make us not have to lift a finger. room service came twice a day and always had fresh towels and cleaned room. basically sandals ocho rios is paradise. lastly we did the most expensive dolphin encounter so it was expensive but it was a once in a lifetime oppurtunity and well worth it to swim and kiss the dolphins. we aslo did the catammaran cruise to dunns river falls and i would definately reccomend this particular excursion since you get a sweet boat ride to the falls and halfway to the falls they stop for an awesome snorkeling experience!! then after doing the falls it's a huge partyboat ride back to the property. I will definately go back to sandals in the future and it will probably be grand riviera. take alot of sunblock!!!!

Room Tip: honeymoon villas concierge are on the manor side which is a litle bit quieter then beachside. as wel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ben S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

I hear some people complaing of tours at any Sandals Resort. Rule of thumb. Get to know some people and find out what tours they took and what they thought before you book yours. We have been to most of the properties and have found this to be a great way to see if this is really what you want to spend our money on. Some people like apples some people like pineapple and some people like fruit salad. Now go have fun! Don't forget Sandals is for lovers so let them know you love them! We are to be at the Ocho Rios property in December. I'll be the guy doing watter vollyball and she'll have a tone of books. Spoiler alert. (Look for our smiles) Cheers!

Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
8  Thank BANDL01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We went to this resort during august for our honeymoon and had the time of our lives! The rooms were great, fully stocked bar or red stripe, different types of soda, juices, and waters filled daily along with assorted wines and liquors! The resort is huge but they make it easy to get around with the shuttle services and chitney cars that will pick you up at your room and take you to the main building! Everything was so clean! We had our own pool in our room and there was a staff member there 2 times a day to keep it clean! The resturants were all amazing! So many options we were there for a week and didn't try everything. We spend a lot of time at Soythe sushi bar where the staff was so wonderful and the rolls were just as good! Kimonos and china doll are also must try resturants while you're there! There was so much to do we couldn't do everything! We enjoyed ever second of the trip! All of the staff was so wonderful and made us feel so welcome! The bars are a great time at night and the bartenders know how to have a good time! We would recommend this resort to anyone! We had such an amazing trip at the sandals resort that before we left we already scheduled another vacation for our one year anniversary!

Room Tip: We paid extra for the conceirge service with our room and it was well worth it! There staff will hel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Lindsey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

This was just a beautiful experience.... From the time we arrived on site and was greeted with COOL HAND TOWELS AND CHAMPAGNE from MARSHA the lady at the front desk who was VERY VERY NICE she expalined to us everything about the resort we needed to know. It was my husband and I first time in JAMAICA and staying at SANDALS (NOT OUR FIRST TIME AT AN ALL INCLUSIVE RESORT) We stayed in one of the VILLAS which was always CLEAN and always had a little decorative TOWEL on the bed which was very WELCOMING. The ATMOSPHERE of the RESORT is also RELAXING and CALMING NO COMPLAINTS at all. THE Bar staff (TYRONE) was GREAT and ENTERTAINING kept the DRINKs coming and would NOT take a TIP even though we tried. THE restaurants were great the food was excellant (ONE MINOR CON WAS THE CATS AT DINOS PIZZERIA IM NOT A CAT LOVER SORRY) however the PIZZA JERK CHICKEN and PATTIES are off the HOOK. THE ENTERTAINMENT staff was the best I ever ENCOUNTERED "SASHA" and her CREW will GET you partying she is great and we just loved her at the beach party which was so amazing never danced so much in my life. THE HOST of the couples game show was also very very good Can't remember his name but he had me dying laughing and MY HUSBAND and I WON THE GAME SHOW.. That was so much fun. WE also attended A WEDDING that was beautiful and meet ANNA K the wedding planner she is so SWEET with a great SMILE she also sent my HUSBAND and I breakfast in bed THANKS ANNA K....OVERALL WE HAD A GREAT TIME AND WILL RETURN AGAIN HOPEFULLY REALLY SOON WE JUST LOVED SANDALS!!!! YEA MON

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Shaneka S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We visitied the Grande Riviera last October during the renovations, we had a fantastic time and decided to return this year. I'm so glad we did, the renovations are complete and the resort is huge with so much to do that we couldn't fit it all in to our 1 week holiday. The rooms are fabulous, we had a suite with a shared pool and paid the extra for concierge service - well worth it. The staff are brilliant and even if you don't feel like doing much you should take part in the playmaker activities during the day, its a good laugh and a great way to meet people. The playmakers are so much fun and one of the main reasons for us returning this year. All the staff are very friendly, I can't believe reviews about bartenders not knowing how to smile or have a good time and so what if they don't know how to make your favourite drink - teach them, we did! There are plenty of bars to choose from day and night, and the restaurants are amazing, we had some of the best food we've ever had, particualrly at the China Doll and The Manor. I could talk all day about how good this holiday was and can't recommend it highly enough. Although I would like to go back we have decided to try another destination next year, but it will definitely be a Sandals resort because you can't ask for anything more.

Room Tip: There are 2 resorts in one here, I prefer to stay on the villa side as this is where you'll find...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KarrieAnne71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Love the sandals resort. First time using them and absolutely amazing. You have no worries what so ever and you just get to relax. We did lots of activities and totally worth the money. Food is great as well as the accomodations, people aree so friendly! Would definitely recommend this to anyone looking for a worry free vacation,

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Nina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocho Rios
0.4 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#1 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,352 reviews
52.7 mi away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
0.2 mi away
Sandals Royal Plantation
Sandals Royal Plantation
#2 of 35 in Ocho Rios
2,664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Couples Sans Souci
Couples Sans Souci
#3 of 35 in Ocho Rios
4,029 reviews
5.5 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios
ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios
#8 of 35 in Ocho Rios
8,921 reviews
1.4 mi away
Moon Palace Jamaica
Moon Palace Jamaica
#7 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Ochi Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Ochi Beach Resort

Address: Main Street | P.O. Box 771, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ocho Rios
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Ocho Rios
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Ocho Rios
#6 Luxury Hotel in Ocho Rios
#6 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range: $417 - $1,047 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals Ochi Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 529
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•Situated on over 100 acres of lush hillside gardens overlooking the Caribbean Sea•529 villas, luxury rooms and suites with fantastic mountain and ocean views•94 pools (7 large public pools), 22 whirlpools•16 dining options including room service for butler serviced suites•2 luxurious Red Lane Spas•Complimentary golf at Jamaica’s most elite and popular golf course, the Sandals Golf & Country Club (Transfers to the golf course are included)•Over 5,000 sq. feet of first class meeting and conference facilities•Recently completed US$60 million renovation/refurbishing exercise•Voted Sandals Resorts “World’s Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row•Voted Sandals Resorts “Caribbean’s Leading Hotel Brand”, 18 years in a row•Voted Sandals Grande Riviera ‘Jamaica’s Leading Resort’ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Unique Vacations Inc, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sandals Ochi Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Grande Riviera Beach & Villa Golf Hotel Ocho Rios
Sandals Grande Riviera Beach And Villa Golf Resort
Sandals Ocho Rios
Ciboney Ocho Rios
Sandals Ochi Beach Resort Jamaica/Ocho Rios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing