We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pineapple Court, a hidden gem in Ochi”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pineapple Court Hotel
Ranked #13 of 35 Hotels in Ocho Rios
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Pineapple Court is a great choice for travelers who are looking for an anti-resort experience. If you're looking for lots of bells and whistles-a lazy river, Egyptian cotton towels, or anything like that-this place is not for you. This Ocho Rios hotel is more like a Best Western or Holiday Inn, in terms of amenities; however, you get much more personal service than you ever would at one of the aforementioned chains.

Pineapple Court only has 15 rooms, and they're definitely not recently updated, but the rooms are very clean. My sink, toilet, and shower were spotless. Not a spec of mildew on the shower curtain. We were provided with creamy bars of soap, which we didn't even finish during our stay. Toilet paper and towels were promptly replenished. The bed was comfortable. Our TV had BBC, CNN, CCTV, TLC, etc.

We can't sing enough praises of the front-desk staff, who were very accommodating and helpful. They never minded calling for taxis or helping us to arrange transport; they suggested restaurants; they were always cheerful. We were shocked to see how indifferent and unhelpful hotel staff were at a fancy resort in Mamee Bay, which shall remain nameless, though you may know who...In comparison, Pineapple Court's people are so real and so nice.

The Tourwise airport shuttle from Sangster Airport is 100 bucks for two trips (pickup and dropoff they day of arrival and same for the departure date). Ask the front desk to arrange that for you before coming to Ocho Rios. Some tour excursion info is also available at the front desk, operated by independent tour companies and not affiliated with Pineapple Court. We did our own thing, but the hotel staff might be able to suggest some good trips for you.

Easy access to Michele's Pizzeria, which serves up an excellent ackee and salted fish pizza, is another plus of staying at Pineapple Court.

A few things:
Toilet repair (clogged) took a little longer than desired
Is walkable to some stores and restaurants, but you really are better off taking a taxi to get around
Sheets are only changed if you ask

Pineapple Court didn't get a perfect rating for the things mentioned above. However, it was overall a very nice stay. We lived splendidly for five days and four nights. We appreciated the friendly faces and the cleanliness of the facility. Being able to go downstairs to Michele's was an added convenience, especially for lazy nights when we just wanted to grab a quick bite. This isn't beachfront or anything, but it's about 15 minutes to anywhere you want to be (Coyaba, Dunn River Falls, a friend's hotel, etc.). I wouldn't hesitate to stay Pineapple again on my next visit.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cat P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracey D, Manager at Pineapple Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Thank you very much for you detailed review and for your support. Rest assured that the concerns expressed will definitely be addressed. Thanks again and see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (110)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 110 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2013

Pineapple Court is a perfect option for travellers on a budget. We had a nice stay and felt very safe and comfortable in this clean and quiet spot. Our room had two double beds and was quite large. The staff and owner are incredibly friendly and are the best feature of the hotel. The location is a bit far from town, but you can walk there in about 15-20 minutes or catch a taxi on the main road. Would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kimbyv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracey D, Manager at Pineapple Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Thanks much for the review. See you next time

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Our room was very clean and functional. The hotel is well guarded and the staff is very friendly and helpful. The location is just a half block off Main street- an easy walk to the main areas of Ochie, short hike to a couple different beaches, and easy to catch a taxi to farther attractions from Main street. I will stay here again next time I am in Ochie for sure. A nice swimming pool out back and pizza shop out back make it easy to stay and relax on site.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank E J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracey D, Manager at Pineapple Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Thank you for your feedback EJM, and your support.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Stop dont look any further cause this is a very nice place close to the beach clean rooms restaurant and shops are in close area. The staff are understanding and cater to your needs Antoinette is a lovely person to know while your there.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stephy_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracey D, Manager at Pineapple Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2013

Thank you so much for your support and you kind review. I will also pass them on to Antonette. We look forward to hosting you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Stayed here for 2 weeks including the Easter break nice little hotel great customer service good security mr Edwards my good friend and antoinette and the rest of the girls nice clean rooms walking distance to the beach short drive to ochi beach nice relaxing place to stay jamaican restaurant over the road which is good pizza place downstairs where I bought my little girls chips most nights good safe place to walk around the pool is nice went in there a few times . And I must say the pool is not dirty as 1 guest have said its the paint stripping from the bottom .the pool is cleaned I would not bring my little girl,in there if that was the case the only thing was that because I was on my own could not party with my little girl BUT I WILL BE BACK ON MY OWN SOON ON MY OWN WATCH OUT Lol. so see you soon and thanks to Tracey for everything take care and see you all soon From Tina and shila

Room Tip: I stayed in the downstairs room perfect location for me and my little girl
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tina578
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracey D, Manager at Pineapple Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Thanks a bunch Tina,
Looking forward to your return too.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

I am not a fan of large hotel chains. I stayed at Pineapple Court Hotel for 5 days, and I was very impressed with staff and the rooms. If you are looking for a very quiet, relaxing atmosphere, this is the place to stay! Thanks to all the staff at Pineapple Court Hotel for your hospitality. I will be back soon!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lezlie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracey D, Manager at Pineapple Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Thank you so much. Looking forward to hosting you again soon
Tracey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

The pineapple court hotel has great service and it is quite cheap compared to other hotels in the area. The rooms are clean and the service staff is great. I like to walk everywhere when I am vacationing and did so to the hotel upon arrival to Ocho Rios. The location for the hotel is not the best and you have to walk a lot on narrow or absent sidewalks to get to the hotel. It is not at the edge of the road either thus finding it was a little bit difficult at first. Taxi service is really expensive in Ocho Rios. On the way to the hotel you would find locals that would harass you and that was uncomfortable. I believe they truly wanted to help and/or get some remuneration for their service but they make tourists uncomfortable. In summary, the hotel is very good and comfortable except for the location.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wiaylo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracey D, Manager at Pineapple Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Thank you so much for your comments. I do, however, regret the experience on your walks.
Tracey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocho Rios hotels
0.6 mi away
Silver Seas Resort Hotel
Silver Seas Resort Hotel
#23 of 35 in Ocho Rios
277 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hibiscus Lodge Hotel
Hibiscus Lodge Hotel
#10 of 35 in Ocho Rios
251 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ocean Sands
Ocean Sands
#28 of 35 in Ocho Rios
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Kaz Kreol Beach Lodge
Kaz Kreol Beach Lodge
#9 of 35 in Ocho Rios
178 reviews
0.9 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#1 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,337 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sand Castles Resort
Sand Castles Resort
#17 of 35 in Ocho Rios
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pineapple Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pineapple Court Hotel

Address: Pineapple Place | W.I., St. Ann, Ocho Rios, Jamaica (Formerly Pineapple Hotel)
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range: $76 - $88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pineapple Court Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pineapple Court Hotel is a comfortable and friendly hotel located in the vibrant village of Ocho Rios Jamaica. All rooms are air-conditioned, with cable T.V. In room safes, and beds are available in either King or Double sized. The hotel lobby offers Wi-Fi and a coffee and tea station. Many guest rooms also include Wi-Fi. Downtown Ocho Rios, where you will find an abundance of restaurants, nightlife, beaches, duty-free shopping and an open air authentic Jamaican craft market is just a lovely and brief walk away from the Hotel. The Pineapple Court Hotel is also conveniently located within a 2 minute walk to the St. Anns Chamber of Commerce Conference Center with meeting room space accommodating 100 theater style and offers a wide variety of business services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IBC Hospitality, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Pineapple Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pineapple Hotel Ocho Rios
Pineapple Court Hotel Jamaica/Ocho Rios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing