We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location for our Wedding with Fabulous Views of the Ocean!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hibiscus Lodge Hotel
Ranked #9 of 35 Hotels in Ocho Rios
New York, NY
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Beautiful location for our Wedding with Fabulous Views of the Ocean!!!”
Reviewed August 6, 2009

We held our wedding here on July 25th, 2009. The ceremony was in The Gazebo, the reception in The Glass House. We had about 30 - 40 guests. This hotel is perfect for weddings as its small, intimate, lush with flowers and plants and set into a cliffside that hangs above the vast ocean below. It is spectacular to say the least. Our wedding was handled very well and we didn't have to worry about a thing. We also stayed here a few days before the wedding to oversee the details. Our room was FANTASTIC. It had the most incredible ocean view - I'm still speechless! It is also good to note that breakfast is included in the room rate.
For what we got for the money, it was well worth it. We got 4 hours of bar and food with four meats plus dessert, etc. for a great price. The decor was done up beautifully and the staff was very accomodating. Thanks Tanya for helping us straighten out the menu!
We would recommend couples to get married here. It is fabulous! We plan to return sometime soon just to revisit the breathtaking ocean views once more.
A++++++!!!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bastat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    99
    22
    15
    6
See reviews for
36
92
15
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2009

Hibiscus Lodge was recommended to us by friends who stay there every year. My fiance and I try to stay away from the big all inclusives. My whole impression of Ocho Rios wasn't very good to start with because we stayed at the Silver Seas before and I swear I felt bugs crawling all over me the entire time I was there. Our friends gave HL rave reviews and we decided to give it a try.
Initially my mom called to check availability for us since we were on the road heading in that direction. She called us back and told us there was availability and the rates. As soon as we hung up from her, my fiance who has a thick Jamaican accent called and was told they had no availability. Suspecting something foul, I called back within two seconds of him hanging up and was told "Oh yes, they had availabilty".
Needless to say, I was pissed off. Why the discrimination? I mean, I'm Jamaican too. I just decided to call and speak with an American accent to see if they were really discriminating against us, and they were.
We ended up staying in Discovery Bay at Discovery Bay Villas and had a blast. The guest house is very modern and the rooms and bathrooms are big and clean and they have hot and cold water. And they are right across the street from the sea. I didn't bother to call HL to cancel our reservation. I mean, why bother?

Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank karbAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
watermelonspramp
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2008

We had never been to Ocho Rios and after walking through the main part of town, we were glad we chose to stay on the outskirts. The Hibiscus Lodge sits on the ocean and the whole place has tons of character. There is a nice pool, great hot tub and access to the ocean to swim. The restaurant had good food and the staff was totally accommodating. Note that the walk to "town" from here is through a pretty busy local intersection/marketplace and if you're not comfortable going native, you may want to take a car into town. However, if you don't dig the whole tourist scene, the Hibiscus Lodge feels like a sweet getaway, like part of Old Jamaica. We used this place as a launching point to head west to Somerset Falls and Port Antonio beyond. Though we never need to visit Ocho Rios again, we'll fondly recall our time at the Hibiscus Lodge.

  • Liked — The view! Get an ocean view room!
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank watermelonspramp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2008

I got married here on September 27th 2008 . We didn't actually stay here at the Hotel but the set up for our wedding was perfect .

They did a really good job on the decor . From what I see of the Hibiscus it is a very small resort. The surroundings and the grounds were very tranquill and calm. The hotel itself is set with a beautiful view which on looks the ocean. The staff were friendly and the food was very nice.

There were times when you felt as if there was nobody around (Staff/guests ) thats how quiet it was around but on a whole our experience there was nice was nice.

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
3 Thank MichBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2008

If you stay at the Hibiscus - be careful! We were broken in on at 3:15 in the morning even though we were on the second floor. He "borrowed" my cell phone and my roommate's watch and then jumped off the second floor balcony. The security fence near the tennis courts were he went out is only a couple of feet high and no longer has barbed wire over it. Tony, one of the owners, said that his insurance company would reimburse us for our losses but that has not happened and he will not even respond to email requests about it. I have stayed all over the island, but I will never stay here again. Be careful if you do!!!

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank CoolRunningsAlabama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2007

Lovely location, great grounds, good room & tasty breakfast. We had this hotel almost to ourselves and loved the clifftop location, great views and the hot tub. Easy access to a bathing platform to allow for snorkelling etc - a stunning reef a short swim away - watch out for passing jetskis though! Our rooms were spacious and clean with AC (Didn't use) and ceiling fan. Swing bar is great. Would definately return.

  • Liked — Clifftop location out of town, cleanliness & good pool
  • Disliked — Room did not have sea view but did have verandah aera outside to enjoy the vista
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AGM78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
84 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2007

Delicious food, beautiful views. swinging bar is a plus, great service and accomodations.

Stayed August 2006
Helpful?
4 Thank hyperhobbit07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocho Rios hotels
1.4 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#2 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,258 reviews
1.8 mi away
Kaz Kreol Beach Lodge
Kaz Kreol Beach Lodge
#10 of 35 in Ocho Rios
165 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hermosa Cove - Jamaica's Villa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Silver Seas Resort Hotel
Silver Seas Resort Hotel
#16 of 35 in Ocho Rios
274 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sand Castles Resort
Sand Castles Resort
#20 of 35 in Ocho Rios
316 reviews
4.5 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios
ClubHotel Riu Ocho Rios
#8 of 35 in Ocho Rios
8,540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hibiscus Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hibiscus Lodge Hotel

Property: Hibiscus Lodge Hotel
Address: 83 Main St | St. Ann, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Ocho Rios
#8 Romantic Hotel in Ocho Rios
#9 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hibiscus Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cancelon, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Hibiscus Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hibiscus Hotel Ocho Rios
Hibiscus Lodge Hotel Jamaica/Ocho Rios
Hibiscus Ocho Rios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing