We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant surprise, but...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hibiscus Lodge Hotel
Ranked #9 of 35 Hotels in Ocho Rios
Reviewed May 1, 2014

I was incredibly surprised by Hibiscus Lodge when we drove through the gates and off the busy Ocho Rios road. I was worried that its proximity to the town would make it noisy and far from peaceful, but I couldn't hear a thing from the road when I was at the bar, in the restaurant or in my room. The hotel itself was also very quiet, which meant we got the 'beach' and restaurant to ourselves most days. We went for an ocean view room, and the views were worth every penny that we paid.

The food in the restaurant is great, so much so that we ate there 85% of the time. We loved the jerk chicken and the Hawaiian salad. The breakfast was also amazing, with the eggs being cooked to perfection and nothing coming out too greasy. Hats off to the chef!

The biggest drawback of this hotel were some of the staff who either seemed very unfriendly and almost anxious or worried or extremely sales like. The tennis coach would sit by the pool from morning to night with a basket full of rackets next to him and a hire charge of $20 per hour for the rackets and balls. We were really disappointed by this because my partner and I are both tennis players, but there was no mention of a $20 hire charge on the hotel website so we didn't bring our own rackets. Also because the hotel was so empty it felt too awkward to use the pool with this guy just sat there watching us. We also felt harassed by the masseuse who stopped us once to sell her services then walked down to the beach to tell us her pricing again.

All-in-all the way the hotel is built into the cliff, as well as the landscaped gardens at the front of the property are fantastic and we did enjoy our stay. It is definitely worthy of it's mid-range pricing.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hanna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (260)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 260 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2014

Wonderful hotel with rooms overlooking the crystal clear sea. The view from the ocean view rooms is worth it. Pool is great and warm with a hot tub maintained at 104 F constant. Stayed with family and had a wonderful time. Rooms very clean. You can even go down the steps and swim into the sea which is unspoilt. The wifi works great throughout the hotel. Breakfast (free) and dinner were excellent.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
3  Thank Janak S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

PRO's

The grounds are absolutely beautiful, the rooms were clean and comfortable, the views are amazing.

The wedding was fantastic and the cooking staff, waiters and waitresses were great.

It is definitely worth paying the few extra dollars for ocean view with the veranda.

CON's
We had some issues with a rude teenager of one of the managers/assistant managers who thought he was the boss. It took some going back and forth with those left to in charge to have him removed from the premises but it was done.

There is not really a beach but rather a platform with sand & a knee high wall. We did not see a sole swimming. The walk to that area that is called the beach can be dangerous as you are going down steep steps made out of the rocky mountain.

The pool could use some updating and the food was okay.

If you pay in advance, make sure that you get a receipt and bring it with you as somehow there is convenient amnesia as it pertains to what is remaining due if anything. We wished the staff as a whole would be more knowledgeable about places in the area and how to give proper directions.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank justirie50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

If you want to experience true Jamaica then this is the place to sta. It's nestled at the top of a hill overlooking the Caribbean Ocean. Most breathtaking view! Breakfast was included and the choices were amazing, ranging from Jamaican gourmet to american. Apparently the restaurant Almond Tree is one of the best in Ocho Rios and the best servers in Jamaica are known to work here. Everyone was very friendly, from the pool cleaner to the bartenders. Rooms were extremely clean and the staff was very friendly. We had the ocean view room that had a porch outside our door for lounging. Daily massages were offered by the pool for only $40! Hot tub was always a perfect temperature and the pool was always clean.
We had the privilege of meeting the owner Tony who was so helpful and accommodating. He set us up with snorkeling gear and great recommendations for the area. He was so sweet to hang out with my 13 year old son playing cards. We will definitly stay here again on our next visit to Jamaica…wouldn't stay anywhere else in Ocho Rios.

Room Tip: Ocean View Room is the best and worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ygwhitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

We stayed at the Hibiscus Lodge for three nights during our honeymoon in January 2014.

After driving three hours from Negril we arrived right around check in time. Unfortunately our room was not available yet, but the front desk suggested we explore the grounds while housekeeping finished. They assured us it was ok to leave our luggage in the driveway (hard to lug a wedding dress everywhere you go!).

The main grounds are well kept, beautiful flora and gazebo. There are two bird coops with pigeons and macaws, a strange mix of birds, but one macaw kept greeting us so we were amused. We visited the swinging bar, which was unmanned but after a few minutes a staff member came by and we had a drink.

After an hour of wandering the grounds, we went back to check if our rooms ready. Not yet, but soon we are told. We decided to wait in the driveway area where there were benches in the shade. After half an hour or so, we witnessed a group of 17 people arrive, get organized and get checked in. We were getting increasingly upset, as we were not being acknowledged by staff. Not exactly how we wanted to be spending our honeymoon!

Finally, a bellhop comes and takes our luggage to the room. We get to the room and just want to settle in…. but it is still being cleaned. It is nearly 5:00. The bell hop ushers us to the sitting area, where we get to look out on the ocean. The view was great! …Except for the maids that keep mopping in between our feet. They ask us to move to the bed so they can finish the floor. We sit there awkwardly while they do their work. One of the maids turns on the TV and we watch spongebob squarepants for a bit. Did I mention how awkward it was? They finally leave, but let us know they will be back with towels later.

Since it is much later than we expected, we decide to eat at the hotel restaurant instead of exploring Ocho Rios in the rainy dark. The food was average, maybe not quite worth what they were charging, but we didn’t expect any different. We pay cash, go on about our night.

At about 11 pm, we receive a knock at our room door, waking us. There is a frantic man asking us for our credit card. My husband refused to let the chain off the door, and we were seriously afraid. The man continually was asking for our credit card, saying we owed money. We tell him we will deal with it in the morning and slam the door in his face. We had no clue what was going on, as we paid for our room through Expedia, and had no reason to be harassed. We thought this was a crime or scammer! Unfortunately there were no phones in the room to call for help. Needless to say, there was not a lot of sleep on our first night, and fully planned on checking out in the morning and drive to Montego Bay, fully aware we would take a loss for the remaining two nights.

The next morning, we go to the front desk to discuss the situation. Before we are able to, we are stopped by the restaurant manager, who apologizes for the service last night. We are confused, because the service at dinner was fine. He explains that it was our server at our door last night! Apparently he lost our receipt showing we paid cash for dinner, and thought he needed to validate our credit card. We were offered a bottle a wine with dinner, but you better believe we were never stepping foot in that restaurant again.

The rest of our stay was uneventful, but the feeling of unease was always there.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Carolyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

If you really want to have a taste of real Jamaican life, you must come to Hibiscus Lodge. The hotel is absolutely pristine, with very well kept gardens, pool and restaurants. The rooms have AC and and very homey feel to them. Ours was right across from the pool. Service was always impeccable, from checking-in, to help with local restaurants, transportation and tours, always with a smile. Tony - the owner - was always on-site, extremely friendly to us all, ready with suggestions and constantly making sure our stay was pleasant. Although it doesn't have a beach, the hotel has direct access to the ocean, where one can easily swim and/or snorkel at the nearby reefs. It always felt as though we were the only ones there, though the hotel was clearly full. At night, it was amazingly peaceful and quiet - just what you need after a full day of exploring. Many restaurants and markets are within walking distance from the hotel, or you can enjoy the food at their Almond Tree restaurant. Safety was never an issue. Only down-side: It's 90 minutes away from Montego Bay airport, but the views from the highway more than make up for it.

Room Tip: You may try for a bigger room that has ocean view and a small terrace. But the ones by the pool are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lovetravel1996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

We decided to splurge and get the ocean view room since our beachfront ocean view room at a different place was awful and our guide suggested that we not stay there. It was well worth the difference to get the ocean view unit. The views from the large balcony were amazing and we enjoyed everything about the lodge. The breakfasts that were included were excellent. We would definitely go back there.

Room Tip: wonderful ocean view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank letsshareOURTRIPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocho Rios hotels
1.4 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#1 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,375 reviews
0.1 mi away
Silver Seas Resort Hotel
Silver Seas Resort Hotel
#19 of 35 in Ocho Rios
279 reviews
1.8 mi away
Kaz Kreol Beach Lodge
Kaz Kreol Beach Lodge
#10 of 35 in Ocho Rios
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sand Castles Resort
Sand Castles Resort
#16 of 35 in Ocho Rios
327 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hermosa Cove - Jamaica's Villa Hotel
0.5 mi away
Pineapple Court Hotel
Pineapple Court Hotel
#13 of 35 in Ocho Rios
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hibiscus Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hibiscus Lodge Hotel

Address: 83 Main St | St. Ann, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Ocho Rios
#9 Spa Hotel in Ocho Rios
Price Range: $127 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hibiscus Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hibiscus Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hibiscus Hotel Ocho Rios
Hibiscus Lodge Hotel Jamaica/Ocho Rios
Hibiscus Ocho Rios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing