We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hibiscus Lodge Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$120
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa De Shalom(Ocho Rios)(Great Value!)
$76
$66
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reggae Hostel Ocho Rios(Ocho Rios)(Great Value!)
$50
$41
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Bar/Lounge
$75
$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$45
$41
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Internet
Ocean Sands(Ocho Rios)
$65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chrisanns Beach Resort(Ocho Rios)(Great Value!)
$88
$86
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$270
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jamaica Inn(Ocho Rios)
$376
$339
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$160
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (269)
Filter reviews
269 results
Traveler rating
104
109
28
20
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
104
109
28
20
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsalmond treebreakfast was includedswinging barincluded in the room raterooms are cleanocean viewjamaican breakfastclose to towncable tvport antonioceiling fanocho rios townevery morningdunns riverour honeymoonweddingac
Filter
Updating list...
150 - 155 of 269 reviews
Reviewed March 13, 2013

While the Hibiscus Lodge Hotel is perfectly placed on the cliffs in Ocho Rios and their grounds are impeccably manicured, their front desk and wait staff could benefit from classes in hospitality and professionalism.

I have traveled all over the world and I have never experienced anything like the staff at Hibiscus Lodge. When we arrived we were told that the ocean front room that we had reserved was not available and the young lady at the Front Desk was obviously in a foul mood and was not very helpful. We were eventually given a room on the ground floor and our view was obstructed by the bridge over the pool.

The rooms are suited for students travelling on Spring break, a room for 3 had 3 twin beds in the room and a room for 4 had 4 twin beds, I think management needs to return to the drawing board and rethink how to best utilize the rooms, as this was a complete turn off for me and for other family members.

We were at Hibiscus Lodge for a wedding and I was quite appalled to see the wait staff and cooks in the back of the room dancing rather suggestively. This was insulting not only to the bride and groom who paid for their services, but the guests attending the wedding as well, and served as a distraction for other severs who neglected their duties and ignored guests.

We also had to tell the staff that some of the rugs in the rooms were worn out and frayed and needed to be replaced. This is not something your guests should have to point out, again management needs to reassess.

Telephones need to be installed in every room. In an emergency, if a guest is unable to walk to the Front Desk, no one would be alerted and this could lead to fatalities.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AlisonL121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Hibiscus Lodge is a really beautiful hotel that gives you the freedom to explore Ocho Rios outside the confines of an all-inclusive, but it's a highly relaxing place to just sit and admire the setting.

The lodge is set atop the cliffs and peers out over a beautiful section of the ocean. Both the restaurant and the bar share the setting so they make wonderful places to just enjoy a drink and soak in the setting. We ate frequently at the restaurant and found the food to be great. The jerk chicken is great value and absolutely delicious. Breakfast is good too.

The room we had had a wonderful high ceiling and fan to keep the air moving, shutter windows to let in the air and a really comfortable bed. The rooms are meticulously kept clean. The balcony we had looked out over the pool and the view so was a great place to just sit out on and enjoy some drinks and snacks. We had cable television, plenty of storage and a clean bathroom. There is some noise from adjoining rooms but nothing overly disturbing. The big issue is the bar over the road that can have the music blaring at all hours. Be prepared.

Staff were friendly and helpful. The pool is a great place to retire and relax and is very clean. The surrounding town has a few local options in terms of food. Pizza King is quite good, but ask staff for further options.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mrenage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

This small hotel in Ochos Rios is attractive, well kept, with very nice staff. It is clean and dependable. The owner/manager is also very helpful. If you are looking for a moderately priced hotel in Ochos Rios, choose this hotel. The breakfasts are awesome. The restaurant serves authentic Jamaican food but I was disappointed in the steak, but the chicken is excellent. The oceanview is wonderful. Do not expect American hotel comparisons, but this hotel is worth coming to for a week in Ochos Rios.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gaybur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We have been at Hibiscus Lodge in February in a room with sea view. Gorgeous view! The staff was also very helpful and nice. The hotel is at walking distance from downtown Ocho, and most important, the reef in front of the hotel has some beautiful fish. Food at the restaurant could be better but this is not a problem, just go to Fisherman's beach and ask for Lobster Dave, the food is divine there. Ibiscus is also at 3 minutes walking distance from a beautiful sandy beach. We highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with sea view, totally worthy!
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marcy792001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

If you want a taste of real Jamaica you simply cannot beat Hibiscus Lodge. The ocean view rooms give a breath taking view which is absolutely worth the extra cost. Our room (no 14) was beautifully clean and the large balcony was fantastic! The food at Hibiscus is exceptional ... the Jamaican breakfast is simply the best!! The staff are friendly and extremely helpful and made our stay ... and Christmas ... one we will never forget :) It was my son's first trip to Jamaica and we will be definitely going back to Hibiscus in 2013!!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Heather O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews