We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Coyaba River Garden and Museum - CLOSED

Coyaba River Garden and Museum
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Named after the Arawak word for paradise, these spectacular tropical gardens also offer a museum displaying pre-Columbian artifacts.
Montreal
Level Contributor
38 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Beautiful Place”
Reviewed July 30, 2014

Visited the gardens as an excursion on a cruise ship. So glad we went. Beautiful vegetation and water falls. Tour guide was very good. Very calm atmosphere. You`ll be done touring the gardens in les than an hour. Highly recommended.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank petrellad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    70
    10
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
edmonton
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed July 19, 2014

We got to the botanical garden and were welcomed by a well informed guide. He took his time, made sure that he would tell us about the flowers, trees etc and all the information about the foliage. He would also make us touch the flower or plant and then ask us about what we thought it was like. He would always answer our questions and it was a great tour. He was very knowledgable and made our tour extremely interesting!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank baby_barbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
230 reviews
123 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“Tropical garden”
Reviewed July 3, 2014

Really enjoyed wandering around these gardens, beautiful flowers interesting plants, complementing the river with it's waterfalls. good day out.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank RuralRovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Ann's Bay, Jamaica
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Breathtaking!”
Reviewed June 16, 2014

Peaceful. Spectacular scenery. Friendly staff.

A place of natural beauty. Jamaica at its finest...a must see!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank gtajamaica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
33 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Gorgeous waterfall, much easier than Dunn's River and stunning”
Reviewed June 12, 2014

We did this and Dunn's River Falls in the same day. With 3-year-olds. Dunn's river required a long walk to access so we could only go about halfway down the falls. There's a great boardwalk path beside the river that we were able to easily navigate, and a few pools under several of the series of falls where the kids could get in--but the current was quite strong and they had a hard time standing. Plus the rocks were slippery. We really enjoyed Dunn's River Falls but it was so crowded (and we got there at 10:30 am, before the tour groups) we couldn't spend much time.
Fast forward to Coyaba falls. Our driver didn't know where it was (luckily there were signs all along the road LOL). We parked, followed an older guy on maybe a 5-minute walk and then holy crap, there was a single amazing waterfall. VERY tall, sheer drop from under the area where everyone swims. The part in all the photos is just the part where you swim and climb, there's at least a 10-story drop under that level. We climbed all up and down the terraced part of the falls, it's not slippery at all, and the older man (we never learned his name, shame on us) was very helpful assisting us to the best places for foot holds, etc. Proof it was easy and not slippery? Our 3-year-old twins were climbing happily beside us. But it wasn't boring--I thoroughly enjoyed not having to fight the current, and just relaxing with the water crashing around. At the bottom of this level of the waterfall is a decent-sized natural pool that was so calm, the kids swam around in there for 30 minutes! They loved watching the waterfall above them while swimming in a pool, and we all joined them (plenty of room) because it's hot and muggy. The 24-year-old friend with us climbed down to another level of the waterfall with a pounding part--definitely not kid friendly. And there's an elaborate series of stairs (they looked safe enough) traveling all the way down to the bottom, but we did not do that. Just looking down was dizzying!
We followed another part of the trail with our guide and got a nice vista of the town and ocean below. Lots of cute seating areas, romantic benches--would be a great photo spot. And there was some sort of columned, vine-entwined pool near there that looked incredible, but we weren't sure what that was. The museum was small but the most education we got while in Jamaica. The gardens seemed pretty, with lots of little rivers and waterfalls throughout the lush greenery, but we didn't go to far in with the kids really in need of a nap by then! Gift shop was closed but the little cafe/convenience store was open. Didn't buy anything there either.
I HIGHLY recommend this place. We SO enjoyed it, very calm and tranquil and stunningly beautiful. Our driver went to look at the falls and was so shocked he'd never heard of them, he raved about them the whole drive down the mountain. Hard to find falls just a 5-minute level walk away from parking! Very accessible. Can you tell we really loved it? We only went to the beach at our resort and Dunns River Falls so that's all we're comparing to, but when we go back to Jamaica we will absolutely spend a whole morning at Coyaba. They're doing all sorts of construction, hopefully whatever they're building will be as tasteful as the rest. . .

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank nancyandashesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coyaba River Garden and Museum also viewed

Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing