We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coyaba is a pretty garden to see.”
Review of Coyaba River Garden and Museum - CLOSED

Coyaba River Garden and Museum
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Named after the Arawak word for paradise, these spectacular tropical gardens also offer a museum displaying pre-Columbian artifacts.
Sturgeon Bay
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Coyaba is a pretty garden to see.”
Reviewed March 22, 2012

We stopped at Coyaba on our way to Dunn's River Falls. It was included in our tour. It is a pretty garden. Much smaller than Shaw gardens. Our guide was really nice. We loved the resident cat!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank trudiestravels54235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    70
    10
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
120 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“loved”
Reviewed March 18, 2012

Only $10 to get in and was beautiful and also had an amazing waterfall. Taxi's are ridiculous in Jamaica there is a price monopoly that we do not even pay that much here in the states. Rent a car and do these things it is much cheaper./

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Doctorheather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Another spot worth seeing!”
Reviewed March 18, 2012

This is truly a paradise the tour guide had personally planted much of the garden and it would make the perfect place to have a fairytale wedding. Highly recommend

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank hawki34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
78 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Second Time and Loved it Even More!!”
Reviewed March 8, 2012

Coyaba Water Garden is only a 10 minute drive from the center of Ocho Rios and close to the port, up a beautiful hill full of ferns. I was amazed that it was even more beautiful than our last time their. A guide took our private group around telling us about the different plants and giving us time to stop and look at each of the different water features. There were so many different plants, from ones we knew like Poinsettas (bright green and red) and Bougianias, to gorgeous tropical plants and even some cacti. This place is a photographers dream. Towards the end of the tour they stop at a look out point which has an awesome view of Ocho Rios and any ships in port. Again – makes for a great picture. Then you go to the waterfall which is 150 feet high with multiple streams, like right out of a dream. You can enjoy climbing up just like Dunns River Falls – but without the crowds. We did a ½ way climb and loved it.

We also some saw cute cats, birds, butterflies, and an adorable lizard that was bright green/red to match the poinsetta.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Piratelady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good picnic spot”
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Good spot for picnic, party or wedding with the river and falls and pools as a beautiful backdrop

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank sandi b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coyaba River Garden and Museum also viewed

Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing