We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Now this was something special”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ocho Rios
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prospect Plantation
Montreal
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Now this was something special”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

The location is beautiful. The staff are more like family than staff.
My wife and I spent a week at the Wag Water Villa. Perfect for the two of us, although it has 3 bedrooms and would easily accommodates 3 couples or a family. It is a slice of heaven perched cliffside on the water. The grounds are beautiful, the view to the sea is gorgeous and the villa, simply put, just feels like home. Clean, comfortable, cute. My wife and I have travelled all over the world and this place is a special one. Close enough to Ocho Rios to make runs into town in a taxi to pick up food etc etc but far enough away that we spent our days enjoying endless tranquility by the pool overlooking the sea. It is important to note that while there is access to the sea via the steps, there is no beach at this villa. Nor is it necessary at all. Having said this the owners generously gave us access to the private beach at another villa 10 minutes walk from Wag Water. We were lucky enough that there were no guests on that day. The private beach is stunning and so is the Frankfurt villa that comes with it. Its huge. Wow. This was a special day enjoying the most pristine beach without a soul on it.

It would be remiss of me not to talk about Madge, Devon and Latoya. Staying at wag water was like joining a local Jamaican family that welcomes you into their home as soon as you arrive. Madge cooked up local home cooked meals for us every day. My wife and I would anticipate every meal. Latoya kept things spotless, the whole place was always sparkling with fresh cut flowers decorating the bedroom morning noon and night. Devon waited on us hand and foot. Always checking in on us to make sure we were perfectly relaxed. But describing the services they offer does not do these 3 amazing people justice. You arrive not knowing what to expect, but when you leave you will feel like you are leaving family and friends behind.

We were spoiled all week.

On the logistics side of things, Wendy was helpful in getting us set up before the trip. If necessary, travel arrangements to and from either Kingston or Mo Bay can be arranged easily.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank scwg716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    8
    2
    0
    3
See reviews for
37
13
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Saskatchewan, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

The views are stunning, staff are wonderful and ocean access was awesome! 5 star service for 3 star price! Devon and Madge made our vacation just perfect and Latoya always made sure our rooms were clean and laundry done. Devon took care of our every need and want and Mrs. Madge taught me how to cook the Jamaican way! Made a friend for life with Devon, the butler, he made our adventures that more fun! Perfect location for those non-resort type and excellent time for a group of friends just wanting a chill vaca! Will be back for sure

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Kristie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Jamaica
Level Contributor
109 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Went on family. And the staff were amazing. Food was delicious and service was great. Had an issue with the TV the first night, but they promptly changed it. Also enjoyed the horse back riding tour. The management also checked on us to make sure we were having a good time. Has access to sea, which was a bit rough. But if you have sea shoes it's fine. Also close to Ocho rios and attractions by car which can be arranged for you.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Khiajosina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelburne, Vermont
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We are just leaving the Frangipani Villa on Prospect Plantation, and this vacation tops our list of many vacations! The villa was wonderful, very clean, all new baths, great mattresses, very large and clean pool. The staff was beyond wonderful and accommodating, Omar, Ms. Elaine, Ms. Esther and Ms. Shelly who was training, were always kind, helpful and fun to be with. The staff felt like part of the family, and it was hard to leave them!
Our family has rarely repeated a vacation, but we will definitely be back to this awesome villa and staff!

Room Tip: Having seen most of the 5 villas, I would say that everything we visited was beautiful, but Frangipa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sojomojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

New developments since I posted: “Thanks to the management, we never got to stay here!”

Management has been very kind to offer my son and his (now) wife one week free stay with advance booking! That is VERY generous and responsive! This certaily turns bad feelings into a 'they sure are doing things right by us!' Quite frankly, I am impressed.

After my family members stay there, they will review Prospect Plantation in Tripadvisor to give readers and potential guests a real sense of the facilities and personnel.

Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Ernesto123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2012

OK -- so the rating is not about the place and staff, but about the management/reservations people. We had a large wedding planned (which they knew), and booked 4 of the PP villas, including Frankfort. We had a CONFIRMED and FULLY PAID reservation for the entire stay almost TEN months prior to the event. Suddenly, there was a 'misunderstanding'; they had double-booked, and we were out! Period!!! This was a full FOUR months after we first reserved!!! (Did the other people pay a higher price? Did they commit to a longer stay? Do we care???).

Incredibly unfair and unprofessional! We had to scramble fast and furiously to find a substitute location ... like planning and executing a wedding isn't stressful enough! They even had the gall to suggest that we reschedule the wedding a week later!

They did promptly refund our money, but the sour taste is still there. And with so many wonderful alternatives in Ochi, and providers who understand the concept of 'superior customer service', why risk making a reservation here?

Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Ernesto123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2012

We arrived in Jamaica Saturday morning. We flew from the west coast of the U.S. on a red-eye flight so that we could arrive in the morning and get the most out of our 7 days at the Villa. We were 2 families traveling together, so we had 4 adults, and 2 four year olds. The Villa arranged our transportation and had 2 car-seats in the van at the ready. The drive is about 1.5 hours to the house. We arrived to the villa grounds and were warmly welcomed by the staff, Beverly, Paulette, and Hakeem. We choose to buy the meal plan, and if you are planning on going there, you absolutely MUST do. Paulette is an amazing cook! We took all of our meals on the veranda and the open-air living is so relaxing. They do a great job keeping the bugs to a minimum. Do take bug spray so that in the evening you can enjoy yourself without worrying about bug bites. I got 3 bites the whole time I was there, and it was on the first night because I didn’t spray my ankles properly. The whole house is open air, but we did keep our bedrooms closed up with the A/C running in suite so that we could have a break if it got too warm. The first night was a bit restless due to the lizards chirping, but you get used to after the first night, and after that slept comfortably. At night, there is armed security guard that walks the ground the entire night so you feel very safe and protected. Every morning we awoke to coffee brewed and ready to enjoy. The table was set for every meal with beautiful placemats and all of the amenities for your 3-4 course meal. Hakeem, although very shy and quite, is a perfect host. Beverly keeps the house immaculate, and Paulette could open a restaurant with her cooking skills. The house is rustic, authentic, and dreamy. It’s nothing like those Americanized mega-resorts, which sterilize your true Jamaican experience. We had little kids so we only did the Plantation tour, but when the kids are older, we will do the other attractions (swimming with turtles, dolphins, do the bobsled ride, and zip lining just to name a few). The grown-ups went into Ocho Rios via the taxi route twice. Be prepared to get extremely cozy with your companions and other passengers. The Villa has so much seating around the place. I made it my personal mission to sit in every seat while I was there. There is high speed internet, 5 flat panel TVs, and DVD player. However, the DVD player isn’t compatible with US DVDs, so you will have to plan ahead with the movies and rent from the office. They have a small game selection too which we used on occasion. We swam every day in the pool. The pool is in the shade due to the tree canopy so the water is cool. It takes effort to get in, but once you are in, you get used to it fast so we swam 2-3 times a day. We went through a lot of towels, but Beverly kept up with us. The Frankfort Villa was unoccupied while we were there, so we made reservations to use the private beach twice. The ocean water is so warm and having the beach to yourself makes you feel like royalty. I think next time we will get a big enough group together so we can stay there and have the beach every day. Be prepared to relax, unplug, and be as lazy as you can imagine. When leaving, please plan on leaving a generous tip. The staff works tirelessly. Hakeem is on the property at all times, wakes before you do, and doesn’t go to bed until you do. If you do go, I hope you enjoy yourselves as much as we did.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocho Rios hotels
1.0 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#2 of 36 in Ocho Rios
1,215 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hermosa Cove - Jamaica's Villa Hotel
0.6 mi away
Kaz Kreol Beach Lodge
Kaz Kreol Beach Lodge
#10 of 36 in Ocho Rios
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Couples Sans Souci
Couples Sans Souci
#4 of 36 in Ocho Rios
3,744 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sandals Royal Plantation
Sandals Royal Plantation
#3 of 36 in Ocho Rios
2,447 reviews
2.7 mi away
Moon Palace Jamaica Grande
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prospect Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prospect Plantation

Property: Prospect Plantation
Address: 3 Rte | 3 miles east of Ocho Rios, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Beach Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Ocho Rios
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Prospect Plantation Hotel Ocho Rios
Prospect Plantation Jamaica/Ocho Rios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing